We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice few days at the Williamsburg Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice few days at the Williamsburg Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge in early June for a three nights with our kids and my parents. The hotel is in an excellent location and for that alone I would stay there again.

Rooms: My father wanted the least expensive room which is a standard double and he was happy with it. We wanted to stay near them so we had to decide between two interconnecting rooms or a king suite with a pull-out sofa bed for our family since rooms with two queens are not in the same building as the standard rooms. We opted for the suite. Our rooms were in the main building which was very convenient, but the hallways to the guest rooms are a bit run down and a little depressing. The rooms were clean and comfortable and simply but nicely decorated but ours looked over the mechanicals on the roof which was a little disappointing. At bedtime we also discovered that the pull out sofa was incredibly uncomfortable. We called the front desk to see if we could switch rooms or if they could bring up another pad for the bed. They brought up a pad and it improved things considerably, and as it was pretty late and we were half unpacked, we decided to stay in the room we were in. The rooms had annoying roller blinds which were hard to operate.
Service: The people who work at the Lodge are very friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast servers and the woman who arranges tickets for special programs.
Food: The menu in the bar looked very promising, but the food was pretty bad. The food at breakfast was better and we were all happy with what was offered.
Property: As I said above, the location is fantastic. We were within a 10 minute walk to everything that we wanted to see, and the pool that is a part of the Williamsburg Inn is just across the road. The pool is nice and not filled with too many people, it was a little confusing at first to find it, as there are two next to each other, but it was nice and we were happy to have access to it.

If I were to go to Colonial Williamsburg again, I might stay in the Williamsburg Inn rather than the Lodge because it was so pretty and seemed more serene, but it also has a very formal feeling and the kids might not have liked it as much. We went to the Inn for a drink it's clear that the whole property is a big step ahead of the Lodge and I'll guess that the rooms are more comfortable and prettier. The distance to the pool and the colonial town are equally close to both properties. If you are looking for a unique and beautiful place to stay, choose the Inn, if you just want a good location and friendly service and don't care so much about luxury and aesthetics, save money and stay at the Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    212
    90
    19
    16
See reviews for
258
238
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

When we booked through the CW website we were told this was a deluxe hotel and they convinced us to get 2 adjoining rooms for our party of 6. The rooms were large but very dusty, moldy and outdated. There were no curtains but only plastic panel window coverings and several were bent or missing so there was no way to keep out the early morning sun. The bathrooms were old and just did not have a clean feel or look to them.. But by far the worst were the bloodstains on the sheets and towels. It was disgusting. Seems like there is no quality control at this hotel. Staff was pleasant but not overly so. Location was good but we had a car and decided to drive most places instead of rely on the buses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in August. First impressions were good and reception staff were reasonably friendly and helpful. We had booked a suite as we were travelling as a family with 2 daughters aged 18 and 21. What a disappointment. We were in the main building and the room was tiny, hardly room to move and no where to put suitcases. We had expected the girls to have to sleep on a sofa bed but not the awful contraption provided. The mattress was like a pancake with the springs of the sofa poking through. Not suitable for small children let alone 2 young adults. The bedroom was very small with one queen bed, plastic window blinds, bare creaky wooden floors and a small bedside rug which was dangerously slippery on the wood. The 'sitting room' had a small sink and fridge which was nice to have but with the bed out there was no floor space. The bathroom was adequate but quite small. We had booked for 4 adults but there were only 2 mugs and coffee for 2 and towels for 2 in the bathroom. In the morning I spoke to one of the housekeeping staff cleaning nearby rooms and she could not have been more helpful. We returned to a pile of towels, mugs, tea and coffee. Our first evening was seafood buffet night in the restaurant. At $30+ dollars a head we thought that this was expensive as we are not all seafood lovers so ate out. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Only hotel on our trip not to offer breakfast. We did have an evening drink at the bar and ended up there again the next night as there was a singer and the music was so loud in our room we couldn't talk or sleep. The furnishings are all reproduction period to be in keeping with the whole Williamsburg experience but this seemed to be at the expense of comfort. We did not feel well looked after by the staff (other than housekeeping) and were quite disappointed by our stay at the Lodge. We have been to Williamsburg before and enjoyed revisiting with the girls however I am sure we could have stayed somewhere more comfortable, cheaper and better appointed. Much of the lodge seemed to be a vast sprawling empty space waiting for a conference or wedding party. Not the experience we had hoped for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge with my 2 kids in June 2012. The location and price cannot be beat. We were 1 block away from Colonial Williamsburg and were able to buy all of our tickets at the hotel Concierge desk rather than having to go all the way over to the Visitor's Center. You also get discounted admission to CW and to the ghost tours if you are staying at a CW hotel. It was so nice not to have to worry about parking etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was here recently for a three night conference. The first night, we were put in the South Building. Horrible. Extremely small room, one queen sized bed, very creaky wood floors, tiny out-dated bathroom, and to top it all off, starting at about 6:30am through about 8:30am there was a constant banging sound, which I was told was "probably the pipes since it is a very old hotel". For $200 a night, I don't care how old the hotel is the pipes shouldn't be so loud they prevent guests from sleeping.

I requested a new room for the next two nights and was put in a room in the Ashby building. The room was much nicer than the original room I had, but it wasn't anything special. It was definitely colonial, which is par for the course, but it could have used some updating.

Staff is extremely friendly though and food was very good in the house restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay away from the South building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here back in July 2009 and absolutely loved it. This time, however, we were placed in the Tazewell Hall property on the south side of the hotel. While the other buildings have gorgeous facilities with, e.g., marble bathroom counters and tile floors and colonial accents in the room, Tazewell Hall resembles an IBM branch office inside and out. The rooms themselves are roomy and comfortable, but they give off a distinct 80s Comfort Inn vibe. The bathrooms, in comparison to the ones available in other buildings on the property, are small, somewhat threadbare, and lack any sort of character whatsoever.

Yes, the property is very convenient to the historic Colonial Village, but the room was by no means cheap or budget - this is a premium property, but it had no premium feel to it whatsoever. Its only benefit was proximity to the underground parking garage. For over $250/nite, Tazewell Hall leaves a lot to be desired, and when I return I'll ask specifically that I not be placed in that somewhat depressing building.

Room Tip: Avoid Tazewell Hall. It resembles a mid-80s IBM branch office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The lodge is in the middle of colonial Williamsburg, right outside of downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful, even with our huge bridal party! They gave us tips on places to go, and the best way to walk there. There is a shuttle bus available for those who need it. The rooms were clean and the shampoos and such were amazing! (not the cheap stuff you would normally get, and they sell it downstairs in the gift shop). The gift shop also sells a spiced wine that was wonderful!!! The rooms are a little bit pricey, but totally worth the stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg

Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Lodge
Williamsburg Hotel
Address: 310 South England Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern lodging located on-site in Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.