We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, but poor quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Magruder Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Magruder Hotel to your Saves list
Fort Magruder Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
1 review
“Nice people, but poor quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff was friendly and inside the hotel looked nice. However, the sheets were so old they did not stay on the bed! It's disgusting to wake up and see the mattress. Plus they were small sheets for a deep mattress. Then the cleaning staff came in one day and forgot to give us any hand towels. There was also a musty smell in the hallway. Would not recommend any of my friends and family to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    14
    13
    17
See reviews for
30
24
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

the hotel is actually pretty nice, for the price its well worth it. Staff were very nice behind the front desk as well as in the restaurant. the problem is they advertise a heated indoor pool and it is not heated. we first said something on our first night and nobody came to the pool to look at it he said something again our last night and nobody came again to even look at it, the front desk did call and said somebody was on their way there but nobody showed up. also the hot tub has white chunks floating in it as well as sand, the water was very dark as well. other than the pool and hot tub to stay was great.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like the other reviews, this hotel is fine, but needs some updating. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We aired our concerns about the negative reviews, and since we booked through Priceline, we felt we were "stuck". They upgraded us to a junior suite, and called to check on us, which we really appreciated. The room was clean, bed comfortable. The bathroom was small, but acceptable. The hotel is dated, the new management knows this, and it is scheduled for an overhaul. There was a pageant in the conference rooms, and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. It is very close to the historic area and good restaurants, for the price, it was certainly a good choice for us.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed twice at Fort Magruder in the past six months. Once for two nights and more recently for three. Each time we had a pleasant experience. Nice room and excellent food in the dining room.

We plan to visit again in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not sure what the negative reviews are about. While the place isn't the Ritz, it's certainly a solid place to stay.

Nice large lobby with a restaurant and tavern. Both were good quality. I would liken the rooms to a Residence Inn. Some things were a little worn, but all was acceptable

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our team stayed there for a soccer tournament. Second day the entire hotel had no hot water, one of our team rooms had no heat. The ATM machine was broke. My son returned to the room after housekeeping, a personal item was missing - questioned the housekeeper and she pulled the item from her pocket! Claimed she was about to return it. Rooms were old and dirty. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Somewhat disappointed with this hotel. Originally booked a patio room (to make it convenient to take the dog out) with two double beds. This was a birthday trip for my husband and we were really looking forward to being in Williamsburg. When we checked in we were told they upgraded us to a suite for his birthday. Hmmmm! Thought that would be great! As it turns out we were on the second floor of an area way in the back of the resort. The room had a king bed, which was fine even though I booked a double. When we really checked out the room it almost looked as though it had never been remodeled completely. Not even close to looking like a suite compared to other hotels where I have stayed! There was a bar area in the one part of the room that had a sink but there was no lighting whatsoever in that section! Had to call the front desk to ask for a light. I noticed that the fitted sheet on the bed had a stain on it. This should have never been used at all!! The sliding door to the closet was broken so that couldn't be used properly. My husband and I also noticed that there was only ever one person at the front desk. For such a large resort you would think there would be more staff present. Most resorts this size also have complimentary hot beverages (especially this time of year). The only thing in the lobby was a water dispenser with lemon. Neither of the restaurants had any menus posted outside the entrances. We we were given two room keycards…the one keycard stopped working after two times. The second keycard quit working on the last day when we were coming back to the room to remove the last of our luggage. We tracked down the maid who left us in with her card.
To top it all off when I checked my bank account once I arrived home, I saw that they had overcharged us by $50. I immediately called the hotel and discussed the discrepancy with the front desk. They are going to make good to my bank account for the overcharge. As I just got off the phone with them I haven't checked to see if the $50 overcharge has been credited as yet.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Magruder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Magruder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.