We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Williamsburg Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Colonial Williamsburg Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Westgate property is nicely renovated, especially for an old hotel. The suite included a living room, kitchen with eat at bar, two bedrooms, two baths and a laundry closet. The rooms were a little small but clean and well furnished.The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful. We were minutes from everything! This was a wonderful place to visit off season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your Colonial Williamsburg experience while staying at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is ideal for families and includes a living room, full kitchen, eat at bar, two baths, a washer and dryer. Our friendly staff and excellent location makes our resort a wonderful place to visit. Williamsburg is a great place to visit during the off season.

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    69
    34
    18
    28
See reviews for
102
84
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great location, less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg, lots of places to eat within walking distance--if you want great pizza, try the Library next door to the resort, food store and shopping mall a block away. Easy access in and out of resort even in rush hour traffic.

I have been in a lot of resorts and the one-bedroom unit we had was the best designed to utilize the space available of any I have ever been inside. Of course, if we had had 4 people, it would not have been as pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We appreciate you sharing with everyone your experience at our "Wonderful Resort". You are right about the great pizza at the Library Tavern. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a convenient location for shopping and dining. The one bedroom unit is well designed and is equipped with a living room, full kitchen and jacuzzi. Please come back and visit us again!

Thank you,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic property. Clean rooms, great staff, great location. The best. This is a historic building that has been renovated so the rooms are not huge but they are very nicely done, clean and functional. Lots of services - restaurants close by - 5 minutes to Historic Williamsburg Visitors Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your excellent vacation experience at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. It is a fantastic property. The rooms are decorated with great attention to detail and our location is second to none. We have clean rooms and our #1 asset is our great staff.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a Westgate owner. I've had issues at this particular Westgate but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I've always found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and convenient to the area. I come here (Williamsburg) on business and will continue to stay at my Westgate timeshare.

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want "building A". It has inside corridors and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and centrally located to all attractions. On your next visit, please share your issues with our management team-there may be a solution after all. We appreciate you being a Westgate Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our one bedroom apt. Nice bath, jacuzzi, kitchen, and living room. Small but fine for a short stay. Amenities are few but the location on Richmond Road is short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and full of good restaurants. Cannot believe a better locale exists in the town for the first time visitors particularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your "Great Williamsburg Stay" at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The one bedroom Villa has a jacuzzi bath, kitchen, and living room. You are right, there is not a better location in town. We are within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William & Mary and very close to many good restaurants.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Westgate recently for our college reunion. We booked two suites, one 2-bedroom and one 1-bedroom. We requested that both rooms be close to eachother. Upon arrival we were very pleased to find out that our request had been accomodated! The resort rooms were very clean and comfortable (especially the beds, with pillow tops and goose down comforters!) There was a TV in every room and the kitchen area was great as well and fully stocked with dinner/cooking ware, coffee supplies, paper towels, etc. The fridgerator was also very clean. It was nice that free coffee was provided in the lobby as well. Each room was equipped with a hair dryer as well.

The only thing I would recommend is that you ask if each room has a shower vs. a jacuzzi bathroom. Some of the bigger rooms/apartments only have a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower nozzle, so we had to share the one shower in the 2-bedroom unit.

Otherwise, this is an EXCELLENT value vs. some of the other neighboring hotels in the Williamsburg area. Very clean, well kept and very friendly/helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the showers and which rooms have a regular, stand up shower vs. a jacuzzi tub with a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your college reunion. You mentioned many of the features of our resort, but we also have an arcade, outdoor cooking area, fitness center and an outdoor pool with a hot tub. Westgate Resorts is an excellent value when compared to other properties in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

two couples traveling together, we booked the inn for six nights, we received a great suite with two bedrooms living room kitchen, fireplace and two baths, fantastic service from the staff the entire time. failed to mention three TV's one flat screen in living area. very clean and comfortable, terrific location, staff very helpful in providing directions etc. the location provides you the opportunity to stay on the same street for six miles, with lots of shopping centers,pottery and restaurants, easy in and outs the pricing was really good as we are also interval owners which they recognize with a great discount. would like to go again, as we were caught in the middle of hurricane sandy, the staff kept us informed of what was happening or not happening as a lot of historic sites closed down due to flooding.

Room Tip: main building rooms are a little smaller than the new construction buildings, but have a great histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are glad you chose Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your first time in Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is perfect for couples traveling together. We take pride in keeping the resort clean and offering fantastic service to all of our guests. This is the perfect place to relax and the location is terrific. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#8 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Charming, Pool...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#6 of 78 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.