We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 Off a 2 Night Stay!
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We decided to go to Kingsmill for a night for my fiance's birthday. From check-in to check-out, we had a great experience. The staff was very friendly and the grounds are well kept. We had a wonderful meal at James Landing Grill - the Mahi-Mahi sandwich and Snapper were delicious! Our room overlooked the river, which was spectacular. We definitely plan to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    220
    65
    38
    27
See reviews for
370
161
5
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent our Spring break here with our two daughters,13 and14. The resort is very pretty and well kept. The rooms were clean but a bit small for 4. The restaurants are nice, the breakfast buffet is excellent. Great location to Bush gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.
Only complaint was with the front desk staff and that the walls in the rooms are paper thin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April during the start of spring break. We had a 2 bedroom lockout overlooking the 8th green of the River course. The room was on the top floor with a great view of the course and adjoining property. It was a suite with full kitchen and had comfy beds. The parking area seemed sufficient until Saturday night when it seemed as though everyone staying for the weekend brought every car they owned and we ended up parking about 4 buildings away from our unit. The staff seemed very inattentive and appeared more concerned with getting ready for the upcoming LPGA event than taking care of the customers that were right in front of them. We dined at James River Landing and it was the best meal and service of the weekend. This location seems more suited for families with children that want somewhere to take the kids and enjoy the available on property amenities and can do so without a lot staff guidance or interaction.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Kingsmill with our family of 5 over Easter weekend, and although the weather was a little cool we had a nice time. The resort itself is beautiful and the room we had (two bedroom suite) was large, spacious, and fully furnished. The beds were very high end and comfortable. Felt like we were staying in a nice condo.

We did a package with the Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and other "extra's" including free breakfast, use of small non-motorized boats etc. In hind sight we would not do a package again. While it seemed good at first, the only way the package works out cost wise is if you utilize 100% of all included activities to there fullest. (for example eat breakfast at the main hall everyday). Yes - as others have said the breakfast is very good, but we're just not used to eating a huge sit down buffet breakfast every morning. We would have been satisfied with coffee, juice and Danish's etc. on a couple of the days. We had a fully furnished kitchen, so this would have been easy, convenient, & saved some money. We also realized you can see 90% of Colonial Williamsburg without a ticket. Had we know this we would not have purchased tickets at approx. $40-50 each. (the tickets were included in the package cost - so no choice to not buy them once we were there and realized we didn't really need them). Bottom line we would have been further ahead purchasing what we wanted to utilize "al e cart" when we arrived and knew more about the place. Lesson learned.

We were also disappointed that none of the outdoor pools were open. We probably should have realized this, but had never been to this area in late April, so weren't exactly sure. They probably should have let us know. It looks like they are preparing to open the pools - probably by early or mid May.

This brings me to our primary concern, in agreement with several other reviews we read...the whole reservation / information system needs work, including the web site. Most "upscale" resorts will send you a confirmation letter / promotional / informational package in the mail prior to your stay - or else complete information will be available on the web site. We received nothing other than a quick confirmation email when we made the reservation. The web site was limited at best -we tried to make changes to our reservation on the web site but were not able to. It was also somewhat difficult getting additional information over the phone. Not a huge deal, just an observation. Hopefully if the resort management sees several reviews saying the same thing they will make improvements. This will not prevent us from coming here again now that we know how nice this place is, it just would have been nice to know a little more before we arrived.

Overall our experience was positive and we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked a studio & a 2 bedroom apartment in back of property. It was called a lockout & everyone enjoyed the extra space plus privacy. Had to pay extra for another bag of coffee but only complaint. Very nice property wish we could have spent more tim. Indoor pool looked great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have never written a review before..but this time I really have to...I had read reviews before on this place hoping they were wrong but was very disappointed in what I experienced. #1 We arrived early and I did not expect to be checked in before the 4pm timeframe..however by 4:30pm I went back to the front desk to find out how much longer since we wanted to wash up before dinner..they were not sure and would get back to me by calling my cell. Finally by 4:40pm they called. By the look on the womans face when I went up I believe they lost track since they called quickly after I went up. #2 Each day when I went to concierge desk to ask questions noone was there. The people at the front desk also handle the concierge desk. I met a few people in line and they had the same experieince. Very frustrating. #3 On our 1st day housekeeping only left 1 big towel in our room when we had 4 people. I had to call for 3 more towels. #4 On day #2 housekeeping totally forgot about our room. Not very happy when coming back from Busch Gardens and we all wanted to shower and no clean towels. I called and asked for towels and said you dont have to do the room at this point. After a half hour noone showed up I had to call again. That was unacceptable. Besides needing work on general Customer Service..I think they need to look at the way they have the lines formed at front desk. Everyone was confused on who was next in line because there is no lines.
On a positive note..the room size was nice, the grounds looked great. The staff in the restaurants are nice...and the people running the shuttles were very nice.
I have stayed at many places not considered a resort and had much better service though. I would definitely not recommend this place to any friends. I would be embarrassed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The facilities of Kingsmill were very nice. Lots of options and very close to Busch Gardens. We had issues with Housekeeping. There was 4 of us staying in the room. There was only 3 sets of towels in the bathroom on the day of check-in. Called housekeeping 3 times over several hours before we got them to bring enough towels. The next day, they serviced the room and only put 3 sets of towels in again. On the third day, we got in late (around 8:30 PM). They had not serviced the room at all. Beds were not made, trash in the wastebaskets, used towels still in the bathroom and of course, no new towels. Had to call them again to bring towels. Got apology after apology, but they never seemed to correct their mistakes with us. I tend to expect a whole lot more from a place that charges what they do per night in the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.