We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for family & sightseeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family & sightseeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent the very sunny but cold Thanksgiving week with our children and 4 year-old granddaughter. The resort is well maintained and quaint, reflecting the style of Historic Williamsburg. It is perfectly located with a large choice of restaurants within short distance as well as a good supermarket, and easy access to Williamsburg and the other points of interest in the region. Our 2 brm/2 bth suite was perfectly clean upon arrival. The very modern kitchen had enough utensils and the rooms were small but well designed to utilize space in the best way. Both bathrooms had jacuzzis and one had also a separate shower and a huge window. The living room was on the small side and the kitchen island/eating space was a quite small for 4 adults+child. A nice patio overlooked the swimming pool and jacuzzi, which we regretted not to be able to use in this season (though some people were brave enough to use the jacuzzi).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We appreciate you choosing Westgate Resorts for your Thanksgiving vacation. This is the "perfect location for family & sightseeing". This is truly a great location with many restaurants and shopping options within a few miles. This is also the perfect location for a taking a day trip to Washington D.C. In fact, you can book a D.C. tour right here on property. We take pride in maintaining our property and we appreciate your many compliments.

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    79
    38
    18
    32
See reviews for
113
97
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's really not a bad place to stay; we had a bad experience with our room though: hair in the dresser drawers, filthy baseboards and vents, and a weird smell. The people are friendly and tried to make things right. It is in a good area with quick and easy access to a lot of stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We really take pride in our customer service and cleanliness. We apologize for our shortcomings in the cleaning of your unit. We are glad you noted we tried to make things right. The Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg location is awesome-within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and near great shopping and many restaurants.

Sincerely,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Westgate property is nicely renovated, especially for an old hotel. The suite included a living room, kitchen with eat at bar, two bedrooms, two baths and a laundry closet. The rooms were a little small but clean and well furnished.The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. We were minutes from everything! This was a wonderful place to visit off season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your Colonial Williamsburg experience while staying at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is ideal for families and includes a living room, full kitchen, eat at bar, two baths, a washer and dryer. Our friendly staff and excellent location makes our resort a wonderful place to visit. Williamsburg is a great place to visit during the off season.

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location, less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg, lots of places to eat within walking distance--if you want great pizza, try the Library next door to the resort, food store and shopping mall a block away. Easy access in and out of resort even in rush hour traffic.

I have been in a lot of resorts and the one-bedroom unit we had was the best designed to utilize the space available of any I have ever been inside. Of course, if we had had 4 people, it would not have been as pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing with everyone your experience at our "Wonderful Resort". You are right about the great pizza at the Library Tavern. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a convenient location for shopping and dining. The one bedroom unit is well designed and is equipped with a living room, full kitchen and jacuzzi. Please come back and visit us again!

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic property. Clean rooms, great staff, great location. The best. This is a historic building that has been renovated so the rooms are not huge but they are very nicely done, clean and functional. Lots of services - restaurants close by - 5 minutes to Historic Williamsburg Visitors Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your excellent vacation experience at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. It is a fantastic property. The rooms are decorated with great attention to detail and our location is second to none. We have clean rooms and our #1 asset is our great staff.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a Westgate owner. I've had issues at this particular Westgate but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I've always found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and convenient to the area. I come here (Williamsburg) on business and will continue to stay at my Westgate timeshare.

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want "building A". It has inside corridors and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and centrally located to all attractions. On your next visit, please share your issues with our management team-there may be a solution after all. We appreciate you being a Westgate Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our one bedroom apt. Nice bath, jacuzzi, kitchen, and living room. Small but fine for a short stay. Amenities are few but the location on Richmond Road is short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and full of good restaurants. Cannot believe a better locale exists in the town for the first time visitors particularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your "Great Williamsburg Stay" at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The one bedroom Villa has a jacuzzi bath, kitchen, and living room. You are right, there is not a better location in town. We are within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William & Mary and very close to many good restaurants.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.