We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable ladies 3-days get-away weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Unlimited Golf-Save $600
Ranked #12 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable ladies 3-days get-away weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We recently went for ladies 3-days get-away weekend and Kingsmill VA accommodations and services were according with the 4 star standards. We took advantage of the suite fire place and the always available shuttle service since we got rainy weather conditions, which was perfect for our SPA and dinners plans. Saturday, we grabbed light lunch at Eagles before visiting Christmas Town (inside Busch Garden). We enjoyed Sunday brunch buffet at Bray Dining Room, everything was delicious including the superb coffee they offered, before spending the rest of the day at the SPA. We all got different services done and we were all pleased with them (pedicures, massages, scrubs).
We had dinner at James Landing Grille, we took advantage of the wine and appetizers Happy Hour specials and then treated ourselves with an amazing main course dinner. We shopped at Kingsmills shops as well as Merchants Square stores. On a side note, I forgot my prescription glasses in our suite. When I called, it was no problem for them to FedEx them right away. They came well packed! It was an unforgettable weekend! We had such a great time we may want to do this on a yearly basis and include more family members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SplendorMD,

“Unforgettable ladies 3-days get-away weekend” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, spa, and resort facilities. I was also happy to hear that our lost and found division was able to FedEx your glasses that was left in your suite. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you and the ladies again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    228
    68
    39
    27
See reviews for
383
167
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent two days including Christmas Eve, what a pleasant get away and only an hour up the road from Va Beach. We have always wanted to go to Christmastown at Busch Gardens and Kingsmill offers shuttle service to the park which we opted not to do but wished we had because Sunday night was packed. When we got our tired selves back to the suite we called for a fire to be made and within minutes a nice cheerful young fellow was there along with housekeeping for a few more coffee k-cups. Next day off to Williamsburg Winery and a little lunch with a tour and tasting. Christmas Eve we had early reservations at the James Landing Grill and eveyones dinner was delicious...filet, tuna, pork ribs and a veggie pasta. They also have a good and reasonable wine list. We enjoyed the fire so much the night before we called and got the same great service then relaxed in the large living area with Miracle on 34th St to bring in Christmas.

The suite we had was very comfortable, the bathroom products were upscale and loved the tall pedestal sink. We will definitely stay again. My only negative is you can hear people walking around up above you and especially excited children running around knowing Santa is on his way.

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 17, it has a good view of the river and the spacious grounds, If your staying in a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Shoregirls,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Holiday’s with us at Kingsmill Resort. We are happy to hear that we were able to provide you and your family a cozy and warm environment during your stay. Our wood burning fireplace is one of the unique features in our suites that we offer and sets the mood for that at “home” feeling. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year and hopefully to start a new family tradition.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Its just a very relaxing spa feel and cozy feel throughout. Colonial williamsburg is a short trip there, complete with areas of old time war reenactments and reastaurants, shops and streets to match the times. So much to do you need more time then 1 wk trip. Dont forget to go to busch gardens or water country my kids favorite. Shop to you drop at all the outlets and local sshops near by while the guys relax or golf MY friends best thing to do. I enjoy the pool, spa and just relaxing!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Renee A,

Thank you for your kind comments about Kingsmill Resort, it truly is a beautiful and relaxing resort for a getaway with friends, family, or both! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

An extended family get together over Thanksgiving was enhanced by the Kingsmill Resort and its attentive staff. We occupied three 3- bedroom units in buildings 23 and 25. Check-in was quick and efficient, the rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff unbelievable. It seemed anything was a phone call away, ie shuttle service, fire starting, great suggestions. We availed ourselves of the golf course, fitness center, playground, indoor pool, spa/salon, restaurant/bar and the grounds in general. Views of the James River were tranquil and awesome. With Williamsburg at the front and side entrances, this is simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear DonQuix,

“Simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kingsmill Resort for a weekend while visiting family. The resort grounds are beautifully manicured and our suite was lovely, complete with a woodburning fireplace. This is a very up-scale resort with friendly staff and several dining options available to guests. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the main dining room overlooking the James River. The food was delicious and the view was amazing in the early morning. We also enjoyed a superb dinner at the James Landing Grille which is also located on the waterfront at the Marina. The location is close to Colonial Williamsburg and other historical sites. We had a short stay so we didn't get to try out the many ammenities offered but we loved it and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear roseGA12,

It is great to hear your experience at Kingsmill Resort was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our facilities and our restaurants, specifically The James Landing Grill. We are very proud of our new water front restaurant that we opened up last year. We appreciate your kind comments as your feedback is extremely important to us, because without it, we cannot continue to improve our services. Hope to see you and your family soon!


Warm Regards,
L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was here just one night to speak at a conference, so cannot say anything about the golf, tennis, spa, or other amenities of this elegant and well-maintained resort. It is 2 miles inside an upscale wooded residential area off US 60 and located on the bank of the James River, a few miles outside Williamsburg and close to a number of amusement parks and historic sites. There is shuttle service, although I did not use it. The Democratic Congressional National Caucus met here a few years ago, so you can imagine that it is a large and stately place that could hold such a prestigious event. Hotel rooms are located in a series of modern buildings stretching along the golf course and waterfront, so there is a short drive from check-in to your room. This is not convenient if you are attending a conference or on a business trip. The room was nice, but built for rest more than work. The desk chair was too low and there was not adequate desk lighting for work, although wifi was fine. The shower was easy to use, but a small, water-saver nozzle made it less than ideal. The buffet breakfast for $17 was fairly typical of a hotel buffet with made-to-order omlettes and the usual selection of breakfast fare. This place seems fine as a resort, but I would pass on it for a business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Cvillediner,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Currently we are undergoing a soft goods renovation in our guest rooms, we will be changing our desk chairs that will be more comfortable and able to adjust to any height that you need. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner with Family. Amazing buffet with all the traditional comfort foods + more to please even the sophisticated palate. Our waterfront suite, w/balcony overlooking the James River was outstanding. The fireplace just topped it off every evening. Crackling, cozy fire as we prepared dinner in our own fully equipped kitchen. Really comfy home away from home :-). All of the staff were professional, friendly, gracious & kind!!!
We're thinking Christmas...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Clearbrook6,

“Perfect Thanksgiving Getaway” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us on such a special occasion. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.