We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Williamsburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 Off a 2 Night Stay!
Ranked #13 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Richmond, VA USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Williamsburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

An extended family get together over Thanksgiving was enhanced by the Kingsmill Resort and its attentive staff. We occupied three 3- bedroom units in buildings 23 and 25. Check-in was quick and efficient, the rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff unbelievable. It seemed anything was a phone call away, ie shuttle service, fire starting, great suggestions. We availed ourselves of the golf course, fitness center, playground, indoor pool, spa/salon, restaurant/bar and the grounds in general. Views of the James River were tranquil and awesome. With Williamsburg at the front and side entrances, this is simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear DonQuix,

“Simply a wonderful place to relax and enjoy” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a positive experience with our facilities, accommodations, and our Restaurants. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    218
    65
    38
    27
See reviews for
363
159
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kingsmill Resort for a weekend while visiting family. The resort grounds are beautifully manicured and our suite was lovely, complete with a woodburning fireplace. This is a very up-scale resort with friendly staff and several dining options available to guests. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the main dining room overlooking the James River. The food was delicious and the view was amazing in the early morning. We also enjoyed a superb dinner at the James Landing Grille which is also located on the waterfront at the Marina. The location is close to Colonial Williamsburg and other historical sites. We had a short stay so we didn't get to try out the many ammenities offered but we loved it and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear roseGA12,

It is great to hear your experience at Kingsmill Resort was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our facilities and our restaurants, specifically The James Landing Grill. We are very proud of our new water front restaurant that we opened up last year. We appreciate your kind comments as your feedback is extremely important to us, because without it, we cannot continue to improve our services. Hope to see you and your family soon!


Warm Regards,
L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was here just one night to speak at a conference, so cannot say anything about the golf, tennis, spa, or other amenities of this elegant and well-maintained resort. It is 2 miles inside an upscale wooded residential area off US 60 and located on the bank of the James River, a few miles outside Williamsburg and close to a number of amusement parks and historic sites. There is shuttle service, although I did not use it. The Democratic Congressional National Caucus met here a few years ago, so you can imagine that it is a large and stately place that could hold such a prestigious event. Hotel rooms are located in a series of modern buildings stretching along the golf course and waterfront, so there is a short drive from check-in to your room. This is not convenient if you are attending a conference or on a business trip. The room was nice, but built for rest more than work. The desk chair was too low and there was not adequate desk lighting for work, although wifi was fine. The shower was easy to use, but a small, water-saver nozzle made it less than ideal. The buffet breakfast for $17 was fairly typical of a hotel buffet with made-to-order omlettes and the usual selection of breakfast fare. This place seems fine as a resort, but I would pass on it for a business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Cvillediner,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Currently we are undergoing a soft goods renovation in our guest rooms, we will be changing our desk chairs that will be more comfortable and able to adjust to any height that you need. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner with Family. Amazing buffet with all the traditional comfort foods + more to please even the sophisticated palate. Our waterfront suite, w/balcony overlooking the James River was outstanding. The fireplace just topped it off every evening. Crackling, cozy fire as we prepared dinner in our own fully equipped kitchen. Really comfy home away from home :-). All of the staff were professional, friendly, gracious & kind!!!
We're thinking Christmas...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Clearbrook6,

“Perfect Thanksgiving Getaway” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us on such a special occasion. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice resort with wonderful golf courses and tennis courts. There is an outdoor water park under construction so that will be an excellent addition for the kids. We love eating at Regatta's. Our kids lovee sitting at the pizza oven and making their own pizza. We used to enjoy eating at the Marina but they were under construction during our recent stay. We have been going to the Kingsmill for over 10 years. We enjoy stopping there for a 2 to 3 day stay on our way to the Outer Banks. Busch Gardens is literally right outside the resort. Unfortunately, we have noticed that the resort is starting to show some wear and lacks the same upscale customer service it once had. The kitchens in the suites are dated along with the living room decor. It looks as though no one is maintaining the outside of the units. There is always trash,trays and cobwebs everywhere. I wouldn't let the negatives deter you. The Kingsmill is still a nice resort and worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Lov2travv,

Our sincerest apologies for your experience, we completed the construction for the Pool Complex and the James Landing Grill is now open for business. Next year we will begin our soft goods upgrade and make minor changes and updates in our guest rooms. As a return guest, your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we cannot continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I highly recommend Kingsmill! We had a three bedroom suite with a sofabed in the living room, two kings, and one room with two beds. There was a SLIGHT musty odor in ONE of the rooms (but I may have been extra sensitive to smell because a few others didn't notice). We loved the outdoor patios attached to two of the rooms with a nice view. I wish the grass was better maintained and that spiderwebs were removed from the side of the patio occasionally.

The kitchen was perfect and we would have put great use to it had we stayed more than two nights.

Service in the room was wonderful. One of our rooms wasn't cleaned because a person in our group was napping when they came by but he really wanted it cleaned after dinner and they came around 9 PM! (I wasn't thrilled that they had to come that late, but apparently they were there cleaning other suites around the same time and just were re-routed. Anyways, to management, your night cleaning staff is wonderful and very nice).

We also went paddle boating. Not an amazing view but it was fun and relaxing for a little bit. We did see some deers near some of the rooms on the top of hills.

I wish I could comment on food but we didn't eat.

We loved the pool area (one really beautiful indoor one and another outdoor). They had a good gym and activity center for basketball set-up as well. I'd suggest people come here if they are not looking to explore Williamsburg but just want a pleasant getaway not too far from NJ/NY/CT etc.

Our whole family, all different ages, LOVED it and commented on the comfort of the beds and the spaciousness of the suite. Don't expect a bargain with this place since it is a bit on the pricy side but the crowd is a good, clean family crowd.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SheikhaNadia,

It is great to hear your experience at Kingsmill Resort was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our spacious suites. I do apologize for your room not being serviced that day however I was happy to hear that our night time housekeepers were able to leave a good impression. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon! Be sure to check our website periodically for promotions.


Warm Regards,
L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about my visit to Kings Mill was amazing! The staff was so friendly and helpful and the property itself is beautiful and very well maintained! I was in a wedding over the weekend, so we worked very closely with Allison Patterson, what a joy it was to have her coordinate the wedding. She is so sweet and always there to help and get things done. Without her this wedding would have been chaos! Allison was suburb and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to have a wedding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear B_rian1982_12,

”Everything about my visit to Kings Mill was amazing! The staff was so friendly and helpful and the property itself is beautiful and very well maintained!” are great compliments and we thank you sincerely! We are happy that you enjoyed our Spa, Golf, and Accommodations during your stay. We also thank you for your kind comments about Allison, she truly is an asset to Kingsmill and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.