We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Stay & Get Free Tickets
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here this week while we were in Colonial Williamsburg. They serve breakfast every morning and alternate the hot items they serve. You won'leave hungry. Our room was very nice and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. We are close enough to walk to Williamsburg and since we were right next to the visitor center we could also take the bus when we wanted to. You will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    275
    84
    24
    8
See reviews for
309
130
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a perfectly located hotel for anyone visiting Williamsburg, as the visitors' center is just a short walk away and the shuttle stops there for those who want a ride into the colonial village. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms more than adequate. The breakfast, I thought, was under par, however. The first day, our pancakes were cold and the eggs runny. The pastries were dry and not appetizing either. The breakfast area has a good layout with stations of some sort in several corners of the room, so many people can partake of breakfast at the same time. I've just had better. We would stay here again, however, because convenience was everything when spending a day or two at Williamsburg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I found the hotel very friendly and comfortable. Everyone I ran across had a smile on their face and went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was great-much more than the traditional continental breakfast I am used to at hotels. The food was good and plentiful. The breakfast room was crowded most mornings. I ate outside one morning but it was a bit cool to be very comfortable

The conference I was attending at the Conference Center was also well run with incredible food.

I had dinner at Huzzah during my stay. Service there was also very good with quality food. My party sat and visited for a long time after dinner and we were not pushed or made to feel hurried to leave..

Room Tip: I did not use room service or the spa so I can't rate them. The room was very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and the surrounding area. The hotel is perfectly located to Colonial Williamsburg and we enjoyed the walking path to the colonial area. The hotel staff was very helpful and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good although the room was sometimes overcrowded as the weather did not allow for the use of the outside seating area. The information we received from the front desk personnel was very good and allowed us to make some good choices in planning our days. We would definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had a lovely view of the courtyard and even though there were several school g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in a standard two queen room for four days in October as part of a professional conference. Our conference was held next door in the associated conference facility. The only reason I gave the Woodlands a 4 instead of a 5 was because the breakfast room was so crowded, I chose to skip breakfast. I COULD have eaten outside at one of those tables but it was a little chilly at 8:15am. I also COULD have come earlier or later because my guess is 8:15 is a peak time. Other than that, no complaints. The grounds are very nice, personnel are friendly and efficient, my room was clean, bed comfy, and the location right next to the vistor's center - perfect. We walked to Colonial Williamsburg several times - a lovely walk in October. The conference facility was excellent, too - with EXCELLENT food.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were staying at Woodlands for an Air Force Reunion. It was a great location to not only tour Williamsburg but also Jamestown and Yorktown. The staff was very helpful when planning the reunion and to us while staying there. The rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast was the best I've seen in a hotel, each day had something different. The only complaint I had was it was hard to find, the signs did not mark the way clearly. Those in our group had the same complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very nice hotel that is close to everything you want to see and do in Williamsburg. Very quiet setting with nicely decorated, spacious rooms and a good continental breakfast. Just overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Would definitely visit again. I will say though, navigating the hallways to the lobby was a tad confusing but in the long run, no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Motor Inn set amid landscaped grounds, adjacent to the historic area; near Amtrak station; 17 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.