We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At CW for Research project” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yuletide Celebrations
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“At CW for Research project”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It’s in a good location, right between the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center and Colonial Williamsburg itself. My room was clean, comfortable and warm since it was a cold night. The shower was clean and had plenty of holders (4) for soap and shampoo. The wi-fi was good. The television and the heater worked fine. There’s a good continental breakfast.
The building might be considered a little old, however, it is well maintained. The walkways along the rooms are well lit at night and it's only a short walk to a soda or ice machine. The staff was very friendly and so was the hotel mascott cat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    99
    31
    34
See reviews for
195
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Easy to locate and in walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg.staff was friendly and helped with directions. Adequate breakfast in am to get started on a day of touring the area.
This Inn is not open all winter so check availablity when planning your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel that emphasizes value, not frills. Generally clean and comfortable, although this time less so (dim in-room lighting, not quite as squeaky clean although still very acceptable). Breakfast area is busy--try going upstairs for more space and a calmer atmosphere. Walkable to Merchant's Square for dining, shopping. Close to Amtrak station as well. Closed in off-season, so call ahead. We're repeat visitors and will likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I always stay here when I visit CW. It's a CW owned motel so the standards are high and you can't beat the location. Only a short walk to the historic area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Clean rooms, nice linens etc. I love this place!! And, we stayed 4 nights so our CW tickets were free! That's a big savings. Why would you stay anywhere else? We watched the Grand Illumination fireworks from the balcony! No fighting crowds.

Can't wait to visit again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg on our way to Florida. We knew what we getting in this value Colonial Williamsburg property. It was all we expected and more.
We found it clean, roomy and perfectly adequate. The front desk staff was super friendly. The cont. breakfast was fine. It is located near the Visitor's Center. Go to the Visitors Center early, leave the car there for easy transport to C.W. and after your day return to the Visitors Center by bus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before and had a great time. During this visit, the place was packed with high schoolers who were out of control. The management could not handle the 100 or so kids who were disrespectful and rude.

The first breakfast, my wife picked out a bagel only to find mold. Once she notified the management about the mold, the whole tray was replaced. Otherwise, the breakfast was well stocked.

The walls to the rooms are paper thin so again you get what you pay for.

The location to Colonial Williamsburg is but a 10 minute walk from the rooms. Sure, you can drive and that is surely an option but the walk is scenic and enjoyable, especially in a crisp Autumn evening.

This place is good for families with kids but if you are looking for a quiet restful stay, pay the extra and go to a bed and breakfast closer to Colonial Williamsburg. This is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there last night, not a bad place at all, worth money they ask for one night. Breakfast was poor, tho. Actual room was clean, no unpleasant odor of any kind. Fast Internet. Hot and cold water. What else can you get for 80 bucks? Oh yes, fast access to highways and interstates.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that's facing other way rather then a highway, so you could get a much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.