We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Golf & Spa Package
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent two nights here and were very happy with the service and the location. They were paving the street in front of the hotel but we were notified well in advance and given directions on how to access the hotel parking structure. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with wonderful amenities. The WiFi worked well and we slept comfortably in our large bed. I wish there was more room for luggage, an extra holder would have been helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms would probably be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    264
    101
    25
    18
See reviews for
316
308
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Williamsburg Lodge is huge. Rooms are fine, nothing special. Location is central to historic village. Eateries in nearby Merchant Village are expensive, noisey and crowded. We ate in a place called Trellis and the service was awful. The wait staff looked like they were on a death march. The food in the Lodge's dining room was most excellent for dinner and the prices reasonable. Inspired menu, exceptional service and good wine list. Very enjoyable for breakfast also. The bar is spacious and comfortable with live music on many evenings.

Room Tip: Ask how far your room is from the main building. Some are a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

stayed for memorial day weekend based on tripadvisor reviews.They have this one right!Loaction is walking distance from all the activity.The personnel were exceptional from the doorman,to the maids,the front desk,and the restaurant personnel.The hotel is huge but we obtained a room in the Tyler building directly adjacent to the main lodge.the bed was very comfortable and the room spotless.
our electornic key did not work when we first went to the room,but it was immediately replaced with a sincere apology for our short walk back to the front desk.
our only real complaint was the water pressure in the shower.It was fine if you like scalding,but as the cold water was turned up ,the pressure dropped.A minor inconvenience compared to the overall experience.Will stay again when we return.

Room Tip: their seafood buffet on Friday nights is very good,but don't overlook the all the restaurants at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barueri, SP
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Localization is exactly at the historical center of Williamsburg. Friendly staff, spacious rooms with all necessary fac ilities, godious decoration, and a lot of smiles arud. The fact that it is located at the historic center of Wlliamsburg keeps it with merely two floors. So it is a big but not a monstruous hotel. Sure hit. You can't make a mistake by staying here.

Room Tip: ask for 1st floor to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are just back from a 4 night stay at the Williamsburg Lodge. We were very happy from beginning to end. The front desk was very nice, and accommodated our request that my father's room be near ours. We had 2 rooms (each a double-queen) in the Nicolas wing. Both rooms were very clean, large, and had large bathrooms. The decor was very tasteful (colonial folk art, nice colors, 4 poster beds), sheets soft and pillows fluffy. Our windows looked out on to a pretty courtyard. The bath products are from the spa at the Williamsburg Inn, and smell lovely. We ate daily at the breakfast buffet (Included in our package). The food was above average, with healthy options as well as kid pleasing pancakes and hearty egg/bacon choices. The hotel is just a 1 block walk to the historic area, which makes it easy to be in the heart of things. My children enjoyed the pool (just a short walk to the Williamsburg Inn) and my husband and I enjoyed an adult beverage on a lounge chair. We had dinner in the bar the first night we were there, and it was good, and the atmosphere was nice. We spent a lot of time in the historic city, and walked everywhere, so we would arrive back to the hotel tired and sweaty! Our room was always very nice to come back to. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Nicolas wing was very nice, and close to everything. I did not stay in the Tazewell wing, but u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here, accompanied by my wife, because of a nearby business meeting. Lots of pros and cons. I'll start with the pros: Room (we ultimately stayed in) was very clean and fairly comfortable. Staff was mostly very friendly and, as other reviewers note, it's a great location for walking to nearby Colonial Williamsburg. But that's about it for the pluses.
Cons: At check-in, front desk was not very welcoming or pleasant, and would not even consider my advance request (gained from TripAdvisor) to be housed in the main building. They also could not give us a king bed anywhere, even though the room rate did not seem like much of a bargain. The first room we were assigned was in the Ashby building, but was small, narrow and dark, with a view of a brick wall, and we immediately asked to be moved. We were then taken to a room in the Tazewell building (which gets pretty negative Tripadvisor reviews in general) but it was a step up from the first one. Unfortunately, to have a partial view of trees and the parking lot across the street, we had to endure a lot of traffic noise from right outside our window. My wife and I also dislike the single shot coffee machine, with no cup warmer (and no microwaves available). Tazewell does put one in mind of a college dorm and, even at the conference rate, this hotel did not seem like a very good value compared to other hotels we have stayed in.

If we go back to Williamsburg, we will probably look into other accommodations.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Our Tazewell room was very average although possibly a little more spacious than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We traveled as a couple and stayed at this hotel during the end of May. The hotel rooms seem a bit dated and are overpriced. They are priced as a 4 or 5 star hotel but in reality they are more like a 3 star. The bathroom could have been cleaner as I don't appreciate seeing random stray hairs and the room could have been dusted a bit better. Also, their pillows were awful. Way too hard, I kept waking up because it was so uncomfortable.


My real issue comes with the fireplace that the hotel boasted about. We checked in and the employee made a point to tell us our room has a fireplace. We thought that was great and were excited to use it as we come from Brooklyn where fellow apartment dwellers don't have fireplaces to enjoy. After a busy afternoon we were excited to come back to the hotel room that evening in order to use the fireplace. While outside we began trying to find a shop that sold matches or a lighter, the shops we wanted to go into were already closed so we went back to the room to see if there were any matches there. After not finding any we went down to the front desk to ask if they had matches so we may use the fireplace. This is when we were informed about a state-wide law that prohibits the use of fireplaces during the summer season because of birds which nest in the chimneys. To think we almost used it and the only thing stopping us was not having matches.


Williamsburg Lodge needs to nail a sign onto the fireplace that states it is not to be used from between X and X months. I truly don't understand why they wouldn't let us know about this. The woman at check-in could have said it, but instead just told us we get a room with a fireplace, no mention that we were not to use it.


Later that evening we actually smelled a fireplace burning coming from an adjacent room. We called down to the front desk to inform them of this. Looks like another guest was not told the rule but unfortunately they had matches with them and lit a fire, like we would have done.



Williamsburg Lodge: PLACE A SIGN ON THE FIREPLACE WARNING GUESTS NOT TO USE IT!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.