We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay if you must but do not plan to eat here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples’ Getaway Package
Ranked #8 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay if you must but do not plan to eat here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel and we will not be back. We stayed in the least charming part of the hotel, Tazewell Hall, which is the same rate as the much nicer main building. Our room service breakfast was one hour late. Room service dinner and the buffet dinner in the restaurant were both very poor quality. The only good thing about our visit is that the rooms were quiet so sleeping was not a problem. Would not recommend this hotel. It is not worth the room rate.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Tazewell annex. It is the least charming of all the buildings and not worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    226
    91
    22
    17
See reviews for
273
256
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean, close and cool. We just came down for the weekend and are pretty tough customers to please. Hotel staff was super friendly and the place was very clean. Just steps from all Williamsburg has to offer. Park the car and forget it. Short drive to other locals, Yorktown and Jamestown. Great trip we are already planning our return. Pricey but worth it in my book.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed one night at the Lodge in April. The best part was the room size! The room was spacious even when the pull-out sofa was pulled out. We enjoyed a comfortable night sleep. We had a yummy dinner in the lounge area in the evening, and had a good breakfast buffet in the morning. We had to go outside and across a courtyard to get to the restaurants, which was easy to do although not preferable.
If you are trying to figure out where to stay in Williamsburg, this is a good option but it is not the best. We spent the next 3 nights staying in one of the colonial houses; the Brick Shop House. I will review that separately, but I must say that if you can spare the expense; it was an amazing experience for our family. Regardless of which Williamsburg property you choose, I recommend staying close to all the action. In some towns it pays to stay a little further away from the action to save $ for lodging, but in the case of Williamsburg I would not recommend anything off property. The convenience, the discount on tickets, and the immersion into the time period make it worth the extra money you pay for a room ( in the end there is probably little difference in cost with comparable hotels).
In summary, stay in a Colonial Williamsburg property, the Lodge is a strong choice, but it is not the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travel to Colonial Williamsburg several times a year. Each season is the perfect time to visit. Springtime with flowers and lambs. Summer with fireworks, concerts etc. Fall with the changing leaves and Thanksgiving, and finally the holiday and winter season. I love Williamsburg at holiday time. The decorations are so beautiful, fires in cresetts and the fireplace at the Lodge lounge. And a snowfall in Williamsburg is magical. Celebrating the New Year in Williamsburg is wonderful because everything is open and you don't have to get in your car to partake in all the festivities. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the restored area and again you never need to drive anywhere else. If you are a shopper there are wonderful shops. All in all Williamsburg is one of my all time favorite places to visit and I love sharing it with family and friends. The Lodge has wonderful accomodations and a drink on the terrace behind the Williamsburg Inn is a great place to relax. Go and enjoy your visit anytime of the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work convention. This is a large facility. Love the historic period decor. Very polite and helpful staff. Would recommend it for any large event (conference, wedding, receptions, etc). Just a block from the colonial Williamsburg area with tours, shopping, and restaurants. Shuttles come by all day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge when visiting the College of William & Mary. We were welcomed warmly by the staff and found the accommodations to be quite comfortable. You can't beat the location. It was great to be only steps away from the College and other historic sites. We loved the convenience which allowed us to pack a lot into a short weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed the location and hospitality at the lodge. The food was delicious and nicely presented and the staff was great. It was a wonderful experience overall. Experiencing the historical presentations only a short distance away was priceless!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
Charming, Pool...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#6 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.