We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nestled in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed from 12/27/12 to 12/30/12. We were charmed by the hotel and property. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our suite had a nice layout with plenty of room for us to spread out and get comfy! One morning we looked out our window at the courtyard and saw so many species of birds we never see in Ohio that it could have been a bird sanctuary. It was nice that they opened Huzzah! for overflow breakfast dining. It was much quieter there. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a view of the courtyard if you want to do some bird watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    258
    78
    24
    8
See reviews for
281
120
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went for Dec 28 thru 39th and thought it was wonderful! It is a walk to the historic district but a very nice walk and the rooms are clean and breakfast is easy and hot. We have a 7 and 9 year old who had no problems walking to and from colonial Williamsburg. And when they were too tired a bus stop is always accessible. I don't think the other reviews highlight the amazing acting. We bought tickets to christmastide and Capitol evening. The actors were as good as any broadway actor and they were only 30 people watching a performance. The encounters were intimate, informative and historical. I would recommend these performances. In fact I wanted to grab a horse and run thru town like Paul Revere telling everyone to go to these evening events. They were that good not to be missed. I never went as a child but I will definitely make sure my kids go back again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed ten days in December, 2012, and the hotel was better than expected. The staff was pleasant and extremely helpful. One night we had trouble with the shower and they asked if we wanted it fixed that night (it was 23:00); we said "yes" and it was fixed within 20 min.

The lobby was rustic and very clean; a fireplace and very comfortable seating all around. It was a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and read a little in the evenings. The hotel is in the best location for visiting Williamsburg.

We will stay there again. I can't imagine finding a better place.

Thanks, again, to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We wanted to go to Williamsburg for a few days over Christmas vacation. Our favorite B&B was booked, and we reserved the Woodlands for three nights. Colonial Williamsburg had a "buy two nights get one free" deal, and we decided to go for it. I was apprehensive, based on some of the reviews posted here. But, the Woodlands is a great place--the hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff is gracious and accomodating, and the breakfast buffet is more than adequate. The location can't be beat--right next door to the Visitors Center and the convenient shuttle to the Revolutionary City. We took Amtrak to Williamsburg, and the hotel staff picked us up at the train station free of charge, and returned us to the station at the end of our stay. Every question that we had was answered, and I honestly can not find one thing to fault. It is a tremendous value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, has the excellent and friendly service that you would expect from a Colonial Williamsburg hotel, and come at a much better price than the Williamsburg Inn or Lodge (if you don't need or want concierge service that is). It is a standard hotel with limited room types, but we were fine with the two queen beds. The continental breakfasts include sausage, eggs, pancakes, cereal, muffins and sweet breads, bagels, yoghurt, milk, juice and coffee, etc.

My only complaint is that when I stayed there seven years ago, I remember the shower heads had a massage setting, and the room we had, had only a single setting shower without a whole lot of force. I would have appreciated the massaging shower head after a long day of walking the streets of the "Revolutionary City," but we did have plenty of hot water, and that was the important thing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrardstown
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed the weekend before Christmas. We stayed here once before 4 years ago. The hotel is very clean and well-kept. The room includes a huge, free breakfast with both hot and cold items. It is very convenient to the visitor center and shuttle buses into the historic area. I think the price was great for the quality of room offered.

Room Tip: Try not to get a connecting room if you are not going to use it as the noise through the connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Woodlands over Christmas. We had a suite, which was absolutely perfect for us. The rooms were large and tastefully decorated, with 2 TV's, microwave, a Keurig coffee maker and fridge. The living room featured a pull-out sofa on which our daughter slept. The room was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. The package included a very nice continental breakfast and passes to the Colonial Williamsburg site. The visitors' centre is right next to the hotel and a shuttle takes you to various stops around the historical site right up to 10 p.m. We enjoyed some special treats for Christmas, including a storyteller, an organ recital and Christmas dinner at Shields' Tavern. A truly memorable Christmas.

Room Tip: A suite is definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Motor Inn set amid landscaped grounds, adjacent to the historic area; near Amtrak station; 17 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.