We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for basic shelter & location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yuletide Celebrations
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good for basic shelter & location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

The Governor's Inn is definitely a budget motel. I use the word 'motel' purposefully as the room doors open right to the parking lot area.

Pros: The front desk staff was super nice, even late at night when we checked in (10pm). Our room was clean. We had enough towels. 3 out of 4 lamps worked in the room. It had a coffee maker. Parking was ample. It was easy walking distance down North Henry St to the Historic Area. You do receive some kind of discount on passes to Colonial Williamsburg. Can't tell you much more about it as we already had passes with us. Can't comment on the free continental breakfast as we skipped that.

Why we bothered to stay here in the first place: We paid just $64 (that's $59 and tax) for a weekend night, a special they are running in September.

Cons: Oh dear, the beds. So uncomfortable. Luckily we were exhausted from a full day of fun in Busch Gardens so sleep was not much of a problem. But these mattresses are b-a-s-i-c. Springs, a cover = bed. If you are getting to the point in life where a bad bed means a bad day ahead, this is not a good choice of hotel for you. And each room is 2 double beds only. That's the only choice they have at the Gov. Inn.

The decor is clean but outdated. Don't expect to be charmed by its "colonial nature". It is a motel. Period. The coffee for the coffee makers is pretty heinous. I recommend bringing your own and brewing it in your room. The room smells kind of institutional. Bring a nice scented candle to combat that.

In summary: great choice for saving money when the timing is right. Holiday rates seem to be $99 to $105 last I checked. Other than its location, I think this is way too much money for what you get. Perhaps it is just a sign of the times, but I'd try pretty hard to do better than the Gov for $100/night.

As an alternative to the budget Gov. Inn, I would recommend the Best Western Patrick Henry. It is also walking distance from the Historic Area (just a few blocks from Christiana Campbell's). Beds much more comfortable. Some rooms have whirlpool tubs which are darn nice after a long day of walking. It may be a few dollars more but, in my opinion, worth it in the realm of budget hotels. I do not work for Best Western ;)

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    99
    31
    34
See reviews for
195
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Just got back from our labor day weekend and I must say the Governors Inn was a very pleasant. I had booked my stay through Busch Gardens for the 3 day escape. We arrived Friday night and warmly greeted by the staff, our room though dated was very clean and fresh. There were 2 double beds and plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids. We were in the building next to the pool which was very quite and maybe heard the train only as we were going in and out of the room. One of my daughters is on a traveling soccer team and we have stayed in many sub-standard rooms and I believe a lot of the bad comments about this hotel are unjust. The staff was very friendly and provided us with extra towels and pillows. We spend 3 exhausting days at Bush Gardens and the Water Park so sleeping was no problem(even if the air conditioning was sometimes noisy). Breakfast can sometimes get crowded and it had your basics donuts, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, English muffins, coffee, OJ, etc. enough to get out in the morning. We also managed to take in the ghost tour at Williamsburg one night which we booked at the hotel(highly recommend). We have been to Williamsburg many times through the years and since the hotel is only 3 blocks walk to the shops and town it has always been a pleasure. If your looking for more upscale and 2 to 3 times the price then I would suggest the Williamsburg Lodge or Inn which we have also stayed. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend as a clean friendly standard hotel.

  • Liked — location, staff, security
  • Disliked — seems to be very popular hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

The carpet of our room (and the two rooms our family members stayed in) was so damp that we had to wear our shoes inside all the time, and there was a pervasive moldy smell that persisted even with the door open and A/C on high. The bed linens were worn. When we arrived at 5:30 pm, we were told we couldn't check in yet (and there was another family trying to check in at the same time who had arrived hours before and had not been able to check in) and had to stand around while the housekeeping staff finished up. They couldn't find one of our reservations even though we had a printout of the confirmation. The pool is clean but small with only a little sidewalk and a few tables around it. I haven't compared rates with other local hotels, but I doubt the discount on Colonial Williamsburg admission is worth staying at this mediocre hotel.

