We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free $100 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Layton, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good For Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our teen daughters. Great location--close to the Visitor Center & Shuttles to Williamsburg and Jamestown. We also enjoyed dining at Huzzah's the night we arrived after a full day of driving and sight-seeing. So nice to be close to the hotel. Our teens loved the continental breakfast. It gives the hotel extra value.

Our only complaints: thick, stiff foam pillows that didn't yield to one's head. The pull-out sofa, while fine for younger kids, was pretty uncomfortable for teenagers to share. A little more attention to sleeping comfort would make this a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    301
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
341
151
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights starting on 4/12/12. The staff was excellent, always greeting you with a smile and at check-in we received all kinds of information and tips regarding Williamsburg. The location is very convenient, just a short walk to Williamsburg (8 mins) or you can hop on the free shuttle next door at the Visitor Center. They also have a shuttle to Busch Gardens which was very convenient (no paying for parking) and they have another to Jamestown. Breakfast was the only down side to the entire stay. It was very crowded and noisy, you could usually find a seat if you were willing to share table with some other people. . It's probably less crowded during the week, but then again maybe not, it is a popular tourist destination. As for the food itself, they had eggs both days and they were horrible. The ham was good on Saturday, but the sausage the next day was greasy. They had pastries, fruit, yogurt, toast and cereal also. After tasting the eggs, I stuck with the cold items. Other people have mentioned the Standard room beds are small and they are. If you are here for a weekend they are fine for two people, I mean how much time are you going to spend in your room. If you are there for a longer stay you may want to consider an upgrade to a suite for more room and a bigger bed.

Room Tip: If you are here for a weekend the standard rooms with the double beds are fine for two people. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First the positives: Right at the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center. Booked as part of package deal including Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, good value. Staff were very courteous and helpful. The hotel was clean.
Negatives: Included breakfast was in a conference center down the street. It was cold in the morning, so my family did not want to go. We went one breakfast and it was ok. My family sent me out the rest of the week. The thing that will keep me from this hotel again are the small beds. They say they are two doubles but they are barely bigger than twins. Too small to double up with unless they are small children. We upgraded to the suite, which is a single king sized bed and a pullout queen. The pullout was unusable so we slept three in the king (which was still better than the super small doubles), which is crazy considering the extra I had to pay to get into this room.
Busch Gardens was not far away and we loved the vacation. We will come back to the area again, but will not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend getaway to Williamsburg. The sink was dirty and the suite's pullout couch is not usable. Due to renovations, the free breakfast is a short walk away. Breakfast was not great, but considering what you can get in Williamsburg at the various "pancake and waffle houses" you're better off eating here - whin is sad. +Hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is our standard when visiting Williamsburg as a value accommodation. Really cute rooms, good size. Bathrooms adequate, and the Colonial Williamsburg toiletries are great. Great location- quick walk to the historic area. Breakfast is included, and is more than the generic muffin and juice. Have hot and cold options.

Room Tip: Breakfast is included, but the breakfast room is always crowded. If you have one of the suites go g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked a 3 day-2nighs stay at this hotel as part of the package which included admission to Colonial Williamsburg. We had a deluxe king suite, which was the most expensive room, with a pullout sofa in the living room. I was disappointed when I got keys from the room and quickly looked at the room before bringing our bags. A huge air-conditioning/electric unit outside blocked almost all window in the room. I requested a room with a view and it was a disappointment. I asked to change the room and hotel stuff tried to help me, but second room had not a great view as well and overlooked a back yard with some technical houses and employers parking lot. Room has all we needed - fridge, microwave, flat screen TV in the living room and one more smaller TV in the bedroom. Living room was very cold at night and we couldn’t find any thermostat to adjust temperature there, smaller size bedroom with kind bed had a wall heater/air-conditioning unit, so it was no problem with temperature. Hotel has a free continental breakfast, but included a ‘powered’ scrambled eggs and not a high quality breakfast items, but it was enough to start a day, we had breakfast at Colonial Pancake House a second morning. Hotel is just next door to the visitor center and we walked there to gift shots one morning. We used a car to drive to colonial Williamsburg, but there is a walkway from the hotel to get there. Hotel has a playground for kids and a pool, which opens during summer months. Hotel rooms has some nice décor and photos with views of some colonial houses . Altogether we liked our stay, but I didn’t have any special feel at this hotel and will probably try other hotels next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we went to Williamsburg and stayed at the Woodlands for Easter. As before, the room was quiet and comfortable. There are 5 of us and it just fine for our needs - 2 double beds and a chair that converts to a single bed. We were overlooking the pool which surprisingly had people swimming, but we thought it was a little too cold to bring our bathing suits - I bet if we had them, my kids would have given it a try. The breakfast was moved to the conference center this year. Last year it was in the breakfast area off the lobby and it was very crowded. The short walk is worth extra space and the extra food choices. My kids enjoyed the make your own waffles each morning. We took the bus or walked everywhere. I've read others that said they had to drive to the shops, but Merchants Square is on the bus loop. The only time we needed the car was to go to church Easter morning because it was raining and we selected a church 15 miles away (if it weren't raining, we could have walked to the parish center on the campus of William and Mary for Mass). We took the bus to Busch Gardens again this year; that's very convenient. We played miniature golf two different days as well. You can play anytime day or night - just get clubs and balls from the front desk and the course has lights at night. We will continue to return to the Woodlands. It is perfect for families. We love Huzzah! the restaurant just steps out of the hotel behind the lobby. Oh, and for Easter there are nice touches like an Easter egg hunt which had to be moved because of the rain, but it was still nice they provided the kids Easter baskets and candy and an Easter bunny. Another night there was a magician which the kids enjoyed as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.