We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Warm Welcoming Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Warm Welcoming Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a great time vacationing at the Historic Williamsburg Resort.

The staff at the resort gave me and my family a wonderful experience; I like to thank Tony, Brenda, Ivy, Angela, Joanne, and Divine for their sincere services. An Itailian style dinner gathering was given to all the owners on the day of my birthday. There was a "DJ" who gave me a nice "shout out" for my birthday and who was also very awsome! I had a "ball" and it became the highlight of my stay;what a memorable vacation stay!

Room Tip: My room was close to the exit door where I found to be connvenient to get to the parking areas; howe...
See more room tips
Green Features: You are always warmly greeted by someone when entering the lobby area and even other areas of the hotel. There is an atmoshphere of easily being able to get assistance.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our staff strives to provide the best experience for our guests and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us. I will pass your kind words on to our staff. Once again thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to hosting your next Birthday bash with us.

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    75
    37
    18
    32
See reviews for
111
93
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked it through Kayak for a standard two queen bed room and were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, with kitchenette for the same price. Amenities were great and in good condition, pool, fitness room, game room. We agreed to listen to the time share pitch for free tickets to Williamsburg and Jamestown. The pitch went longer than we were told, and they were not taking no for an answer very well. Overall though a pleasant experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are honored you chose to stay with us! We are happy to hear you had a great time! As you experienced out resort offers so many amenities from our sparkling pools to our fitness center. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced as a result of attending one of our timeshare presentations and are sorry that this distracted you from your family vacation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back very soon!

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

But after my trip to the Westgate, I have a change of heart. The resort's accommodations were nothing short of spectacular. I brought my 2 younger children, my Mother, a brother, and my partner and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. All six of us were very comfortable.

First: Bedrooms. The beds are not your cheap, uncomfortable beds; rather beds with extra-thick mattresses, tons of fluffy pillows, and crisp, clean sheets. King size bed in the master; 2 twins in the 2nd bedroom. The pull-out bed in the living room is grossly uncomfortable for adults, but adequate for younger children. That mattress was about 6 inches deep with very little support.

The furnishings were very nice. Each bedroom has its own TV (tube tvs though!) with a large closet and drawers.

Next: Bathrooms. There were two full bathrooms. The master's bath was very nice. Jacuzzi tub with a separate shower (with enough room for 2). Tons of space and a separate toilet room.

The 2nd bathroom was smaller, but still had a Jacuzzi tub. Never had any issues with a lack of hot water.

The suite also had a small washer and dryer. The dryer is not great. Because it is not vented, don't expect to dry towels with one cycle. It's okay for lighter clothes, i.e., t-shirts, and other cottons.

Kitchen: Kitchen was small but complete. Refrigerator with ice maker, stove and oven, dishwasher, and microwave. There was also enough dishes and silverware for full meals. The resort also provided dish detergent for the dishwasher. And there was also a wine opener in the utensil drawer.

Living room. Just a sofa a wing chair. There's also an electric fire place and a flat screen tv.

Overall the suite is tastefully decorated with higher-end materials. Nice carpets, granite counter tops, tiled bathrooms, frameless glass shower door, pergo-type flooring, and crown molding.

And it's worth mentioning, this is a resort with time shares. HOWEVER, I was never asked or solicited by anyone to sit through a presentation or anything. They do straighten up your suite, replace towels, make the beds, and dump the garbage. They even loaded the dishwasher!

We are looking forward to making this trip and annual family tradition.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time with us. We love that your family enjoyed the villa and the comfy beds along with the full kitchen. Thank you again for your review as we love hearing kind words such as yours. We look forward to hosting your vacation again soon.

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed overnight for our anniversary. We were upgraded to the two bedroom suite and it was gorgeous. I never wanted to leave the jacuzzi tub it was so relaxing. Staff was friendly, room was clean and large. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We love to hear back from our guests on their experiences. We are happy that we could be part of your anniversary! We are thrilled that you will be returning and look forward to your next stay with us.

ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Pros: The front desk and concierge staff are outstanding, going out of their way to answer questions or help in any way they can. The facility was clean, and numerous activities are offered. It is an easy drive to Williamsburg attractions. Parking is free.

The Cons: The one-bedroom units have a strange layout. The whirlpool tub with a large open space above it is between the bedroom and the bathroom, allowing for no privacy in the shower and sink areas, but there is a separate water closet. There is a breakfast bar to be used for eating but no dining table. There is also an additional charge for Wifi unless you are a Westgate owner. The bed was very comfortable, but we were awakened one morning by continuously slamming doors that appeared to be caused by the housekeeping staff and two other mornings by a screaming child in the room next to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us. We love to hear that our staff was there to answer all your questions and enhance your stay. We offer the perfect spot to enjoy the fantastic attractions of the area. We our sorry to hear about some inconveniences that you did experienced with your stay. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future!

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I liked this hotel a lot. It was close to lots of restaurants (it did not have a restaurant on the premises).Rooms were clean and serviced everyday. Staff were most attentive and helpful. Nice pool and facilities for children if you take them. My room had no hot water one day and when I rang the reception, I had a maintenance man at my door within 5 minutes and hot water withing 10. Outstanding service in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are very happy to hear you had an awesome experience at our resort! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We offer so much for family’s to enjoy from our pools to our wonderful location. Once again thanks for staying with us and see you real soon.

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This time share/hotel deserves a better than average rating, but not a 'very good' one. On the plus side: convenient to Colonial Williamsburg and other local attractions, friendly and helpful staff, great outdoor pool and the hotel was clean. On the minus side: there was only a half wall between our bedroom and the bathroom which was quite awkward at times. The hotel was noisy so slamming doors and even flushing toilets from other rooms could be heard easily. Speaking of flushing toilets, the ones here made the loudest noise I have ever heard - it was a little unreal.

Room Tip: Stick with the suites; the extra room is nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciated being able to recycle, although it was not made clear what exactly could be recycled.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location close to all the major attractions that the area has to offer. We are happy to hear you were able to use our great amenities as our outdoor pool. Sorry to hear about your experience with the setup of our units we value all guest concerns. We apologize if this created a challenge during your stay with us. We hope that this will not prevent you from staying with us once again.

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.