We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Save Saved
You added Kingsmill Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call us for Best Rates!
Ranked #14 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lots to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I went for a girls golf weekend and stayed in a 2 bedroom condo on the River Course. It was clean and spacious. There are is so much to do... outdoor pools, indoor pools, workout facilities, tennis and golf to name a few. Historic Williamsburg is a short drive away with shuttle service during the day. We played the River course which lives up to the hype. It is beautiful and challenging. There is a new restaurant on the water there called the James Landing Grille. Casual dining with a large bar area, TVs and outdoor seating (although it was not available as it was raining). The menu is primarily seafood and very good. The wine list is reasonable and the staff is very friendly. I am definitely planning a return trip with my family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    217
    65
    38
    27
See reviews for
354
159
5
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a special golf outing and family reunion and Kingsmill staff and facilities made it an outstading one. My dad, an avid golfer, will be 80 soon and this was the first time that he had had his three sons on a course together. I believe this ranked right up there with him meeting Arnold Palmer at the Masters. My thanks to everyone who made this stay special.

Room Tip: The James river view is amazing so if you have a chance get a room that faces it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom suite, it's just like a condo set-up. It was quiet & clean, plenty of space. The coffee/ice cream shop is very good. We were able to go jet skiing right on the property. The tennis center was able to set-up a match partner for my husband. The breakfast buffet was amazing, especially the pastries and the scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I believe that this resort is more for families and the younger generation. When we went, there were lots of families with children (we have 3 grown and 5 grandchildren so we DO LOVE children:) We had two flights of outside stairs to climb and come bed time, the beds were very uncomfortable. We slept in separate beds and there was a big sag in the middle of both of the mattresses. The mattresses looked very comfortable with the duvet on top, however, as they say, "looks can be deceiving." The resort really should invest in some new mattresses for the rooms that need it. I was quite uncomfortable and tossed and turned much of the night...or should I say nights. One nice thing was the view of the river from our room and the room was clean.

Lynn Stephens
Lynchburg, VA

Room Tip: Book a room with no one above or below you if they have that type of room... if noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I attended a Industry Conference and stayed from 24 th to 28th Sep 2012 at Kingsmill. The view from room was fabulous and friendly deer visited my backyard few times in the evening.
Great staff, great food and very reasonable price. Went on a York River two hour cruise.
Only complain is the loud footsteps from upstairs in the night.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I attended an industry event here and my wife accompanied me; we both were very pleased. Great for relaxation, staff very courteous and helpful, plenty of good quality on site amenities and the food was very good. Very convenient for side trips to Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown. Challenging golf, Bermuda grass rough was tough!

Room Tip: Rooms in certain buildings provide excellent views of the James River. Other buildings provide woode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I went for a last minute getaway for Labor day weekend and were very pleased. There are three restaurants - one at the club house, one on the water which you have to go early as it gets booked up, and a pizza/Italian restaurant. The restaurant at the club house was just ok but the food at the pizza restaurant was outstanding. They also just opened up a new pool on the river with a great outdoor bar, water slide, and lazy river!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.