  • Liked — decent continental breakfast
  • Disliked — the stink in our room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We have just returned from our stay at the Governor's Inn in Wiilliamsburg. This is the only hotel that we stay when in Williamsburg. This must be our 5th stay. I have read so many negative reviews, but we, thank god, have not found anything negative. For the price you can't beat it. It's an avg size room with two beds, small bathroom. We found this stay that the room was cleaner than other times. We have always asked for our room in the 6500, which is on the other side, far from the railroad tracks. It's quiet, the personnel are friendly, all you need to do is call the front desk and they are right there helping you out.
The hotel offers continental breakfast which consists of coffee,milk,bagels,muffins,toast,cereal,oatmeal,fruits. A nice breakfast to start your day. There are two dining areas on first and second level of lobby. During this trip we went directly to the second level as we had been there last year, it is less congested as few people know of this or don't read the sign when they walk in.
The hotel is very close to Colonial Williamsburg, you can walk up to this area, William and Mary College. Not far from Busch Gardens, Water Park and President Park. Don't think twice as to where you will stay in Williamsburg. You won't go wrong with the Governor's Inn.
A place that we love to eat and they also deliver is Mama Mia Italian Deli. The hotel has their menu. We used them last year and were looking forward to eating their food again. It is absolutely delicious. The deli itself looks like a diner that has been frozen in time, the 50's. There stromboli's and pizza are to die for. When we got to the Governor's Inn our first questions was if they were still there and the same chef.
Have fun and enjoy your stay at the Governor's Inn, we did.

  • Liked — Closeness to town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot Me
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights at the Governor's Inn and were very happy . We received free admission to Colonial Williamsburg which was a $60 value right there, couple that with the continental breakfast and great rate and it was a real bargain. Also we got 1/2 price on any night or extra programs we did, very much enjoyed the legends and myth walk one evening.
We walked to CW from there all but one day, (caught the shuttle that morning just right and was dropped at the Governor's Palace. ) It was quite hot while were were there (over 100) and our room was always cool enough. as other's have mentioned, it is not brand new but it was roomy, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit crowded but the staff there is most excellent about keeping items filled which I have to commend them on, since it is so busy! it was the usual coffee, juice, cereals, toast bagels, yogurt, donuts, pastries hardboiled eggs. Plenty to get you off and exploring each day. Pool was ok, just not cool enough for such hot weather. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

The Governor's Inn was just what our family of 3 needed for a more inexpensive getaway. The people at the front desk were knowledgable and friendly. Our room was a nice size with 2 double beds. The room was a little dated, but the beds were comfortable, the linens were clean, and the airconditioner got its workout. The bathroom was a little small, but it was clean and everything worked properly. We stayed in the updated non-smoking section closer to the railroad tracks. We didn't hear our neighbors or the train, unless you opened the door. It was the perfect location for enjoying the parks (Busch Gardens and Water Country USA) and for taking in the sites in Colonial Williamsburg. Up the road a short way are quaint shops, William & Mary College, and the Governor's Palace. The Inn is also a very short drive to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's Center and also the Jamestown Settlement.

After reading some of the older reviews of the Governor's Inn, I had some hesitation when making our arrangements. However, as it turns out, we had a wonderful stay. My son is already planning our next trip!

  • Liked — Pricing and Location
  • Disliked — A little out dated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Well, for a family of 4 visiting the Historic Triangle for the first time on a tight budget, this was the place for us! We drove 3 minutes to the Visitor's Center and shuttled to Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown without hassle. The hotel was clean but certainly dated. The room was quite small and the beds were atrociously uncomfortable. However, they were clean, the pool was large, breakfast offered yogurt and fruit and hard-boiled eggs (not just pastries), and best of all the staff was extremely helpful. We were only there 3 nights, and I'm not sure my back could take more than that, but it was quiet (even near the train tracks!). We were in the room to sleep only and it served its purpose.

  • Liked — close to the visitor's center but within our budge
  • Disliked — beds were a bit too firm
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.