We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   470 McLaws Circle, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
nj, usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of December during our Christmas break. I only wish everywhere was as friendly as Virginia. Location was great for exploring the Historic Triangle. Quick access to the highways made a rain day at Newport News very simple. Easy parking, comfy beds, good shower, quiet rooms, and a heated pool; perfect for the family. The only issue was the WiFi was a bit touch and go.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel! The front desk staff was very professional and friendly at all times. This hotel is literally right down the road to Busch Gardens. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Really dislike the mini fridges in the Courtyards--it only cools for every 2 hours?

Wish the café was open later because we are late sleepers. Also wish they had coffee/tea in the lobby like some of the other Courtyards.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a Platinum member I stay at Courtyards almost weekly so I do have a solid base for comparison. This is an older, first version Courtyard that has been renovated not long ago. However, some other areas of the hotel and the landscaping are in need of some care. The sheets were rather worn and should be replaced. Our room was across from the noisy ice machine which should be avoided. The property has the new cafė concept which has it advantages and disadvantages. They no longer offer the complimentary coffee which I miss. I'm not a fan of Starbucks and they do not offer the Blonde Starbucks. Yes, there is coffee in the room but it's nice to have it in the lobby area. The location is several miles from the historic district and somewhat less from Busch Gardens. Based on the rate it's generally a good value.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Terry B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the newly renovated Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving the needs of all our guests. Your feedback is important and will be shared with our team to continue to enhance our service and product. As with all Marriott branded hotels, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything that we can do to improve your experience during your time with us. Thank you again for staying at the Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

When we checked in the front desk staff advised us which door was closest to our room for parking. Additionally, they gave us a coupon for a free appetizer at a near by sports bar.
Upon entering the room we noticed is was clean and roomy. The bathroom was large because it was handicap accessible.
The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and towels were provided.
We had a room around the corner from the indoor pool and hot tub. In the early evening the hall was noisy with kids running to the pool. Our room looked over the outside pool which was closed for winter but in summer I could imagine the noise outside. For quiet, I recommend a room on the top floor on the outside facing the next door hotel.
The hotel is really, really close to Bush Gardens so a great location.
Additionally, it is close to several good reasonably priced family restaurants.
There was a coffee pot and mini frig in the room for cheapening the trip to the area. Great for drinks and snacks.

Room Tip: See above for a good room
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly and helpful staff on where to eat and it won't break the bank.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd W, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Gary A,

Thank you for staying with us at the newly renovated Williamsburg Courtyard by Marriott. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our indoor/outdoor and hot tub are quite inviting and a great amenity for our guests as our location around the corner from Busch Gardens. Thank you again for staying with us! We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This hotel is your standard Courtyard Marriott. However, I have to complain about a few things. The room wasn't quite as clean as I would have liked. There were pubic hairs in the corner of the bathroom! Also, the conditioner was used and half empty.

My other complaint is that the walls are quite thin! I was there with my two children, and they were not able to sleep because of the noise coming through the walls on both sides. I called the front desk and they offered to move us. At that point, we were settled in and I did not want to move rooms. The receptionist was good enough to send someone to have a word with our neighbors. They did quiet down, but I was awakened at 2:00am with noise again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd W, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear stellak73,

Thank you for staying with us at the newly renovated Williamsburg Courtyard by Marriott. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for cleanliness issues that you experienced. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue.

I was glad to hear that our staff offered to move you after you had issues with noise. Sometimes the hotel can be busy with many families staying to visit the area. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you whenever your travels bring you back to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Courtyard for a fall weekend of touring Colonial Williamsburg, and this hotel definitely deserves an award for being “most improved.” We stayed here a couple of years ago for a trip to Busch Gardens and really had nothing good to say about the hotel at the time. In fact, we vowed to never come back because everything was in such poor condition. However, since then, the hotel has been completely renovated, and has really turned itself around from a dumpy, outdated property to a great option in Williamsburg. I’m so glad we gave this hotel a second chance.

