We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Magruder Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Magruder Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fort Magruder Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Ocean springs, Mississippi, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at this property for a professional meeting. The front desk staff, Mandy in particular, was able to accommodate my mobility issues and put me in a nice accessible room with a walk-in shower that was also close to the front lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Mandy at our front desk at the Fort Magruder Hotel. We want to make sure each and every one of our guests are comfortable during their stay. We hope that you will come back and enjoy some leisure time in Williamsburg and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    126
    89
    83
    70
See reviews for
175
92
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed at Fort Magruder for our trip to Busch Gardens. We got in late and the staff was extremely accomodating. There was a nice bar in the hotel and after our long drive the female bartender made sure we were taken care and gave excellent customer service even though we came in close to closing. The hotel rooms were clean and made us feel right at home with the comfy furnishings. The next morning we went to breakfast at the hotel and the service once again was amazing and we felt right at home in the restaurant. The drive to busch gardens was so short and we were able to come back and forth between the park and hotel to relax for awhile from the park. Thanks Fort Magruder for a great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments on your stay at Fort Magruder Hotel while visiting Busch Gardens. We are just over 1 mile from the park, which makes it very convenient to travel back and forth, especially with kids, so they can get some rest and enjoy the park! We look forward to having you back and visit our website in the future for special offer packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed two nights here for a board retreat. The first room they gave me reeked of cigarette smoke even though it is a nonsmoking hotel. They were very nice about moving me and the next room was fine. The employees were very nice and helpful throughout my stay. I ate four meals there and the food was very good. The building is old and everything needs to be renovated. Everything! I don't think I will stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at the hotel during the retreat this month. Please call me directly at the hotel to make your reservation for the June conference and I will personally take care of your reservation. We want to make sure everyone enjoys their stay at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center while in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel property is easy to find, close to old town Williamsburg, and very welcoming and inviting. The room I received at a convention rate was not next to the elevator, or cut rate, or in poor condition as one might expect with the lower rates. Excellent value overall. The most friendly staff. The room was perfectly clean, very sound-proof, and had all the amenities one would hope for. The carpet was a bit worn, but not enough to detract from the overall excellence of everything else. The food in the restaurant was also excellent. The buffet breakfast was hot and delicious. Overall, a wonderful place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments on the hotel, staff and service. It is important to us that our guests are comfortable, receive wonderful service and enjoy their stay while in Williamsburg. We look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I bid the hotel from priceline. It is 3 stars + on priceline, which is the highest category for this area. The location is wonderful, just a couple of minutes drive from the colonial williamsburg. The condition is not good though, there are holes in both of the mattress. The mattress looks used and old. The condition of room wasn't worth the 3 stars + category. Priceline should have investigate and amend the rating. The service was OK, have no problem to check-in and out. Overall, it is a OK hotel. But definitely not worth the 3 star + rating. It should be 2 star or so. So, manage your expectation when visits here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your response while visiting our hotel. We appreciate the guests that book through Priceline and we hope they enjoy their stay with us. We will pass along your comments to the housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was an excellent value and very close to Colonial Williamsburg, so our stay was fine. The beds AND the pillows are great and I like how they've put the sink outside the toilet/bathroom. The staff is also quite friendly and well-informed. However, the hotel has seen better days and could use a renovation. Also, the restaurant in the hotel where we had breakfast was mediocre. But overall, not bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliments on our guest beds and layout of the guestrooms. Our sleeping rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We appreciate the nice comments on our staff and service. We have the greatest staff and service in Williamsburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the room for the price. We would stay again. Everyone was friendly.it is close to all the attractions and shopping. Pet friendly motel. itIs a great place to stay and every thing is within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments on our hotel and location to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and all the additional attractions in our area. Please come stay with us again when you are back in the Williamsburg area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Magruder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Magruder Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.