We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat traveler.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ironton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Repeat traveler.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a Westgate owner. I've had issues at this particular Westgate but nothing that couldn't be fixed. I've always found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and convenient to the area. I come here (Williamsburg) on business and will continue to stay at my Westgate timeshare.

Room Tip: Tell the desk you want "building A". It has inside corridors and is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you found the room to be clean and the staff friendly. The location is great and centrally located to all attractions. On your next visit, please share your issues with our management team-there may be a solution after all. We appreciate you being a Westgate Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    72
    36
    18
    28
See reviews for
108
85
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington nc
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our one bedroom apt. Nice bath, jacuzzi, kitchen, and living room. Small but fine for a short stay. Amenities are few but the location on Richmond Road is short drive to Colonial Williamsburg and full of good restaurants. Cannot believe a better locale exists in the town for the first time visitors particularly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your "Great Williamsburg Stay" at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The one bedroom Villa has a jacuzzi bath, kitchen, and living room. You are right, there is not a better location in town. We are within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William & Mary and very close to many good restaurants.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Westgate recently for our college reunion. We booked two suites, one 2-bedroom and one 1-bedroom. We requested that both rooms be close to eachother. Upon arrival we were very pleased to find out that our request had been accomodated! The resort rooms were very clean and comfortable (especially the beds, with pillow tops and goose down comforters!) There was a TV in every room and the kitchen area was great as well and fully stocked with dinner/cooking ware, coffee supplies, paper towels, etc. The fridgerator was also very clean. It was nice that free coffee was provided in the lobby as well. Each room was equipped with a hair dryer as well.

The only thing I would recommend is that you ask if each room has a shower vs. a jacuzzi bathroom. Some of the bigger rooms/apartments only have a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower nozzle, so we had to share the one shower in the 2-bedroom unit.

Otherwise, this is an EXCELLENT value vs. some of the other neighboring hotels in the Williamsburg area. Very clean, well kept and very friendly/helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask about the showers and which rooms have a regular, stand up shower vs. a jacuzzi tub with a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your college reunion. You mentioned many of the features of our resort, but we also have an arcade, outdoor cooking area, fitness center and an outdoor pool with a hot tub. Westgate Resorts is an excellent value when compared to other properties in Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

two couples traveling together, we booked the inn for six nights, we received a great suite with two bedrooms living room kitchen, fireplace and two baths, fantastic service from the staff the entire time. failed to mention three TV's one flat screen in living area. very clean and comfortable, terrific location, staff very helpful in providing directions etc. the location provides you the opportunity to stay on the same street for six miles, with lots of shopping centers,pottery and restaurants, easy in and outs the pricing was really good as we are also interval owners which they recognize with a great discount. would like to go again, as we were caught in the middle of hurricane sandy, the staff kept us informed of what was happening or not happening as a lot of historic sites closed down due to flooding.

Room Tip: main building rooms are a little smaller than the new construction buildings, but have a great histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are glad you chose Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg for your first time in Williamsburg. The two bedroom suite is perfect for couples traveling together. We take pride in keeping the resort clean and offering fantastic service to all of our guests. This is the perfect place to relax and the location is terrific. Please come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettisville, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend while visiting William and Mary. The accomdations were very nice and staff was friendly. Special thank you to Herbert who found my son's ipod by the corn hole game and turned it in!!! We would definietly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg is a great location with a great staff. We will most certainly share your special thank you with Herbert. Our outdoor pool is a great place to have fun with the family. Cornhole and table tennis are popular activities at the pool. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Williamsburg.

Sincerely,

The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I are both alumni of the College of William and Mary, and neither one of us really noticed the Westgate while in college. However, when we were looking for a one night stay for Homecoming last weekend, the Westgate matched the price of the Comfort Inn and looked infinitely more luxurious. We are SO GLAD we chose to stay at the Westgate. Even though we were only there for one night, the one bedroom suite was much more than we expected. The in-room jacuzzi provided for awesome relaxation after spending the evening running around for Homecoming activities. We did not even really use the kitchen or living area, but even just the bedroom provided enough room and comfort that I still feel the value we got was incredible. The one inconvenient thing was that WiFi is not free- it would have been much more annoying if we had been staying in the area for a longer vacation and had been spending more time in the resort. However, still great value for what you get and we will definitely be staying at the Westgate again!

Room Tip: Any room that includes a jacuzzi in the bathroom- definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Westgate Historic Williamsburg is a “great location and great value.” When visiting the College of William & Mary there is no better place. The Jacuzzi bathtub, living room and kitchen are nice features of the one bedroom suite. We also appreciate your comments on the WiFi. Please be sure to use Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg on your next visit.

Thank you again,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week while visiting my daughter who attends the College of William and Mary. First, this is a fabulous location for visiting Williamsburg. An easy walk into Colonial Williamsburg! The Suite we we were in was very nice and had everything we needed during our stay. The suite was very clean and I would have rated it a 5/5 were it not for the fact that a mid-week clean was never done, despite my calling, and the WiFi was not free, nor working during our stay! Overall though, we had a lovely visit and I would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you thought Westgate Historic Williamsburg was a "Great Location and very nice resort!" This is a fabulous location for those visiting The College of William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg. We appreciate you sharing the cleanliness of your suite and the shortcomings with your midweek service and the WiFi. We apologize for those shortcomings. Please return again for another "lovely visit". Sincerely, The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;