My family has taken weekend trips to Williamsburg for many years, and we’ve always found that we have difficulty choosing a hotel here. Since Williamsburg is almost solely a leisure destination, its hotels tend to be lower end (with limited exceptions that are usually too expensive to be worth it for a quick trip), as well as simply worn out from all of the family vacation traffic. We’ve found ourselves generally displeased with the options, and the Courtyard was no exception in the past. However, in this case, we ended up giving the Courtyard a second chance because we had Marriott Rewards points to use and happened to notice the new renovations and positive reviews they were receiving.

We were pleased with the renovations from the moment we entered the lobby. While the outside of the hotel isn’t changing anytime soon, and reflects that it’s an older property built in the early 1990s, the interior is finally up-to-date to the current brand standard. The lobby now has the newer Courtyard pedestal-style check-in desks, a bunch of pleasant modern seating areas and tables with computers, and the Bistro for dining (rather than the old Courtyard Café). I mentioned to the very pleasant front desk clerk that I was impressed with the lobby renovations, and she wholeheartedly agreed, admitting that the pre-renovation state of the common areas and rooms had been getting embarrassing from a staff perspective. Check-in on a Friday night was efficient and welcoming, and the clerk was very willing to make sure our room requests were taken care of and that our two rooms would be near each other, despite the fact that the front desk was getting pretty busy at the time. I did find the staff to be one of the few positives when we were here in the past, and this strength seems to have been maintained since then.

We had two rooms, one with 1 king (427) and one with 2 queens (410), down the hall from each other on the top floor. The rooms are in an L-shaped portion of the building, with even numbered rooms on the inside of the L overlooking the indoor/outdoor pool and the courtyard, which features new outdoor seating that looked pretty nice. Odd numbered rooms overlook the parking lot. Definitely get an even-numbered room if you can, since it’s simply a more pleasant view. Also consider requesting a balcony, since only some rooms have them and it doesn’t seem to be a paid upgrade to get one.

Although the hotel isn’t overly large, there a couple of possible places to park and enter the building, so also make sure to figure out at check-in where is most convenient. There is one elevator on either end of the main hallway, both of which are very slow, so we generally opted to take the stairs. The stairs were even surprisingly pleasant and freshly re-carpeted like everything else. More generally, however, the room hallways are one area that needs a bit of work, simply due to poor climate control. Although the carpets have all been replaced in the hallways, I noticed that the hallways were very hot and stuffy, which gives them a bit of a gross, humid feeling that isn’t nice. I remember this being an issue last time we stayed here, and it clearly hasn’t been corrected.

We found both of our rooms to be very nicely renovated, in the typical red and yellow color scheme that you’ll find at many newer Courtyards. Everything has been totally replaced from the old rooms, a renovation that was much needed and much appreciated. All of the carpets, bathrooms, and furniture are clearly new and still in very good condition. Just in general, the rooms here are quite functional, with plenty of outlets, nice sized bathrooms (the sink is outside the rest of the bathroom), a nice desk area, and free wifi that works decently well. We’ve been fans of the newer Courtyard rooms in the past, and since these are identical to what we’ve had at other new or newly renovated properties, we were happy. I was never much of a Courtyard fan in the past, especially after our first experience here, but I have to say that the chain has been making great strides in the past couple of years.

We found that our two rooms differed quite a bit. The king room felt quite a bit smaller than the room with two queens, and on top of that, the room with two queens also had a balcony overlooking the courtyard, while the king room had no balcony and overlooked the parking lot. Despite the smaller size, we weren’t at all unhappy with our king room, especially since there were only two of us in there (although it could accommodate four with the pullout couch, which would be tight). Plus, we find the newer Courtyard layout in king rooms, with the bed perpendicular to the window, to be more functional than a typical room layout anyway.

