We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Kingsmill Resort for 2 nights as part of a longer vacation. The resort is very close to Busch Gardens and a quick trip to Colonial Williamsburg (a shuttle is available). The employees were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very nice and the staff very accommodating. Our room was large, had an in-room washer/dryer, the beds were large and comfortable, the view was lovely and the bathrooms were clean. My only complaint would be a few stains on the living room carpet and the vents in the ceiling needed to be cleaned. The pool area is very nice, clean and towels are provided. We ate at the casual restaurant at the sports club and enjoyed our meal. Overall, we would stay there again on a future trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Debra K,

Thank you for making us part of your vacation! We're glad you enjoyed your time here, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    202
    60
    34
    27
See reviews for
326
152
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had a two bedroom suite looking out to the James River. Very spacious room with full kitchen and large living area. The grounds are quite nice and there are multiple pools including a river pool and waterside for the kids. The hotel has an indoor pool as well and spa and fun arcade with video games, table tennis, pool, and so on. There are a number of restaurants on property, and they are fine, but the service was generally slow or uneven. But if you want to visit the Williamsburg are this is hands down the best place to stay. Busch Gardens, the watermark, and colonial Willamsburg are each just a short drive away. There is shuttle service from the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pools or with a view of the river. I would not get a ground floor room eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear TOWestonCT,

Thank you so much for choosing Kingsmill, and for your nice review of the property. We hope you choose Kingmill for your next journey to Williamsburg!

Fondly,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Although we only stayed here for a few nights, I was very pleased with our experience here. It has a prime location 5 minutes or less to busch gardens (and a starbucks!). Its actual grounds are covered in golf courses, running paths, and small cute little developments dotted here and there. The rooms we stayed in were clean and spacious with a big comfy king sized bed. The few things I can comment poorly on are the restaurant and the service could always be better. But all in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear caitygirl96,

We appreciate your compliments about Kingsmill Resort and we thank you sincerely! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team members. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward you hosting you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Monmouth, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our second visit to Kingsmill Resort and it was just as beautiful as we remembered. We stayed in a one bedroom villa on the golf course again. The resort is very accommodating as far as requests as long as what you are asking for is available. Our villa was beautiful and very comfortable. The packages available are very reasonable depending on when you go. We stayed 4 nights and had unlimited passes to Busch Gardens and Water Country as well as shuttle service back and forth. There is alot for the kids to do with 2 outdoor pools (one is a lazy river pool) and an indoor pool. A game room is also available. They also have golf carts & shuttle buses to take you anywhere on the property, just call the front desk and whithin minutes someone will be there to pick you up! We also had the breakfast package which is perfect because the breakfast is not to be believed!! Don't worry about having lunch, you will be stuffed!! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: I always ask for a top floor with a balcony facing the golf course. It is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Joyce K,

It sounds like you had a wonderful Family Getaway! Thank you for your kind review...we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Kingsmill.

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in MA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a property reminiscent of Sea Pines in Hilton Head. Condo rental units are in buildings with views of the James River, spectacular in breadth. We grabbed 3 rooms for the extended family and they turned out to be connected in the middle by a 1 BR Suite, the 2 single rooms were attached forming a 3 BR Suite - very convenient.

Pros: Brand new furniture - this past spring, rendering previous complaints moot in the unit we got (River View). The pullout had a memory foam mattress - best we've seen ever in a sofabed. Great showers, the 1 BR unit had a beautifully renovated shower. 5 dining areas, including a morning coffee shop. Handy nearby pool w/ lazy river and beach sand in one area. You are a < 10 min ride from William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg - shuttle is available. The back entrance comes out 1/2 mile from Busch Gardens. Good but not spectacular buffet breakfast.

Cons: While the beds and sofa are new, the kitchen is 2 decades old. The washer/dryer appears to have been beaten by angry golfers after a bad 18. The parking is bizarre - tight spaces with narrow slots widening out to the edge of a circle. Service is s..l..o..w... The pool shuts down if there is any sign of lightning...our first night there wasn't even lightning but it was down for the count. Shuttles to CW and BG run infrequently so you must keep an eye on your watch. Also a bit pricey for the area but on weekends, it sells out so it must not be keeping people away.

Room Tip: River views are great. Make sure they just renovated your unit if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear BixUS,

I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the location and suite layout! While we run the shuttles to Busch Gardens every hour during the summer, it is frustrating if you just miss one--we try to keep to a strict schedule to allow our guests to plan their comings and goings. Thank you for your comments; we would look forward to the opportunity to host you during your next trip to Williamsburg.

Regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at Kingsmill in late July 2013. Party of 5, including three kids. The drive in was outstanding. Grounds were nicely maintained and the main building where we checked in was fantastic. I was expecting a very upscale experience. I did the Family Fun package that included breakfast, "some" resort amenities and passes to the parks and attractions. Upon checking into our room, I was somewhat disappointed. The condition was pretty worn and appliances (more on this later) were really old. We had a nice view of the James River which my wife loved.

Two days in the washing machine gave out and water poured out all over the carpet. The same time the fridge began leaking and ruined some of the food we had in there. This was combined with a persistent ant infestation in the kitchen. We were moved into a new building which was much, much nicer. That night we were comped some money for meals, which we decided to have down at the pool. We waited over an hour for our food and watched several families just get up and leave. The last night we dined at James Landing Grill. Food was average. The draw here is the view of the river. My wife ended up getting crab meat server on her chicken (allergic to shell fish), despite our specific request that she get no fish mixed in with her meal. This was a fitting end to stay filled with mixed emotions. Most of the hourly staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating. Management needs to go back for remedial training. In the end, the offered some discounts for the inconvenience, however when it's your vacation, this is not the point.

Location is perfect. Very close to everything. Grounds and views are very nice. Lots to do, including a spa, golf and water activities (none of which we had time for). We did use the pool which was nice but got a little boring for older kids. Best advice is check your room before accepting it.

Room Tip: Look for a newer room. We stayed in building 4, which was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear William2014,

Please accept my apologies for the problems your experienced with your room and food service; it must have been extremely frustrating. I've passed your comments on to the appropriate department heads, as we benefit from the critique in our efforts to create a better product.

Sincerely,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We traveled from the UK to holiday in the US. A family of 5 (3 teenagers). After the ebst part of a week in NYC, we moved to Kingsmill via Amtrak.

The train was good for us. A long trip (perhaps 8 hours) and we were a little late but the comfort was good, interesting people and scenery. The trip from station to resort was fast (Colonial Cab Company - worth knowing). We did however arrive around 9pm.

The receptionist was fully aware of our plans and within minutes we and luggage were in our rooms (Building 13) and ordering room service.

We were due to stay until Friday but actually extended to Saturday and again this was handled really well.

Not too much evidence of families with younger children until we visited the lazy river pool. Few younger families there but very much contained to that area.

The main pools (indoor and outside) were our stamping ground really and because the weather was fantastic (30+ degrees although high humidity) we spent a lot of time there. Free towels and a small bar. A minor criticism might be that the bar times were erratic and unlike the lazy river pool, a bit limited.

We made full use of the gym and the staff there (and patrons) were friendly and engaging. The boys made use of the games room which was well equipped and cool.

The spa is also well appointed. Not really our thing although I did have a great massage which cured a sore back - thanks Eileen.

There is a main restaurant which we didn't try. Some days it was busy with a golf tournament and others we went elsewhere - see below.

The pizza/pasta place was very nice. Good service, reasonable selection, average prices. I did have scallops there which were fabulous.

Our usual haunt for lunch was The Mill, over by the tennis club. Really friendly place and a good selection of sandwiches and light meals. Really good ice cream (Graham Central Station).

Dinner other wise was in our room or two meals at the Marina Grille (is there really an "e" in that word?).

Tables overlooking the marina also get the benefit of the sunset behind the resident music provider. This restaurant is obviously popular with those not staying on site and as such booking is recommended. The food here is really good and reasonable. the wine list is a little limited though. the addition of some New World wines (and less chardonnay) would be welcome.

We also hired jetski's one morning. This was real fun and once you have the inevitable instruction (5 minutes) you're free to do as you wish although supervised by a safety boat. The kids had a great time on these.

the staff move around in golf buggies. They always stopped to ask if you needed a lift anywhere. In those temperatures I can understand that although we prefer to walk.

The rooms were always tidy, clean and well stocked. the only occasion on which a slight mistake was made, one call sorted it out very quickly.

This was our second experience of a US resort (the other being in Utah) and again we were impressed and very happy about the levels of courtesy and attention. One of our favourite gripes is rude people and I can honestly say we never met a one in Kingsmill.

We don't play golf and were a bit worried about whether the whole place would be so geared to that sport that the rest suffered. Pleased to report this was entirely unfounded.

For us the right mixture of activity and doing nothing. Really nice people, good variety in food and activity and - importantly - staff who knew when to leave you alone and when you wanted some help.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this resort.

Room Tip: Building 13 has river views and is close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear webberg,

Thank you for choosing Kingsmill during your vacation to the States! It sounds like a wonderful holiday, and we greatly appreciate your kind words about our resort and staff. We hope to host you and your family during your next trip to the east coast.

Best,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.