We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate SUMMER Fun
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for William & Mary graduation weekend with family. Very nice resort. EXCEPTIONALLY friendly staff. The rooms were very clean and cozy. They did not have that utilitarian, "just for the boys" vibe that some golf resorts have. The beds were very comfortable for sleeping with nice plush bedding. The Bray restaurant was very good for breakfast with prompt seating and attentive staff. Because we were busy with graduation activities we were not able to truly experience all the resort had to offer. My husband spoke very highly of the limited golf time he was able to play. My siblings, who were also staying here, have all suggested that we plan another family visit--a "mini-reunion" of sorts so that we can enjoy a stay here again. The location is very close to W & M campus ( appx 10 minutes) without being smack dab in the middle of college town. The keynote speaker for the graduation who was some big level muckety-muck from D.C. with security stayed at the resort while we were there and the staff made us feel as if we were as special as he. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia-Kingsmill, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear BabyDoc1968,

We're so happy to hear about your pleasant stay! Thanks for the kind words--the staff reads all our reviews, and are always grateful when their hard work is noticed. We hope you choose to come back soon!

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    254
    82
    44
    31
See reviews for
421
203
5
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

There is plenty of room in the spacious condos, we chose a two bedroom and were very pleased. This resort is huge and offers everything. This is a great value. It's very clean and has comfortable bedding, you can't miss with this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear PipeCleaner,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kingsmill, and were able to make use of the spacious suite and all our amenities. Thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort -- we hope to host you again in the future!

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great water front room. The aromatherapy massage completed a wonderful weekend! The staff was friendly and most attentive. My room was on the corner on the first floor, it was actually very peaceful, the only noise in the morning was caused by the native birds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the James.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear WSoninha,

We appreciate your kind words about Kingsmill Resort and we thank you sincerely! We are happy that you enjoyed your room, view and massage -- it sounds like a wonderful weekend! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward you hosting you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I attended a conference recently at Kingsmill. The staff was amazing! The food was creatively displayed at our events and very good. The staff was very attentive and everything seemed to be very well organized.

Due to the golf event happening at the same time, the resort was probably fully booked. I have stayed at Kingsmill twice, the first time having to leave my room around 2 am due to a late arrivals next to me who had above a reasonable limit of alcohol to drink and were having people over for an all night party. This time, it was not as loud, but I could hear the couple in the next room talking until about 1 am and I won't say what I heard from the room above me, since it would be X-rated. The walls are obviously paper thin, so be prepared for this when you stay there. Since I was there for business both times and not having an all night party, it made for exhausting days at the conference with very little sleep.

The rooms were nicely appointed, but I am ranking them poor for the inability to sleep due to the noise problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that will not have people booked next to it if you want to have a quiet night. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Cassie2915,

Thank you for your praise of our staff and food--I'll be sure to pass on the kudos. I'm disappointed to hear about your unpleasant experience once in your room. It was indeed a busy weekend here at the Resort, and I apologize that our attempt to move you to a more quiet location wasn't successful. If you choose to return to Kingsmill, we will do our best to ensure your next stay is restful and enjoyable.

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location is superb, but our one bedroom suite was on the second floor and every step of the guests above us, as well as anyone coming or going on the stairs made our three night stay less than stellar. The service in the restaurants both the Bray dining room, James River Marina, and the Clubhouse were not attentive or what I would expect for a resort commanding the per night prices they do. I'll admit I think that any local hotel would outrank this one for the noise level between the floors. Would I return, yes but I would ask to be on the top floor. Not fun to hear the neighbors every footfall in the evening or as they prepare to leave in the morning at 5 am. I wanted a restful weekend but had noise, showers, and noise.

And seriously...leaving me sitting without any drink for 5 minutes at any restaurant is wrong! Come on people, get it right. They do put on a stellar golf tournament for the LPGA. Abbé they should have the helpful event volunteers on staff.

I want to come back, but in a different room, and would plan my meals off-resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor with no one above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear ThisisiT74,

Please accept my apologies for the noise and poor service you experienced during your visit during the golf tournament. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments in our efforts to constantly improve our services. We do our best to remedy our guest concerns during their stay, and move guests when possible if their room does not meet their expectations. I am pleased to read that you plan to return to Kingsmill, and we will do our best to ensure your next stay is restful and enjoyable.

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had an opportunity this week to play golf in a special event at the Kingsmill Resort. What a wonderful golf course. Brand new Titleist rental clubs, plush emerald fairways, challenging but fair greens and a most enjoyable day all around - even with less than desirable weather conditions. My hats off to the golf staff for a job well done.

However, my hotel experience was not as terrific. Not bad, but ...... For example, the Concierge was not on duty either evening that we were there, especially when looking for dinner recommendations. The front desk staff was pleasant but a bit overwhelmed with phone calls, doing the concierge's job, giving directions, oh - and checking people in. My room? It was fine and the amenities were ok. But there were constantly big flies in my room. I killed three, there were more in the sliding glass door track and the housekeeper missed them all. I'll let mgmt know about the above but the flies were a big turn-off. I liked this place and would come back but would request a different room and housekeeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We appreciate your compliments about Kingsmill Resort's golf facilities and we thank you sincerely! I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our golf team members.

I apologize for the room condition--our Executive Housekeeper has seen your comments, and will take appropriate action. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward you hosting you in the future.

Best Regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort in April and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the king size deluxe room, the bed was very comfortable and the veiw of the James River was breath taking. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful especially there is one very friendly young lady (Africa America) she really makes you feel welcome I wish I could remember her name. We plan to go agin soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with the James River view are breath taking - sitting on the patio/balcony looking out at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia R, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Jan M -- thank you for your kind words about Kingsmill Resort! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our team members, particularly those at the front desk. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward you hosting you in the future.

Best regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.