We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had always heard good things about Kingsmill, but always opted for a cheaper place, since this was an anniversary trip we upgraded a little. The resort is very nice, beautifully kept grounds and plenty of golf courses (even though we don't golf, they were nice to look at). Due to our busy schedule, we really didn't stay in our room too much, but it was very nice. We got a one bedroom king suite, I thought it would have been in the main building but it wasn't. It was in building 33, which I guess is a time share or rental that no one was using. We entered into a large great room with a 6 person dining set, full sized sofa and tv and a small kitchen (fully stocked with dinnerware), with a balcony overlooking the woods and farther out a pond. The bedroom was off to one side with a nice sized bathroom. The bed was extraordinary, very luxurious with lots of down bedding and pillows!!! Overall the place is very nice, and I would recommend it! I do wish that we had a little more time to take part in more of the resort features. Also worthy of mention is the free shuttle to Busch Gardens and Water Country, but they run on a timed schedule so be ready to alter your plans to catch the bus back. The staff was very friendly and there were plenty of golf carts and shuttles available for those that needed a ride within the resort.

Room Tip: The parking for the buildings is better than the parking for the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    221
    67
    38
    27
See reviews for
373
165
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Highly recommend Kingsmill Resort for a long weekend away from work. It's close to DC or Baltimore, with lots to do and none of the activities require getting in the car! So glad we found this spot--golf, tennis, sailing, biking, Busch Gardens, and great food. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. Exceptionally clean rooms and wonderfully friendly staff. Kitchen had everything we needed. Pool and fitness center were great. Prices seem high in golf season, but got a great rate in December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A large group of us stayed at the Kingsmill Resort for the LPGA Championship. We have all been coming every year for a long time. It is clearly our favorite weekend of the year. The river suites are so quiet and peaceful. Each suite has a large living room, a fully equipped kitchen, a large bedroom and a beautiful bathroom. The bathroom shower is so nicely done that I re-did one of my showers to look like it. This is a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very nice place to stay...Staff is very helpful and pleasant... Places to eat and golf, tennis courts
Family friendly and they have transportation to take you to the nearby attractions.
We stayed in a suite with 2 children...grandkids...

Room Tip: worth getting a suite if you like extra room or have the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's so fun to come to Kingsmill for the LPGA Kingsmill Championship. Not only do we get to see some great golf, we get to stay in a wonderful resort. Couldn't be better. The staff is awesome and very friendly. We love the breakfast buffet and went for that every morning.

Room Tip: If you are there for the LPGA golf tournament ask for a room on the 9th fairway. Perfect location! O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I took my wife, son, and daughter-in-law to Kingsmill for the LPGA Kingsmill Open. My wife and I have been attending for several years, but this was my son and his wife's first experience at Kingsmill and a professional golf event. They were thrilled with the resort, the amenities, and the golf.
Thought the resort has several resturants, we did not eat at the resort. But, we had several great meals at good prices just outside the gates. (We only left the resort because I could not get reservations in the resort dining rooms due to the tournament. That's my fault for waiting too late to call.)
We had a two-bedroom suite facing the James River. We gave my son and his wife the bedroom facing the river with a private balcony; they almost didn't want to leave the room. The bedrooms were large, clean and very-well furnished. The beds were large and extremely comfortable. My wife now wants to find the same bedding for our house. The bathrooms matched the bedroms in their roominess and detailed appointments.
The spa was a 30 second walk from our room, though we didn't get an opportunity to use it (the agenda was already packed.) We are already looking forward to our next trip to Kingsmill in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Splurg and get a river view room; you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.