We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't opt for the Studio size” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brookneal, Virginia
1 review
“Don't opt for the Studio size”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a timeshare owner, we were very disappointed with the studio size of this resort. The microwave is old, as is the TV, and there are no other cooking facilities other than the microwave. There was no dishwasher, even though the cabinets were full of dishes. Our biggest complaint was we found housekeeping had come in to our room while we were gone, then woke us up again the next day for some unknown reason. (We didn't open the door . . just told them we "were" still sleeping.) Otherwise, if you are staying just for one night, and are by yourself, this wasn't bad. I was with my daughter and we found it to be extremely cramped.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woke up by housekeeping, request "no service" at the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Every time we receive a review from a guest we want to thank you for taking the time to do so, and we appreciate you providing us with your business. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    69
    33
    18
    28
See reviews for
101
83
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

When we made the reservation our credit card was charged for the full amount. Then when we showed up an additional $50 was charged on the credit card for "incidentals."

We rented a suite that was supposed to have two beds, a full-size bed and a sofa-bed. The room had a smell and the sofa-bed was not made, there were no sheets in the room, and the mattress was so thin that we could feel all of the springs. We didn't take the room and were instead directed to another room that had two twin beds. The elevator to that room had a horrible smell of mold. The second room had an overpowering small of either mold or some kind of artificial scent. We were told that the smell was a room freshener used in every room.

We left and got a room a chain hotel down the street which was considerably less.

Room Tip: Smell rooms in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We love to hear back from our guests on their experiences. We focus on providing the best experience that we can for our guests, so your review will be used for just that. We hope that you will make Westgate Historic Williamsburg your choice in the future so that we may provide a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in a studio room using a certificate from our timeshare ownership at another resort. The room was adequate but quite small. There was no nightstand on one side of the bed because it was right next to the window. The coffee maker barely worked, we had no hot water on the first morning and there was no iron in the room. The TV was quite old. However, housekeeping addressed the problems right away (except for the TV and the nightstand). I didn't ask to have the room made up and it was not during our stay. All in all, our stay was fine and close to the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It was our delight to have you stay us. We understand you had some concerns during your stay. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was happy to find a "one bedroom SUITE" near the Colonial Williamsburg city for just under $200 for the night. We were only staying one night and we wanted to stay in style. It was my husband and two young boys and myself staying. We booked on Booking.com. To me, a "one bedroom suite" indicates a bedroom and a separate living area. When we got there late in the evening, I was excited to see our suite! We opened the door and there was the bedroom. I looked around for the rest of the suite and there wasn't any! This was nothing but a hotel room, and a very small one at that! The front desk called to see if all was ok, and I asked if this was actually a "suite" and was told it was. It had a pullout love seat with the dirtiest, most stained, disgusting mattress I've ever seen! The fitted sheet provided came nowhere near fitting it, so we had to use an extra blanket we found as a fitted sheet. My husband and one of the boys slept on it. He said it was horrible!

You couldn't get from the bed to the bathroom without having to crawl over the sofa bed because it extended all the way across the room! Except for that mattress, it appeared to be a clean room. It appeared to be newly painted as well. We took a late night swim, and the bottom of the pool was a bit slimy in areas. The staff was friendly and nice. We could hear everything through our walls from the room next door, including the TV.

I wouldn't stay there again. Don't let the term "suite" fool you! It was pretty dang expensive for a tiny hotel room!

Room Tip: Ask specifically what your room is like. Don't think a "suite" is an actual suite! Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regard to your overall stay. The issues encountered by you will be shared with management in order to make sure we are providing the best service we can. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I received a 3 day, 2 night stay as part of a charity auction package I purchased and we used it on our family summer trip. The staff was extremely helpful and nice throughout our stay. The suite was very clean and the accommodations over all are definitely ideal, especially if you're wanting to save money on eating out as there is a grocery store just around the corner to where you can fill up the fridge and a full working kitchen to make your breakfast, lunch or dinner in your suite. Also, each room has been assigned an historical figure name and they have a binder that give you a summary of the various historical figures which my son enjoyed. Will definitely stay here again if we visit Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the room amenities and our great location! We really look forward to you and your family staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here as an exchange to our timeshare in Florida. Although the rooms and condo were much smaller than the condo in Florida - everything was in tip top shape. Clean - tidy and when we needed towels or anything else - we got them! Conveniently located to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and other historic sites. A day trip to Washington D.C. was even convenient!
In Florida, is is commonplace to help yourself to breakfasts and eat by the pool. We were not aware this is a bit different at this resort. My eldest daughter was reprimanded for walking through the sales area with breakfast. I suggested they either move where they sell so guests can enjoy the amenities provided - or they use the happy faced guests as selling points!
Our representative was Margie - and she made EVERYTHING BETTER! Everything! She was the most sincere rep we've ever had at a Westgate resort - and we've been to many. Her personal notes were great - and she was sincere to the max! Front desk gals were the bomb too! So were the groundskeepers - they were characters.
Great restaurant right next door called The Library - local restaurant with local owners.
Even though there were a few hiccups - there was nothing that would prevent us from staying here again. We will be back.

R. Ackley

Fairland, INDIANA

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. Would have like to have had a balcony - those are...
See more room tips
Green Features: They strongly suggest recycling - both trash and the use of towels, suggesting guests use a towel more than once to dry off - which we were happy to do. Trash receptacles in the kitchen offer a recycle bin and a regular trash bin to make separating easy.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to be attentive & give great service, and we're delighted to see that you experienced that. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not what I would call a "resort". Pool is small, no restaurant, limited activities/recreation available on-site, but we thought it was quite clean and we got a great deal.. only paid $113/night. That was much better than any hotel and we were able to leave our Yorkie in the room for a few hours at a time with no problem and saved money eating dinner in due to the well-equipped kitchen!! The staff always responded quickly to our requests. We also had a washer and dryer in our suite. Cant beat that when you have kids! Would definitely stay again as a guest, just not sure why anyone would purchase it as a timeshare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much your review. It’s great to hear you found value in your in room amenities. We thank you for letting us know your experience with us. Thanks for trusting us with your vacation; we hope we will be on your mind next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.