We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Illumination Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE $100 Gift Card
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grand Illumination Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love everything about CW (yes I am a big dork) We have stayed in all the properties from the Inn to the Colonial Houses, each is a very different experience all awesome in their own way. The Grand Illumination is CWs kick off to the holiday season, the fireworks display is absolutely amazing. Fireworks=Grand Illumination, get it? :) Book early because this is a huge weekend. We were booked in the Lodge as part of the Illumination Package, 3 nights, breakfast included and admission to CW.

Our room was bright, clean and decorated in a folk art style, very cute. Coffee is in the room, individual cup coffee maker, large fridge, flat screen TV. Cable is better than "basic", Bravo, ESPN, HBO etc. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion are larger than what you usually see in comparable hotels, and are replenished everyday, whether you used them or not.

Then only con was the parking, which was our own fault. They do offer valet, but we decided to park ourselves instead of waiting for the valets to come back from parking other cars. Big mistake, we drove around the parking garage stalking people for their parking space, no one was leaving, so after about 1/2 hour of driving up and down the garage, and 25 minutes of swearing at each other my husband found what could loosely be called a parking spot. To this day I don't know how he fit our car in that spot. Do yourself a favor, HAVE THE VALET PARK YOUR CAR!

We have stayed at the Williamsburg Inn twice and I actually like the Lodge better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    277
    108
    27
    18
See reviews for
330
320
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent our honeymoon weekend at the lodge and the staff was very welcoming and the service was great. The room was a bit small but clean and a value for the price we paid. The location is excellent to all of the attractions. Definately worth staying at if you get the opportunity and if you can find it at a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

nice have to walk outside to get around ok if not raining no fridge interesting for the price i usually take bottled water/drinks when i travel but service is great and decorations awesome ARea is wonderful for visit/vacation

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband attended a woodworking symposium while my son and I enjoyed the tickets to Colonial Williamsburg that came with our hotel package. We snagged a Cyber Monday deal, one free night with 2 paid in a suite, and our rooms at the Lodge were wonderful! Spacious, clean, inviting and comfortable. RIGHT across the street from the historical area, so we just walked most everywhere, but there's also a great bus system that circles the area, and if you have CW passes you get unlimited use. The staff was very friendly and helpful, as in finding us an extra cushion for the not-quite-so-comfortable pull-out sofa for our son, which made it much better. All in all, this was a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a nice suite at the front of the hotel - bit of traffic noise, but not very noticeable. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived in Williamsburg at 2 AM after a 6 hour drive. We could not wait to get to our room. We had requested a suite with a roll away to accomodate our two children. After check in housekeeping was called to set up our room and had difficulty securing the cot. Much to our pleasure the woman at front desk offered us the room next door for the night at no charge- what great customer service. After the long ride there it was a relief to have someone make a quick, customer friendly decision so we could get some rest. Bravo to the Williamsburg Lodge and it's staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Although I have never stayed at the Lodge, I dined there for the Thanksgiving 2012 buffet. My only complaint was that the room was so large, that it was a bit loud at times, but I understand that such a large space is needed to accommodate all the guests. Food and service were spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I spent two nights at the Williamsburg lodge over Presidents' Day weekend with their room and spa package. For whatever reason the package was cheaper than just the normal room rate so we got a pretty good bargain. The room was well appointed although the beds are not the most comfortable. Also, the wife really liked the spa products that they have in the bathroom.
We spent about day waking around Colonial Williamsburg. If you stay at the hotel, admission to Colonial Williamsburg is about $24 per person I believe, and would be valid for the entire stay. We also spent some time at the Lodge Lounge (for some late night snacks/dinner) and at the spa facilities and they were both excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.