We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free $100 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here this week while we were in Colonial Williamsburg. They serve breakfast every morning and alternate the hot items they serve. You won'leave hungry. Our room was very nice and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. We are close enough to walk to Williamsburg and since we were right next to the visitor center we could also take the bus when we wanted to. You will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    301
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
341
151
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a perfectly located hotel for anyone visiting Williamsburg, as the visitors' center is just a short walk away and the shuttle stops there for those who want a ride into the colonial village. The hotel itself was clean and the rooms more than adequate. The breakfast, I thought, was under par, however. The first day, our pancakes were cold and the eggs runny. The pastries were dry and not appetizing either. The breakfast area has a good layout with stations of some sort in several corners of the room, so many people can partake of breakfast at the same time. I've just had better. We would stay here again, however, because convenience was everything when spending a day or two at Williamsburg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I found the hotel very friendly and comfortable. Everyone I ran across had a smile on their face and went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was great-much more than the traditional continental breakfast I am used to at hotels. The food was good and plentiful. The breakfast room was crowded most mornings. I ate outside one morning but it was a bit cool to be very comfortable

The conference I was attending at the Conference Center was also well run with incredible food.

I had dinner at Huzzah during my stay. Service there was also very good with quality food. My party sat and visited for a long time after dinner and we were not pushed or made to feel hurried to leave..

Room Tip: I did not use room service or the spa so I can't rate them. The room was very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting Colonial Williamsburg and the surrounding area. The hotel is perfectly located to Colonial Williamsburg and we enjoyed the walking path to the colonial area. The hotel staff was very helpful and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good although the room was sometimes overcrowded as the weather did not allow for the use of the outside seating area. The information we received from the front desk personnel was very good and allowed us to make some good choices in planning our days. We would definitely stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Our second floor room had a lovely view of the courtyard and even though there were several school g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in a standard two queen room for four days in October as part of a professional conference. Our conference was held next door in the associated conference facility. The only reason I gave the Woodlands a 4 instead of a 5 was because the breakfast room was so crowded, I chose to skip breakfast. I COULD have eaten outside at one of those tables but it was a little chilly at 8:15am. I also COULD have come earlier or later because my guess is 8:15 is a peak time. Other than that, no complaints. The grounds are very nice, personnel are friendly and efficient, my room was clean, bed comfy, and the location right next to the vistor's center - perfect. We walked to Colonial Williamsburg several times - a lovely walk in October. The conference facility was excellent, too - with EXCELLENT food.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were staying at Woodlands for an Air Force Reunion. It was a great location to not only tour Williamsburg but also Jamestown and Yorktown. The staff was very helpful when planning the reunion and to us while staying there. The rooms were large and very clean. The breakfast was the best I've seen in a hotel, each day had something different. The only complaint I had was it was hard to find, the signs did not mark the way clearly. Those in our group had the same complaint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very nice hotel that is close to everything you want to see and do in Williamsburg. Very quiet setting with nicely decorated, spacious rooms and a good continental breakfast. Just overall a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Would definitely visit again. I will say though, navigating the hallways to the lobby was a tad confusing but in the long run, no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.