We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westgate Historic Williamsburg to your Saves list
Westgate Historic Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We (wife, 3 boys, & myself) stayed at Westgate over the week of 4th of July. We stayed in a 2 unit suite, the rooms were modern, clean, and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful with anything we needed. This resort is in a great location, very close to Colonial Williamsburg, and it was very easy to get around. We would definetly stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We are glad to hear about your wonderful experience during your 4th of July vacation here at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The 2 bedroom villa is a very comfortable fit for a family of your size. Our staff is very friendly and our close proximity to Colonial Williamsburg is second to none. Please come back and visit us again.

Thank you,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    101
    40
    24
    28
See reviews for
135
116
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were booked into a two bedroom suite. It was very clean and up-to-date. Staff was very attentive and response to any problems or questions we had.

Room Tip: Our room was a timeshare room. It was very nice and comfortable. especially the master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your very good vacation experience. We have an outstanding housekeeping department and customer service is a top priority at our beautiful resort.
Our team is prepared to answer almost any question that our guest may have.


Sincerely,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had a very nice time. The rooms were clean and well furnished.I couldn't find any pans though. Bathrooms were clean and excellent. Kids could enjoy the game room(needed cash), fitness center, pool, hot tub. Overall it was a fun stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We are glad to hear that you had a nice time during your recent visit to Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg. The Villas here are very clean and well furnished. In addition to that there are many amenities for both adults and children. If you want to have fun Westgate Resorts is the place to take your vacation. We appreciate your comments.


Thank you,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

my wife and i stayed at westgate for our one year wedding anniversary and it was perfect. the villa was beautiful, staff was friendly, resort was very welcoming. we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Congratulations on your 1 year wedding anniversary! Thank you for sharing your perfect getaway. At this beautiful Westgate Resort the team takes pride in giving our guest a memorable vacation experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Thank you,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed at the Westgate Williamsburg June 2nd and 3rd. We had booked through Westgate's website and requested a 2 room suite (we actually got a 3 room, 2 bathroom, 2 kitchen suite). We stayed in the Phillip Barbour Suite.... which I am guessing is not what we originally reserved but instead got an upgrade.

Upon check-in, our reservation could not be found. I showed them my confirmation email and they instantly re-created the reservation without any fret, worry or concern. They even made sure that we had the best rate.

The Staff here is truly the best that I have encountered in a decade of travel. I travel A LOT for business and vacations. I am use to staying at the mid to higher end chains (Marriotts, Hyatts, Hiltons, Regency etc) and for a fact the staff at Westgate treated everyone in my group 1000% better than any chain has in the past decade.

The property is in a location just off the "by-pass" road -or- if you borrow one of their bikes, you can ride straight to Colonial Williamsburg in about 15 minutes (straight ride, very safe and smooth sidewalks). This place was an older hotel but has been *completely* refurbished, de-done and presented to match a lot of Colonial Williamsburg prints, fabrics, furniture etc (there is even a book with swatches describing the details). I can only guess that the older bad reviews are from before the refurb'ed because I see no reason to complain about the room or property during our visit.

We did enjoy the pool but the jacuzzi was a bit too small and too intimate once a couple were inside. My 9 year son loved the mini playground and game room. My friend enjoyed the gym area. You are within walking distance of a couple of restaurants but I recommend a car to get away from the tourist food joints.

Since no place can be absolutely perfect, my only concern is that towards the back of the property (where the field is), there were about 8 hawks circling. If you have a small dog (yorkie, maltese, etc), be careful because they had no problem coming down to the field. Obviously, Westgate can not control the hawks. Just saying/mentioning since I have a teacup yorkie at home.

I seriously can not believe how amazing this place is. We just planned another trip around Thanksgiving so we can see Colonial Williamsburg. Don't listen to all the negatives reviews.... I've been around enough hotels to know that this place is a keeper.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel but there are rooms that are not pet friendly. So, if you have allergi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Your attention to detail certainly proves you are an experienced traveler and we are very appreciative of your kind remarks. We truly use these comments to improve the vacation experience for our guest…..who knows better. The location, the bike rentals, the colonial décor, outdoor pool and jacuzzi are some of our many amenities. You said it we have a fabulous staff and take pride in maintaining a clean resort. Please come back and visit Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg.


Sincerely,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Groves, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Virginia and the location of Westgate's property helped. It was close to Historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, restaurants, and so much more. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. A shout out to the wonderful staff: our concierge, Tammy McCoy; Tony at the front desk; Audrey in housekeeping; and I enjoyed my morning coffee every day on the balcony watching Herbert, Curtis, and Gary work their magic on the swimming pool area. We've been to this location twice and we noticed the difference between the old management and the new management. Keep up the great job and we'll be back! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful time at Westgate Resorts Historic Williamsburg, Virginia. Our location is outstanding, our staff is wonderful, and we have beautiful and comfortable villas. Our maintenance team generally works behind the scenes and we appreciate you recognizing there efforts. We hope to see you again in the near future.


Your friends,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Got a little nervous after seeing so many terrible Reviews but when reading them, they were over 2 years old, not to worry. Great place, super location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
We appreciate your recognition of our awesome resort and friendly staff. Although the resort has many great attributes such as the location our best assets are our people who work very hard to exceed your vacation expectations. We are very thankful for your kind remarks.


Sincerely,
The Westgate Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.6 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#8 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#9 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg

Address: 1324 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Historic Williamsburg is located within a six-mile radius of attractions including Busch Gardens, shopping areas and restaurants. Close to the Historic Area, you can take a walk back in time and explore the 18th century. Go for a walking tour during the day, and then ride in a horse-drawn carriage at night. Westgate Historic Williamsburg offers comfortable, economical lodging and accommodations. The resort features include an outdoor pool, hot tub, exercise and game room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westgate Historic Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.