There were a couple of small room-related issues. Those staying in one of our rooms noticed that they could very easily hear their neighbors through a connecting door. Similarly, that same room also had noise issues from drunken neighbors coming back to their room in the middle of the night and creating a lot of noise that came right in from the hallway. In the other room down the hall, we heard nothing from other guests at any time, either through our connecting door or from the hallway. I guess it’s just luck of the draw regarding noise.

We didn’t really use any hotel facilities. There are a decent sized indoor/outdoor pool and a small fitness room on the first floor. I imagine the pool would get quite crowded with families at busy times of year, but it wasn’t being used very much when we were there.

We tried to get breakfast at the Bistro in the lobby on Saturday morning, but it ended up being a frustrating experience. The Bistro is set up to be a paid option for food throughout the day (there’s never been free breakfast at Courtyards), which includes a limited menu of Starbucks drinks and various hot and cold items for each meal. You order at the counter, with the food then delivered to wherever you choose to sit in the lobby. I’ve tried the Bistro at another Courtyard and found the breakfast food to be decent, but I don’t really see why you’d eat there for other meals unless there was no alternative option nearby. Although the two staff members working the Bistro seemed very nice, there was a long line of people that began to wind through the lobby waiting to order their breakfast when we were there. The staff simply wasn’t able to keep up with all of the food and drink orders, and with no employee designated to take orders, it was getting really backed up. It was also very frustrating that after waiting in the long line, the breakfast sandwiches we were interested in were totally sold out, with only one of the several breakfast sandwich options left at all. The one that was left happened to be a particularly high calorie one that we didn’t want. I don’t understand why they didn’t have more breakfast options in stock, especially since it was still pretty early in the morning at the time. What was supposed to be a very convenient breakfast option right in the hotel ended up being a big waste of time. Luckily there is a Starbucks right by the hotel, only about a minute drive out of the parking lot, or alternatively a five-minute walk down an internal office park road that isn’t busy. We were able to get everything we needed at Starbucks.

In terms of the hotel’s location, it’s on McLaws Circle, right off of Pocahontas Trail. This is basically a quiet office park setting, with a couple of shopping centers on one end, where you can find the Starbucks and a couple of restaurants that are within walking distance, such as the Whaling Company. Across Pocahontas Trail (a main road), which I wouldn’t want to cross on foot, there are a couple of fast food places right there, as well as another shopping center with a couple of restaurants. This section of Williamsburg doesn’t have nearly as many stores, restaurants, and other touristy things as other parts, but it does put you very close to Busch Gardens if that’s your main attraction (it’s maybe a 3 minute drive from the Courtyard to Busch Gardens, if that), but all of Williamsburg is easily navigable by car anyway. Colonial Williamsburg is only about five minutes up the road in the opposite direction, and the much busier sections along the Bypass and Richmond Road with their rows of hotels, chain restaurants, and outlet stores are still within 10-15 minutes of the Courtyard depending on where you’re going. To some extent, I find it much calmer and nicer to stay on the less developed end of Williamsburg by the Courtyard, and do the little extra driving back and forth if I want to go to things on Richmond Road or elsewhere.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at the Courtyard. This hotel has come such a long way in the past couple of years, thanks to a full renovation that really fixed up everything and didn’t seem to cut corners. The rooms are still in great condition and the lobby has been re-done, so even if the property looks older on the outside, it’s basically a brand new Courtyard on the inside. Combined with a good location (particularly for Busch Gardens), I think this is a really solid option for Williamsburg. I wouldn’t hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a nicer view facing the inner courtyard, while odd numbered rooms have park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Courtyards seem to be replacing bedding in some of the older hotels and this one had it. The beds were great. The bathroom is a little small. We were in a suite, so I would have preferred adding a little more space for shutting the door than to have such a big living area. Overall though, was a great stay.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area

Address: 470 McLaws Circle, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary style hotel desgined for business and leisure trevelers located off Route 60 East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Courtyard Williamsburg
Williamsburg Courtyard
Williamsburg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.