We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, very nice central location, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Northern Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel, very nice central location, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife has had Colonial Williamsburg on her "bucket list" for a long time, so when the opportunity came up, we took the plunge. We only had 48 hours to plan the trip so we started at the Colonial Williamsburg (CW) site. The Governor's Inn is the "bargain" hotel of the various CW affiliated hotels, it is within walking distance to the historical area, a 4-nite stay gave us free "length of stay" passes to the historical area, and it had good TripAdvisor reviews. We have been very happy with the choice. So happy, in fact, we "re-upped" for 2 additional nights. It truly is within walking distance of the historical area (we are in our 60s) and we walked back and forth every time we visited the historical area or Merchant's Square. It was in a good location for our day trips to Yorktown and Jamestown, as well off to Norfolk & Virginia Beach & Richmond). The breakfast was a good start to the day. The room itself is that of a typical two-story hotel facility with nice rooms and the bedbug registry gave it a clean bill of health. If you're worried about train noise (a single track line runs to the south of the hotel), you can ask for a room in a building further from the track. We heard no trains during our entire stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the train track if you're afraid the noise might bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    139
    91
    30
    33
See reviews for
186
77
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My teenage daughter, her friend, and I decided to take a trip to Williamsburg, VA. I booked three nights at the Governor's Inn and drove 8.5 hours to get there. I chose the Governor's Inn because it was less expensive than the other Williamsburg Hotels. I also chose Williamsburg because of both the historical and educational aspect ,as well as its closeness to Busch Gardens which satisfies the thrill seeking side of the two teenagers. I have to say this vacation was one of the better ones I've taken. I can't say enough about this. First, The Governor's Inn was clean and neat. For the price I did not expect a 5 star resort but was very much pleased. It was within walking distance (3 blocks) to Colonial Williamsburg and the shops. It also provided a bus at no additional charge to and from the Williamsburg Information Center, Busch Gardens, and Water Country USA. The bus started at 9AM and brought you to and from these places every hour. This was such a relief not to worry about driving after such a long drive to get there. I also received a discounted price for the admission ot Colonial Williamsburg which was for the duration of our stay. The Governor's Inn also provided a continental breakfast in the morning which was more than satisfactory. I found the staff very knowledgable, helpful, and pleasant. I will definitely be returning in the near future and have highly recommended it to my friends and family. I read a review about the noise of the trains traveling by but I have to say I did not hear or see one train although there is a set of tracks close by.

Room Tip: The hotel did provided a coffee pot but no microwave or refrigerator. You can request a refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel. Clean rooms. Free breakfast
Free transportation to theme parks and pool. The hotel staff and bus drivers are great. The hotel employee that sets up the morning breakfast is great. She deals with the pressure of feeding the hungry mob trying to catch the early bus to the theme park. Bus leave the hotel every hour. There is a lot of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Located right at the NW corner of Colonial Williamsburg, this hotel is very convenient for going out and visiting this historic site. The main shopping area is just 2-3 blocks south.

The rooms, while dated and a bit dilapidated, are surface clean and tidy. Our room's bathroom ceiling was falling apart a bit.

No frills, except for wifi and the continental breakfast, which was pretty much just breads, some fruits, and cereal.

The free wifi is pitifully slow, even at 4am (though faster then).

Our room had a sleeper chair (like a narrow sleeper sofa.)

IMPORTANT: If you have young children or are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the train tracks that run right by the hotel. Trains go by frequently, and were quite loud from our room right next to them.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

If you are on a tight budget this is the place to stay! We paid $69 & $79 for our two nights during what has to be a peak season.
The room was not perfect, but pretty clean and descent size. Since it's one of the official Williamsburg hotels there are a few things that are better than a normal motel - the soaps and shampoo smelled great and were probably used at all of their resorts. The mattresses and pillows were also very nice. I thought the grounds were nice too and the pool was pretty large. Breakfast was better than a normal
Continetal breakfast, it gets crowded and it's nothing fancy...bit it's free. We have a family of 6 so it was a huge savings to fit in one room and get a free breakfast for $69! Of course I don't think 6 are allowed in a room, but 3 of our children are very young so with the addition of a pack n play and our little bassint we made it work.
The last day of our trip the area was filled with smoke from a near by fire. The staff was wonderful, they allowed us extra time to get checked out early since we had a newborn and daughter with asthma. They recommended that we check-out due to the health risks to our little ones and even gave us extra time to pack up. Wonderful service.
By the way, the location is great...walk just a few blocks to The historic area. They also offer a large discount on the passes to the historic area, just like at their more upscale hotels.
This was a last minute add on to a vacation we had planned in Myrtle Beach, so we were on a tight budget. I have no regrets - perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We made a last minute decision to break up our trip home from the Outer Banks with an overnight stay in Williamsburg, VA. We chose the Governor's Inn primarily because another family traveling with us had already booked there and the price was unbelievably cheap. We weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

As we were going to Water Country, USA for the day of our arrival, which was a 100+ degree day, we needed a place to put some of our things that wouldn't keep in our vehicle for the day. The front desk personnel were not only the friendliest people I have ever met (and I have previous experience working in the hotel industry), but they even offered that we enjoy the continental breakfast while we were there! We weren't even checked in yet and our complimentary breakfast wasn't until the following morning. They also allowed us to bring in our things and kept them for us until we officially checked in. They did not have a secured back room to set them in, but we felt our things were safe.

The Inn is really a glorified motel set in a semi-wooded area around the perimeter. There was plenty of free parking available. Our room was clean with the usual amenities: coffee maker, shampoo/soap, etc. The Inn is also set enough off the road that it was very quiet. We did not use the swimming pool, but they were having a pirate party that evening that looked really fun for the children. There is also a complimentary bus service that will shuttle you to Colonial Williamsburg and various other attactions. While the Inn is really close to Colonial Williamsburg, it is situated in a way that we could not see a traffic-safe way to walk there. But it is possible that there was a way.

Over all, we would definitely stay there again. The price was right and the front desk personnel alone set the tone and made the stay great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Booked this hotel online as part of a Busch Gardens package. This hotel seemed to be the best balance of cost and features online. It is a good, basic, clean hotel. Everything worked and the staff I met were pleasant. It is important to note that the rooms open to the outdoors. The location is a quick walk to downtown Williamsburg and the general area seemed nice. Navigating to Busch Gardens/Water Country is rather easy. There is a train track right beside the hotel, but we did not hear it. If you are the type of family that only uses the hotel for sleeping after siteseeing, this place is perfectly fine. If you enjoy a luxurious hotel experience, may want to look at more expensive properties.

A quick word about the Williamsburg Bounce vacation package. Everytime we went to exchange the e-pass from the web-site for a ticket, the employee looked at it like they had never seen one before. Another family we met experienced the same thing. Be patient, they will call for a supervisor and get it resolved. All of our passes were honored, but it was nerve-racking with a 5 year old in tow.

Room Tip: Request a room in the 6500 range, this is the furthest away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 506 North Henry Street, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel. Family-oriented Low-rise Motor Inn located downtown, 3 blocks from restored area & College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.