We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples’ Getaway Package
Ranked #7 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge recently and had a fabulous stay. This time we opted for a suite room after the room we stayed in last time was quite tight when you add a pack and play crib. The suite was fabulous and had a whole separate sitting area with a couch and play space plus a kitchenette. On the other side of the divider wall was a nice size desk and an additional tv. The bathroom is tight, but the spa soaps/shampoo/lotion make up for that in my book!

My only complain is that our room was really far from the front of the hotel and there was no elevator down to our suite. Fine if you have a bellman helping, but if it's just you and your kid, it's a little hard.

You can't beat the location for Colonial Williamsburg. The Lodge is hands down on of the nicest places around and you won't regret staying here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    232
    91
    22
    17
See reviews for
286
265
21
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood,NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We just stayed at the Lodge for three days. Really liked the proximity to the Williamsburg sites and restaurants. Particularly liked the staff and the food in the Lounge was great for a quick bite. Only negative was the thin walls on the first floor of the south wing. You can really hear the creaking floors, showers and flushing of toilets from above. Ask for a second floor room.
Loved the "quiet pool".

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights recently. The lodge is right in the middle of Colonial Williamsburg conveniently located to everything. The room was really nice with a very comfortable bed. The only problem was we were located right next to the main door so we could hear everyone coming and going. The reception staff were okay but never smiled (sort of strange), and although they said they called to let us know our room was ready we never received the call so I had to go check with them in person. The spa was excellent! Located across the street from the lodge their staff is wonderful and their services top notch. They also have a main pool and a quiet pool at the spa which is really nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main door so you do not have to listen to everyone coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed here in early August for about 6 nights. Initially we planned to stay 7, but due to the horrific traffic getting there from the north, we cut our trip short a day and stayed in Alexandria on the way home.

What does this have to do with the hotel? Well, after being in the car for 9.5 hours (on a trip that should only be around 6.5) we arrived very late around 10pm, hadn't eaten and were at each others throats by the time we arrived. My wife checked to see if we could eat maybe at the lounge while I checked in. She was not a happy camper by the time she got in there and came back to meet me at the front desk. Somehow sensing the situation, the manager, Betty followed my wife out of the lounge and brought a menu to make sure she got an order in just as the kitchen was closing while we checked in and went to our room. She took the wind right out of all of our irritation from the drive and by the time we got downstairs after going to our room, she had a table ready, food and drinks. She really went out of her way that night and for the remaining nights to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

The hotel itself is nice. Not 5 star nice, but decent. The first night we stayed in one of the newer wings, but the room was too tight for the four of us (they look A LOT bigger in pictures than they are in person) and we were looking for an alternative (wasn't expecting anything free). The front desk staff took the time to show us a few rooms to see if they would suit our needs before offering us a much larger room for a slight additional cost. Again, the room was good, just tight and again, the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. In the end, our room was perfect for us.

One night, while trying to figure out where we would eat, we looked at the menu outside the hotel's restaurant (which is actually quite good). The Executive Chef happened to be there and started talking to us about the menu when my little one blurted out that she wanted a baked potato. Something not on the menu. The Chef actually went in the kitchen (without us asking him to) and instructed them to make her a baked potato - the kid was happy for the rest of the night. Even the valet went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. When we came back with our car he'd ask if we planned to use it again so he could keep it nearby, or put it "away" for the night.

The hotel is really convenient to Colonial Williamsburg - it's literally across the street. You're also within walking distance to the Merchant Area and the restaurants there and can easily access the Inn which is also roughly across the street. We visited Yorktown and Jamestown during our trip and the colonial highway, which you can get behind the Lodge, is really convenient and has NO TRAFFIC!

Most other activities are close by and easily accessible by car in a few minutes. Even Busch Gardens is roughly only 8-10 minutes away.

Again, I can't express enough how the staff makes this hotel. The hotel itself, while clean, nice and well maintained, is about middle of the road but the way the staff treated us at every level throughout our entire stay (almost like family), really makes this a great place to stay. They truly made the trip much more enjoyable for us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: "Tasewell" (sp?) didn't look all that great - looked like a poorly thought out 1970...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent a few days here late in July. Facilities ftom the main dining room, spa & pool were all very close and convenient. We stayed in a room in the Tyler building across from the lobby, but accessible under a covered walk way in case of bad weather.

In the morning they muster the troops out front which was fun for families staying here. The spa and pool are right across the street; the spa does a nice sports massage and the amenities that are available are very high quality.

Acess to the park cannot be closer, again across the street. There is a shuttle bus stop to get around the property quickly and easily. Coming and going from the Lodge to the park was handy with a small child.

Food for breakfast was plentiful and tasty; something for everyone. Dinner was equally good and we were all happy.

The room was well appointed, beds comfortable and the room was laid out well. The bathroom was pleasant, loads of room and the products were nice as well.

Overall a very nice hotel that we all enjoyed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here in two rooms with grandparents and kids while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. It's obviously very well located with shuttle buses that conveniently take you to different areas of the Colonial town. To make an analogy it's kind of like staying at a Disney hotel while visiting Disneyland--you're right in the heart of the action and don't have to go very far. You are only a 15 minute drive to historic Jamestown and you're less than 5 minutes away from the College of William & Mary. We got a very good rate and I don't think it was overpriced whatsoever--in fact I think this hotel is excellent value. The service is impeccable. Everyone from the bell hop to the front desk to the housemaids were warm and helpful and kid-friendly. The hotel is well appointed with colonial decor and yet has a decently modern feel--furniture, shower, toiletries, carpets etc. seemed very new so it made for a comfortable stay. Beds were very comfortable, and the free Wifi worked great. No big downsides. The restaurant is pretty good but predictably overpriced--like every other restaurant in Colonial Williamsburg. The only minor annoyance is that the pool is not physically located at the hotel. You have to cross the street to get to it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Williamsburg Lodge and we were so glad we did! We stayed in the Nicholas building and I chose that from recommendations here on Trip advisor. We were able to park our car and we didn't need to move it anytime during our three day stay!! We could walk to any place in Colonial Williamsburg from our room at the Lodge. We had purchased a package deal - breakfast, passes included. That was an excellent deal.
Our room was clean, beds comfortable.
We were very pleased with our whole stay in Colonial Williamsburg because of the excellent facilities at the Williamsburg Lodge. The breakfast at the Lodge was fantastic.
Food great, service great, location great!!!

Room Tip: Nicholas building was located close to parking lot and close to Colonial Williamsburg. (just across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.