We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern yet a sense of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE $100 Gift Card
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Modern yet a sense of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love history as much as the next person, but I want to fall asleep with the comforts of home. The Williamsburg Lodge provides that. Spacious rooms, lovely bathrooms, and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the historic area. Perfection within a price range that works for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    272
    105
    26
    18
See reviews for
325
316
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
crane beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Mother, daughter and daughter-in-law (really another daughter) spent our annual outing this year in historical Williamsburg and stayed at the lodge. It was just GREAT. Two queen beds and a couch that opened into a queen bed in a huge room made it really comfortable for all.The lodge
is a short walk to historical sites, restaurants and shopping plus a bus stop nearby for those whose legs won't carry them far. Great room to mull over the day in front of a fireplace was in the main part of the lodge. It has our unconditional endorsement.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 13 year old daughter, and I stayed here for a conference. It was very quiet where we our room was located...room
#4638. There were 2 queen beds in the room. There was a safe, and a small refrigerator. The location was very convenient to walk to Historical Williamsburg events. My husband did not like the pillows, otherwise the beds were comfortable.
I liked the bathroom being separate from the small "dressing" area with a sink in each room/area, so that two people could get ready at the same time.
The sitting area was close to our room, with a small bench and chairs. The ice machine was conveniently located.
We did not get around to using the pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent three wonderful days at the Lodge in Colonial Williamsburg. I love this hotel. I like its understated, but elegant feel; like a cozy lodge. We were given a lovely room in the Nicholas building, which is right across from the main building. It was large and very nicely appointed in a classic Virginia style with 2 comfortable queen-size beds, an armoire that housed a flat screen TV, a mini-fridge and a safe and a roomy bathroom with bath robes, The Spa toiletries and a Keurig coffee machine with good sized coffee mugs. The ladies at the front desk were swamped when we checked in as there were several conventions going on, but I never got the impression they were just going thru the motions. Everyone we spoke to -- from the valet outside to the front desk clerks to house keeping -- were friendly, courteous and informative. There's so much to see and do in Colonial Williamsburg and the Lodge's proximity to the center of it all can't be beat. There's even a bus stop right in front of the main building if you don't feel like walking. The Lodge is my preferred hotel in Colonial Williamsburg and we'll be coming back often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Williamsburg Lodge in Williamsburg, VA is a very quaint place to stay. It is within 5 minutes of all the main attractions of Williamsburg and close to bus stop if you need to go further. The halls are decked with colonial placards and the rooms make one feel part of the era. Loved it :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford Essex UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really stylish and friendly hotel. Rooms large with 2 huge beds, fridge, coffee machine, blackout blinds, large tv, spacious bathroom, very clean and traditional. We ate at their 'Traditions' restaurant, really lovely food but with drinks it was expensive compared to UK. Still great for a treat!

Room Tip: We were in 4035, Nicholas guest house... a few seconds away from the main building, with an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a yearly convention which was held at the lodge. This was our second stay at the lodge so we were somewhat familiar with what they had to offer. While our room and bath were clean we found the bed and pillows uncomfortable and were disappointed with the furnishings- the chairs were in need of replacement and the television was really only viewable from the bed.
The service in the dining room was very attentive but as mentioned by another reviewer, their parking is not particularly guest friendly.
One good aspect is the lodge's convenient location relative to the historic features. On this trip we were able to visit several of the buildings and dine in a couple of the taverns. The historic community is charming and fascinating which really offsets the disappointments with the lodging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. Enjoy a relaxing hotel escape in the heart of the Revolutionary City. Just steps from the action, the inviting lodge boasts a world-class restaurant and convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. Admission ticket discounts and special daily events are just the beginning of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.