We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate SUMMER Fun
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Everything about this place, from the rooms to the restaurants to the very friendly and efficient service we received, was just right for my family's recent visit to Colonial Williamsburg. I can't say enough good things about this place! Well worth the cost (which is very reasonable when you take into consideration all that the resort has to offer).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    260
    83
    44
    33
See reviews for
430
206
5
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed in building 5 on the 2nd floor. Two beds for my husband, myself and our two kids. Nice size room, clean, big dresser and closet and a nice balcony overlooking the pond. My only complaint was that the beds were small and tough for two people to sleep on.

As other reviewers have noted - the walls are paper thin. Fortunately it was mostly families and our neighbors were relatively quiet. The breakfast buffet was really good, but make sure you get there before 9am or you'll wait for a table.

We went to the fitness center, fitness center outdoor pool and lazy river pool. The lazy river pool is occupied by mostly families. We were always able to get a chaise. It also had the bar and pool side restaurant which were both good. It has the music and lively chaotic atmosphere. The fitness center outdoor pool was very peaceful and we really enjoyed it. The fitness center was also nice even though the locker rooms were still under construction.

We ate at Elements and ordered room service. Both were good. The staff in general was very nice and accommodating. We took golf cart and bus rides around. Although we could also walk, it was hot and sometimes just easier to jump on a golf cart. Staff would see us walking and drive over to ask us if we needed a ride.

We took the shuttle to Busch Gardens and the water park. The shuttle was very easy. Nice not having to park or walk a mile to our car. Busch Gardens is really close. We'd hear the fireworks every night at 9:30.

Kingsmill is huge. It's well run and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this property. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a river view, the location and shuttle bus to the parks was so convenient. The staff was amazingly helpful and kind. We spent a relaxing afternoon at the pool, food was great there and at the landing. We've told our family and friends its a must stay if you ever plan on visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place was by far one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at. It was clean, updated, and VERY convenient to all of the great attractions of Williamsburg (1 mile from Busch Gardens!).

The staff was extremely attentive - they run many shuttles to the attractions which is a wonderful perk. I don't golf, but my husband loved the courses and said everything was well taken care of.

Management at this place was TOP NOTCH. The hotel manager's name is Vichelle and he is fantastic... No need goes unmet. He really went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay, especially for my sister who was traveling with crutches...

Oh, and the food was incredible! I definitley recommend dinner at the spot next to the hotel lobby (Eclipse I think?). Everything was very reasonably priced (even at the pool).

Gym had just about every machine you could want, too.

You won't be disappointed here!! Happy Travels! :)

Room Tip: If traveling with a large group I would recommend renting one of their cottages on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great resort. Every aspect was perfect. Beautiful property. Our meals were all good. Beautiful golf course and service and employess were allways fast and friendly. Great variety of outdoor fun. Best suited to families or couples who enjoy outdoor activities
Jay and Terri Wall

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort, great golf courses, close to amusement parks and Colonial Williamsburg. Accommodations and hospitality staff very courteous. Fitness staff not very friendly and marina staff not very helpful. Still a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The suites are huge, a great option for family traveling with teenagers that need their own space. This resort has great pools, tennis courts, fishing and etc... This resort also have 3 great restaurants. You don't need to leave the resort to enjoy yourself there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.