We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Yuletide Celebrations
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here before and had a great time. During this visit, the place was packed with high schoolers who were out of control. The management could not handle the 100 or so kids who were disrespectful and rude.

The first breakfast, my wife picked out a bagel only to find mold. Once she notified the management about the mold, the whole tray was replaced. Otherwise, the breakfast was well stocked.

The walls to the rooms are paper thin so again you get what you pay for.

The location to Colonial Williamsburg is but a 10 minute walk from the rooms. Sure, you can drive and that is surely an option but the walk is scenic and enjoyable, especially in a crisp Autumn evening.

This place is good for families with kids but if you are looking for a quiet restful stay, pay the extra and go to a bed and breakfast closer to Colonial Williamsburg. This is not the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    148
    99
    31
    34
See reviews for
195
86
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed there last night, not a bad place at all, worth money they ask for one night. Breakfast was poor, tho. Actual room was clean, no unpleasant odor of any kind. Fast Internet. Hot and cold water. What else can you get for 80 bucks? Oh yes, fast access to highways and interstates.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that's facing other way rather then a highway, so you could get a much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We chose this hotel because of it's location and close proximity to the sights. We did not expect a luxury 5 star hotel given the rate and previous reviews. We did find it to be clean and safe. The food was good. It is an older hotel so you should walk in expecting that. But even given that, it is well worth what you pay. For us, it was all about arriving and knowing that we could walk anywhere we wanted to go and not mess with moving our car and finding parking, which can be difficult in Williamsburg. Staff was pleasant. Top that with the discount on tickets to Colonial Williamsburg, and you can't go wrong. After all, we were there to sight see, not sit in our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Horrible old motel next to train tracks! The parking lot is poorly lit and in disrepair. The walkways are actually buckling up on the second floor. The rooms look and smell like he 1950's.Try imagining that "by the hour" motel that the fugitive holes up in on the cop tv show. There is mold on the bathroom tile. Lots of it.

The beds are old and very uncomfortable. They claim that all rooms have two double beds. They lie. They are actually what used to be called 3/4 beds which are exactly that- 3/4 the size of a double bed. Standard doubles are only 54 inches wide. That is twice the width of a standard crib. Two adults don't fit well but it doesn't make much difference since the mattresses are so horrible.

The wall plates don't cover the hole cut out for the socket. The tub fills with water during a shower because the drain plug won't stay up. The towels are small and scratchy.
The a/c units are those old floor units that make enough noise to wake the dead. I have no idea where some of the previous customers stayed but I can't imagine it was here. I took pictures which I will upload as soon as possible but I wanted to get this up quickly to save some other unsuspecting people from making the same mistake. I honestly can't remember staying at a dump like this one before.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We generally stay at budget accomodations when we travel and Govenor's Inn was one of the best for the price that we have experienced. When you can get a full breakfast - no it's not a hot meal, unless you count the instant oatmeal and coffee, but it had a generous variety of items - a comfortable bed, large bright modern bath, clean room and gracious hosts all for under 80.00, it is hard to beat. We walked to and from the park each day. It was an easy 4 blocks. We only moved our car when we had dinner at Christina Campbells which is on the far side of Colonial Williamsburg and has it's own lot. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful. We had prepaid for admission tickets. When the person at the desk saw this she reversed that charge and got us admission tickets that costs ~$30 less. It was also nice to be able to charge tickets to special events directly to our hotel. Staying at the Colonial Williamsburg hotel gave us 25% off those events. I would highly recommend choosing the Governor's Inn over a comparably priced hotel off site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is and older motel but well maintained. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay during your visit, I highly recommend this inn. It is only a few blocks walk to Merchant Square and the main venue of Colonial Williamsburg. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, plenty of hot water and the staff very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. Most important, it was very quiet so we enjoyed a good night's sleep. As guests of the inn, we got a fairly good discount on tickets for Colonial Williamsburg.

I plan on using this inn again in future visits to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Governors Inn at Colonial Williamsburg and feel we made a reasonable decision - but not optimal. The checkin was well done with information about the tickets we had reserved and sufficient direction to use the visitor's center. We had a car so it was not a problem to drive to the main parking lot and catch the shuttle. The comment above about not being optimal relates to the many good quality and reasonably priced hotels in the area from which we could just have easily have driven to this same parking lot - and stayed in a much nicer hotel at no more cost and with many more amenities.

For those not familiar with Colonial Williamsburg, the entire historical area is part of the regular city street system, is open to foot and bicycle traffic, and is available to come and go at no charge. No cars are allowed on the historic site streets during daytime hours but some streets are open to cars at night. You may wander the area, observe and listen in on tour group discussions, but the many exhibits, buildings, performances, and activities each requires a "ticket" (or pass) to enter or participate. With this information and a bicycle you can tailor a trip for the most cost effective trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.