We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spa Getaway
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We continue to take the 5-6 hour trip from Pennsylvania down to Kingsmill Resort. We have been coming for over 20 years and always enjoy the experience. Every Summer. Spring and an occasional winter visit provide relaxation to last awhile. We Love the resort amenities, fitness, sauna whirlpools and on winter visits will stay in the resort only. Accommodations are always clean and spacious with suites equipped with full kitchens for family meals.. Sylvia in reservations always insures we have the best rate and looks for upgrades when she can. Not even sure Sylvia is in reservations but she has been taking care of us for years. Can't end without saying we miss the par three golf course that was replaced by a lazy river. Overall five out of five stars for our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    246
    78
    43
    28
See reviews for
412
194
5
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Every year I come down with my children and grandchildren.. We love it because of the service , the grounds, and the amenities. We really feel like we on on vacation. The grandchildren love the breakfasts, (we always try to have Bee as our server - she is just great), the pools, the lazy river, and, of course, the close proximity to the parks. The adults just love the outlets! We always get a three bedroom suite so we are always close together. My grandchildren refer to Kingsmill as "their Virginia Home". We just fees so at home and made to feel very welcome and special while we are there.

Room Tip: We prefer the luxury river view condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My family and I have been guests at Kingsmill since 1985. We recently had our one hundredth stay at the resort. In the many years we have stayed there, we have always had a great experience. The staff always treats us like we are family and does all they can do to make our stay memorable. We were concerned when Xterra took over from Anheiser Busch. We were afraid that the service and comfort could only go down. We have been pleasantly surprised and grateful. The service and accommodations have gotten better and continue to improve with each stay. Ms. Carson clearly is a great leader. Xterra retained the bulk of the employees and they seem happier now than ever before. Sylvia Dulema has been our point of contact and is still creating miracles for us whenever we ask. Mr. Chopra is the newest member to the family and I have found him to be extraordinary in his professionalism and his graciousness.

Whenever I have the opportunity, I refer as many people to Kingsmill as possible. I give them Sylvia's name and number. I always receive great reviews about their trip from my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is elegant, fun, sophisticated, casual, comfortable, on the river and has a Lazy River built into the pool amenities. We stayed in a suite and it was completely satisfying with a fireplace, great views and was quiet.

Room Tip: Ask fro a river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We checked in early and they were able to get us into a room. That was nice of them. The front desk staff and housekeeping were very nice. The room we were in was in Building 4. Building 4 is nice as it is a short walk to the tennis club, pools, golf club house and main building. There is a nice shuttle that will come and pick you up and take you where you need to go on the resort. It was a nice 1 Bedroom Apartment with a great view of the water out the back sliding doors. There were some updates in the bathroom with the tile. The rest of the unit could use an update. The appliances were old and the furniture felt old and tired. We recently stayed in a Residence Inn that had more modern appliances and furniture. A renovation would do the unit well. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great night sleep. The TV's are all flat panel and work well but no HD channels so the picture was distorted. This is not our first stay and won't be our last. As stated earlier the staff is great and most that talked with were working there more then 10 years.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great property with lots to do. We sent the kids and there friends to Busch gardens on the shuttle while the adults stayed by the pool. Lots to do on the property and places to eat. I would say it was a great value for what they offer. Lots of attractions near by and a short drive to Newport News. We are thinking of traveling back this summer just to relax more.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel which are the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived on Saturday early from NJ. I had asked if we could check in early when we booked the resort. Our room was ready at 11am. The resort is beautiful, the grounds are very well kept. We decided to stay here because they had a package for both Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. We stayed in building 33 a 1 bedroom condo, plenty of room for 3 of us, it was a walk to get to the river pool and main building but you can call and someone will pick you up in a golf cart and take you where you want to go. The staff were all very friendly and everyone greeted us at all times. They run a shuttle to Busch Gardens and the water park so we saved on parking at the parks. My daughter loved the pool and lazy river, the bar is open until 6 and serve food, it was just average, not a great selection of drinks, no margaritas or daiquiris....Overall very pleased with our visit, a definite if you want to visit Colonial Williamsburg or the theme parks for the shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.