We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples’ Getaway Package
Ranked #8 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent last weekend at the Lodge as a Valentine's Day getaway. We found the Lodge to be a great place to spend the night in Williamsburg. We were able to park the car once, for free, and then walk everywhere we wanted to go throughout the historic area. They offer valet parking if you prefer, but you are not required to use it.

The room we got had a nice sitting area with a couple of wingback chairs and a sleeper sofa, so no sitting on the bed to read or watch television. The amenities were high end and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Cannot tell you about the restaurant as we ate at the Kings Arms Tavern, which was a lot of fun.

The Lodge is centrally located and we found the staff helpful and unobtrusive. The room was quiet and well maintained.

We would recommend it and would certainly stay there again when next we are in town. Be sure to ask about the AAA discount, they don't advertise it, but they do offer one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    226
    91
    22
    17
See reviews for
277
257
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Beautful hotel and excellent location. The rooms are very nice and the King Size bed suitemade for a great night's quiiet sleep. The hotel is smack dab in the middle of colonial Wburg. Walk to everything from here. Restaraunt is good although a little pricey, but what hotel food isn't. Nice bar with a very nice fireplace. Shannon the bartender is beyond friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Williamsburg Lodge offers comfortable rooms, a cozy lounge with fireplace, and access to the spa and fitness facilities of the Williamsburg Inn. The restaurant has a wonderful Friday night seafood buffet that should not be missed, including everything from sushi, salad, and soup to hot and cold seafood, carved meats, and delicious desserts. It is convenient to stay right next to the historic area so that you can go back to your room during a busy day in Colonial Williamsburg. Any purchases at historic area shops or Colonial Williamsburg stores in Merchant's Square are delivered to your room free of charge. Guests can purchase admission tickets for the historic area right in the lodge, one price for your entire stay. There is a great discount for AAA members and very good rates during the off season. Summers are hot and humid; try to visit in fall, winter, or spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Fabulous location, highly service oriented staff. Public areas and rooms are lovely. However:

Walls between rooms (in Nichols/Tyler sections) are paper thin. Every word of conversation is audible. sleep with the HVAC system fan set to "on" for a bit of white noise. (If your neighbors are loud, this may not help all that much.). The room temperature is extremely difficult to regulate- either way too hot or way too cold, so just decide which you prefer to be, or keep playing with the thermostat.

If you can dismiss these issues, you'll have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from Nicholas/Tyler due to noise issues. Cannot say if the same is true for other wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Williamsburg Lodge is a very short stroll to Colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Jamestowne and Yorktown. We met friends for an anniversary celebration and were delighted with the friendly, professional and efficient staff, the rooms were decorated in colonial style and beds super comfortable. We had a health issue while there and the staff were quick to get the EMTs there and transport family members to and from the hospital....all is well ....thanks for asking :-) The staff in Traditions restaurant went out of their way to make each meal a very pleasant experience...the food was delicious and the meal presentations exquisite. You may pay a bit more for a room than at a motel, but the location, gorgeous surroundings, and knowing you are well taken care of makes up for any additional dollars! We will stay there on our next trip to Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned home from enjoying a weekend at The Williamsburg Lodge. We purchased a "package", which included breakfast each morning & tickets to the Roseanne Cash concert, which was held in the Virginia Room. The entire staff was extremely nice & helpful. We enjoyed tapas in the lounge on Friday evening. A small group provided entertainment for the evening. Saturday evening we dined in the lodge restaurant. The food was delicious. We had crab salad, pork ( so tender we didn't need a knife) and, for dessert, bread pudding & ice cream. The servings are very generous...more than we could eat. The concert was 1st class!!! We enjoyed the buffet breakfast before returning home today. We stayed in the Nicholas & enjoyed 2 queen beds & mini fridge. I can't say enough about the entire staff, from the valet gentleman to the sweet woman that cleaned our room! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Nicholas building. Short walk to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Returned to Colonial Williamsburg for perhaps umpteenth time and the Lodge for perhaps the 8th time. We have always come in the Spring, Summer or Fall, but a Spa/Golf Special was just too enticing so we headed down for a recent long weekend.
Our room was a gem with a wood-burning fireplace that was restocked each day and whcih made for a wonderful evening respite. The leather sofa (sofabed?) was a nice addition, too. We arrived on Friday evening just in time to enjoy the weekly seafood buffet dinner and it was delicious - unlimited oysters always hit the spot for me. The daily morning breakfast buffet, which on some other packages is included, provides a great start to the day. My wife loved her three spa visits (1 per day for her in this package - we actually added a fourth) and I hit the links for some wintertime golf, which is not something you get to do very often in Philadelphia this time of year.
What I love about Colonial Williamsburg, across all levels of staff, is the joy and warmth they exude for their work and their workplace. This is a special place and everyone working in the Lodge and the other Colonial Williamsburg lodging/dining properties (I have also stayed in the Inn a number of time, the Woodlands and the Providence facility over the years), as well as the folks at the Spa, the Golden Horseshoe Golf Club, the historic town and exhibits and even the restaurants and shops at Merchant Square all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and address your needs or wants.
This was a wonderful break for this time of year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.