We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Breakfast & Tickets
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From start to finish excellent experience with the, courteous, friendly, attentive staff including the restaurant. Location was perfect short walk to the historic area and the bus stop. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    292
    112
    31
    20
See reviews for
341
334
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge over July 4th and had a fantastic time. There were plenty of holiday festivities to interests adults and kids alike, and you can't beat the location. The Lodge is ideal for families, and there were a lot of kids there. The room was comfortably appointed with a spacious bathroom. We appreciated the coffee/tea maker, although they never left enough tea despite asking. As it was hot, we spent plenty of time at the pool. Do not order food and drinks there. It took over an hour to get them! The buffet is good for meals, especially with kids. Again, don't count on great service there. The servers did not seem interested to serve or to clear tables. A table next to us was dirty for our entire meal and getting additional drinks or cutlery was impossibly slow. Also, the bars at all the Colonial Williamsburg hotels closed early. My husband and his friend wanted to discuss business one night, but there was no place open around the complex. Housekeeping was fine for regular things, but the roll away bed we requested during reservations and again at check-in didn't come until 10:30 at night after many calls to housekeeping.

Overall, we liked the Lodge and would return. With a bit of attention to some service issues it would be great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge with a friend for a girls' getaway weekend. For all the services the reservation agent listed when I booked the room over the phone, I was under-whelmed by our experience. The Lodge was incredibly convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, and it was a nice accomodation to have a ticket office in the hotel lobby, but the staff was less than helpful. The information that I received from the reservation agent was not exactly accurate... the two-day-passes we purchased through the hotel for Colonial Williamsburg were NOT all-inclusive (we were granted access to all of the buildings and tours, but paid extra for evening programs, a horse-drawn carriage ride, and other offerings) and many of the places where we dined and shopped did not offer us a discount because we were hotel guests, despite the claims to the contrary when we booked the room.

The hotel itself was average. The rooms were clean and neat. Complimentary breakfast is not included, but the room had a Keurig machine. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and the Sunday breakfast buffet was quite the spread! The food was excellent, but the service was terrible. Our waitress never even brought our drinks, despite several reminders!

While I loved my experience in Colonial Williamsburg and am planning on returning, I will have to really consider my options when choosing a place to stay. I'm not sure if the convenience of the Williamsburg Lodge makes up for the poor service and expense.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Lodge during a recent visit to Williamsburg, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The Lodge is very conveniently located for visitors to Colonial WIlliamsburg....literally everything is in easy waling distance, and there is a bus and a courtesy car for those who do not want to walk. The room is nicely appointed and everything is immaculate. The grounds and landscaping are nice....and for couples who want to swim without a bunch of kids playing "Marco Polo" around you, please do not miss the quiet pool, which is lovely and located right next to the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family, my husband, myself and my daughter's family stayed at the lodge in August. It was wonderful. Excellent service, clean accommodations, and an excellent restaurant on premises with reasonable prices. The lodge is within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. Quite convenient. We stayed only one night but wished it was longer!

Room Tip: All rooms were convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Williamsburg Lodge which is a short walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. The staff - front desk, bellman, restaurant - were all helpful and friendly. They were even able to accommodate our request for a late check out. Our room - a standard - was larger than expected with plenty of room to spread out with children and was very clean. The pool which is across the way was very nice and allowed us a chance to cool off and relax after a busy day in walking around. The pool is clean and large - areas to spread out so you are crowded. I would recommend the Williamsburg Lodge to anyone looking for a family friendly place to stay or for a couples get-away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, staff very friendly and knowledgeable. My family and I had a wonderful stay. As we stepped out of our car , entering the Lodge we were transported back in time, but with modern amenities. Lodge is within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. Definitely the place to stay if planning a trip to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.