We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in every way! location, service, dining 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Golf & Spa Package
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in every way! location, service, dining 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I visited Colonial Williamsburg last week (3/14-3/17) with my husband and 2 children (9 and 12). We had such a wonderful time and I am so happy I chose the Williamsburg Lodge. The location is great - you can walk to everything AND they have a shuttle in case you'd rather NOT walk. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very nice. The hotel is lovely and the service is some of the best I've ever had. Everyone is beyond friendly - they could not have been nicer. Even my kids (who are very well traveled) said "mommy, everyone is so NICE here!" The restaurant Traditions is also great - food and service for breakfast, lunch and dinner was amazing. The buffets were really fantastic. There is also a full spa/fitness center right across the street which was again, top notch. I loved it and the kids loved it. Large indoor pool and hot tub. We will definitely stay at the Lodge on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    264
    101
    25
    18
See reviews for
316
308
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We recently stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge for a week, going early before a conference to fit in some sight-seeing. The Lodge is more conference centre than hotel, which may help account for the fact that the public spaces are more comfortable than the guest rooms. The staff were helpful, pleasant, and efficient -- no complaints at all there. The Lodge is also very conveniently located in the centre of Colonial Williamsburg. But our room, while clean and spacious, was oddly configured. The bathroom, and its sink, were uncomfortably cramped, and the fittings sufficiently cheap that they were beginning to fall apart: the nob of the bathroom cabinet was so loose it kept falling off, as did the lever that directed water from the bathtub to the shower. For some reason the quite small television was located in a cabinet at the side of the bed, rather than at the end of it, which made for skewed and awkward viewing. The bed itself was lumpy, and the pillowcases too deep for comfortable support (we ended up dispensing with them). The walls of our room were paper thin and offered little noise insulation: we could hear our neighbour's television late into the night and his choice of radio music early in the morning. So all in all this was a quite ho-hum experience. In the unlikely event of our ever returning to Williamsburg, we would probably try somewhere else, despite the convenience of the Lodge's location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed in one of the suites at the Williamsburg Lodge for a few days in March 2014 when I brought my mother on a short vacation. Staff was very friendly, warm and accommodating. Loved that the suite had a separate bedroom and sitting room. The bathroom was large, with 2 separate sinks. We were in the main building, so we were very close to the restaurant and lobby lounge. Even though it's only 2 stories high, it was great that they had an elevator so my 82 year old mother didn't have to walk up stairs. I LOVE that the Colonial Williamsburg shuttle bus stops right at the hotel - how convenient! Had a package that included breakfast every day in the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast was great and we had full access to anything on the menu or the buffet. On Thursday, all egg orders at the buffet were made to order, and it was very slow - so slow I ended up just not getting eggs. However, on Friday, they had pre-made scrambled eggs available, and a dedicated omelet station was set up - much better flow. I also love that they have Keurig coffee makers in the rooms. I will definitely stay there again next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Williamsburg Lodge is a sprawling conference hotel and as such, doesn't have the ambiance of the Williamsburg Inn or Colonial Houses. The hallways are long and institutional. Our room, while very nicely decorated in a folk art style, had the smallest bathroom possible (I'm tiny and I thought it was a squeeze) and the room overlooked the parking garage. The hotel's breakfast was meh. On the positive side, the public rooms are lovely, the location (on the edge of the historic area) is unbeatable and the service (as always at Colonial Williamsburg) was stellar. Bottom line: it was okay, but I doubt I'll ever stay there again. The Colonial Houses remain my favorite CW hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Over the past 30 years I have stayed in hotels all over the country. The Lodge is right there at the top of the list for comfort, quality of the room, quiet, great food and warm staff. It really felt like I was staying in my own home! Steve from Roanoke, VA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is second stay for us. I was a little disappointed in that the bathroom was not as clean as it should be. Dust and dirt accumulated in bathroom corners and crevices and walls with black marks us not what I expected for this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We got the weekend package to include the spa. Loved the accommodations. Great location just walking distance from Colonial Williamsburg and Merchant Square. Very comfortable room. Friendly staff.
We had drinks in the lounge and enjoyed a live jazz band. The second night we had dinner at Traditions restaurant which was fabulous.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.