We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick business stay at an elegant resort hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
charlottesville
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quick business stay at an elegant resort hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was here just one night to speak at a conference, so cannot say anything about the golf, tennis, spa, or other amenities of this elegant and well-maintained resort. It is 2 miles inside an upscale wooded residential area off US 60 and located on the bank of the James River, a few miles outside Williamsburg and close to a number of amusement parks and historic sites. There is shuttle service, although I did not use it. The Democratic Congressional National Caucus met here a few years ago, so you can imagine that it is a large and stately place that could hold such a prestigious event. Hotel rooms are located in a series of modern buildings stretching along the golf course and waterfront, so there is a short drive from check-in to your room. This is not convenient if you are attending a conference or on a business trip. The room was nice, but built for rest more than work. The desk chair was too low and there was not adequate desk lighting for work, although wifi was fine. The shower was easy to use, but a small, water-saver nozzle made it less than ideal. The buffet breakfast for $17 was fairly typical of a hotel buffet with made-to-order omlettes and the usual selection of breakfast fare. This place seems fine as a resort, but I would pass on it for a business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Cvillediner,

We thank you for choosing Kingsmill Resort on your recent visit to Williamsburg, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Currently we are undergoing a soft goods renovation in our guest rooms, we will be changing our desk chairs that will be more comfortable and able to adjust to any height that you need. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    244
    75
    43
    28
See reviews for
410
191
5
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner with Family. Amazing buffet with all the traditional comfort foods + more to please even the sophisticated palate. Our waterfront suite, w/balcony overlooking the James River was outstanding. The fireplace just topped it off every evening. Crackling, cozy fire as we prepared dinner in our own fully equipped kitchen. Really comfy home away from home :-). All of the staff were professional, friendly, gracious & kind!!!
We're thinking Christmas...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Clearbrook6,

“Perfect Thanksgiving Getaway” is a great compliment to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us on such a special occasion. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice resort with wonderful golf courses and tennis courts. There is an outdoor water park under construction so that will be an excellent addition for the kids. We love eating at Regatta's. Our kids lovee sitting at the pizza oven and making their own pizza. We used to enjoy eating at the Marina but they were under construction during our recent stay. We have been going to the Kingsmill for over 10 years. We enjoy stopping there for a 2 to 3 day stay on our way to the Outer Banks. Busch Gardens is literally right outside the resort. Unfortunately, we have noticed that the resort is starting to show some wear and lacks the same upscale customer service it once had. The kitchens in the suites are dated along with the living room decor. It looks as though no one is maintaining the outside of the units. There is always trash,trays and cobwebs everywhere. I wouldn't let the negatives deter you. The Kingsmill is still a nice resort and worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Lov2travv,

Our sincerest apologies for your experience, we completed the construction for the Pool Complex and the James Landing Grill is now open for business. Next year we will begin our soft goods upgrade and make minor changes and updates in our guest rooms. As a return guest, your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we cannot continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I highly recommend Kingsmill! We had a three bedroom suite with a sofabed in the living room, two kings, and one room with two beds. There was a SLIGHT musty odor in ONE of the rooms (but I may have been extra sensitive to smell because a few others didn't notice). We loved the outdoor patios attached to two of the rooms with a nice view. I wish the grass was better maintained and that spiderwebs were removed from the side of the patio occasionally.

The kitchen was perfect and we would have put great use to it had we stayed more than two nights.

Service in the room was wonderful. One of our rooms wasn't cleaned because a person in our group was napping when they came by but he really wanted it cleaned after dinner and they came around 9 PM! (I wasn't thrilled that they had to come that late, but apparently they were there cleaning other suites around the same time and just were re-routed. Anyways, to management, your night cleaning staff is wonderful and very nice).

We also went paddle boating. Not an amazing view but it was fun and relaxing for a little bit. We did see some deers near some of the rooms on the top of hills.

I wish I could comment on food but we didn't eat.

We loved the pool area (one really beautiful indoor one and another outdoor). They had a good gym and activity center for basketball set-up as well. I'd suggest people come here if they are not looking to explore Williamsburg but just want a pleasant getaway not too far from NJ/NY/CT etc.

Our whole family, all different ages, LOVED it and commented on the comfort of the beds and the spaciousness of the suite. Don't expect a bargain with this place since it is a bit on the pricy side but the crowd is a good, clean family crowd.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear SheikhaNadia,

It is great to hear your experience at Kingsmill Resort was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our spacious suites. I do apologize for your room not being serviced that day however I was happy to hear that our night time housekeepers were able to leave a good impression. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon! Be sure to check our website periodically for promotions.


Warm Regards,
L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything about my visit to Kings Mill was amazing! The staff was so friendly and helpful and the property itself is beautiful and very well maintained! I was in a wedding over the weekend, so we worked very closely with Allison Patterson, what a joy it was to have her coordinate the wedding. She is so sweet and always there to help and get things done. Without her this wedding would have been chaos! Allison was suburb and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to have a wedding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear B_rian1982_12,

”Everything about my visit to Kings Mill was amazing! The staff was so friendly and helpful and the property itself is beautiful and very well maintained!” are great compliments and we thank you sincerely! We are happy that you enjoyed our Spa, Golf, and Accommodations during your stay. We also thank you for your kind comments about Allison, she truly is an asset to Kingsmill and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was awesome. Our rooms were on the golf course but next time I will get something closer to the green. We stayed two nights and even though the place had the old look the rooms were updated nicely.
The mattress had a mattress cover on it, which I wish more motels/hotels would do. Rooms were very clean also.
The restaurants we went to on the property were great.
I would recommend this place to anyone.
It is a bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion.
The golf course was in excellent condition also.
Our breakfast was also included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear GrandmaNorthCarolina,

“This place was Awesome” are great compliments to Kingsmill Resort and our team members. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again next year.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Golf course members do not make you feel welcome. They are very rude and aggressive towards children playing golf. Take your family elsewhere. Pro shop and restaurants were excellent, however the retirees working the carts were as rude as the members to children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAbraham, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear N G,

Our sincerest apologies for your experience with our Golf operations. I was able to review your feedback regarding the lack of service that you experienced with some of our team members and I will be sure to address this with my Director of Golf. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and the employees at the Golf Pro-Shop. As a resort guest, your feedback is extremely important to us, because with out it, we cannot continue to improve our services.

Warm Regards,

L. Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.