We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back time and time again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids are FREE!
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would come back time and time again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Booking was easy and hassle free.

Check in was personal, professional and covered everything needed and more.

The room(s) were big, spacious, clean comfortable and everything you'd expect from a Colonial Williamsburg hotel.

The complimentary continental breakfast was great, expected a small selection but was greeted with cereal, bagels, sweet and savoury pastries, toast, ham & scrambled eggs one day and sausage and pancakes the next with unlimited tea coffee and juice too.

Located 2mins away from visitors centre and a brisk 15min walk along a trail to the historic area, the location in my opinion is amazing!

The only issue is bad phone reception but the complimentary wifi more than makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    341
    102
    29
    10
See reviews for
399
177
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've been celebrating my father's birthday there for over 15 years now. Excellent gym, simple but rare! miniature golf course, shuffleboard, easy access to bus or walk to Historic district. We especially love the "old" portion of the motel; reminds you of the places that used to dot the byways of the U.S. east coast; nothing fancy but perfect for quiet, family gatherings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed over the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel was pretty clean although there were some issues with blankets being crusty, smelly pillows, curtains being stained, and the coffee maker was disgusting. I could not get hot water at all for a shower one morning. We've stayed there previously a few years ago and I don't remember having these problems. The one exceptional point is the staff. From making the reservations, to asking for assistance, to housekeeping they were great. Other companies could learn customer service from them. Breakfast was OK but was not refilled to accommodate later arriving eaters. For the price of the room I had expected a little better upkeep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Woodlands for three nights. There is nothing wrong with the Woodlands, but it is nothing special either. The location is an older one, but it has been well maintained. There were no issues with our room, although the hallways could be a bit loud at times during the night. Bathrooms were fine as well.

Our biggest complaint was the breakfast. It was not very good for the price of the room. On top of that, if you arrived for breakfast after 8:30, good luck! The breakfast area needs to be two times larger than it is. The food was lackluster. However, I only saw three people working in the breakfast area, and they were doing their best. It was obvious though that there were very overwhelmed for the task of feeding so many guests. Like others have said, the breakfast is very heavy on carbs with few protein choices.

The location is the best thing the Woodlands has going for it. However, this is not like Disney World where there is a huge advantage to staying on property. If we ever go back to CW, we will probably stay in an off-site hotel and come out cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for Thanksgiving and booked a package. Excluding the package amenities, our hotel room (a suite) cost about 167/night with taxes. We stayed in a suite - living room, mini kitchen area and a bedroom with a door.

The staff are all very nice. Included continental breakfast is heavy on the carbs - if you have gluten issues you'll probably leave hungry. Short walk or bus ride to the revolutionary city.

In suites - don't leave the bedroom door closed - housekeeping apparently takes that as a sign that you do not want that area cleaned. Mini-kitchen includes a mini fridge, microwave and a sink with no hot water.

The hotel provided a crib but be sure to bring a white noise machine if kids are sleeping in the living room, as the halls can be noisy.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larry1960
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a fine stay. The plant seem to be in fine shape and the staff was friendly and helpful. The parking and signage is somewhat confusing and a fridge and microwave would have been nice additions. Our room was quiet with no sound leakage from the next room or outside. We would stay here again when visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We live in the area and have seen this hotel as we go to Colonial Williamsburg it is literally across the street ( parking lot ) from the Visitors Center. Always wanted to stay but thought it was costly. I was there for a conference and the conference center is beautiful as the sitting area has a window with a view to the Forrest and changing leaves. You have to use your room key to get into the hotels parking area. There truly are not enough parking spaces near the rooms themselves. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated , lg tv on wall, sitting area and desk. no fridge or microwave and a coffee machine. my only problem and reason for the three rating were the thin walls. I heard the persons tv loud and clear and at night snoring as clear as anything. I had to turn the heat on higher to drown out the noise. They offer a nice continental breakfast that does include a tasty ham and not so tasty scrambles eggs. The rest is typical hotel fare. The coffee was great. The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.