We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updating, but fun for Thanksgiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Menifee, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“needs updating, but fun for Thanksgiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Our unit was a 1 bedroom on the second floor with a full kitchen, which was ok in size and amenities for 2 adults and 2 kids. However, the furniture is shabby, the sofabed was awful and the kitchen really just a small area in the living room and difficult to use. If you do want to cook, its a good idea to bring spice packets, condiments and other non-perishable basics from home so you don't have to buy full sizes upon arrival. The nearby grocery stores are decent as are the many family restaurants. The pool is outdoor and only open in the summer.

It is a short drive to Colonial Williamsburg which the kids liked a lot, especially on Thanksgiving with the traditional food. Other days we enjoyed the historic taverns with the group games and songs. The 1 hour drives to other living-history sites were only worth doing because we had plenty of time and knew we wouldn't be back in the area again while the kids were still young enough to be interested. More valuable, for us, was the 2 hour drive to D.C. to spend a long day exploring the Smithsonians. I didn't know that even the zoo was free! We packed snacks and lunch at the condo, drove up and parked at a Metro stop and zipped around all day on the excellent public transit system. Tons of fun!

  • Liked — near Colonial Williamsburg, private bedroom, able to prepare simple meals
  • Disliked — shabby, run down, uncomfortable beds and furniture
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    35
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
69
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to this place after reading some of the negative reviews. The property was very pretty with spacious grounds, fountains and a pool. Our room was in building 4, an upstairs unit. We had one bedroom and a pull out sofabed. The furniture was colonial style. We had a dining room, kitchen with new corian counters, the bathrooms had corian counters, as well as the new bathroom sinks, new tiles in the bathroom, and new wood floor in the kitchen. In the bathroom we had one shower with a large sink with counter and toilet and then a door led to a second bathroom minus the toilet but with another sink and jacuzzi tub. We also had a fireplace which we used one night. There was also a balcony outside of our bedroom which we enjoyed sitting on in the morning and at night. It was very quiet and we didn't experience any noisey neighbors. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and updated
  • Disliked — No internet access in this development
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Upon arrival, we were checked in quickly and courteously. Our unit was a second floor, one bedroom deluxe. We are a family of four. The master bedroom was clean, had a nice view of the property, and a dated but serviceable bathroom/shower with washer/dryer. All of those things were fine. The shower is a stall shower w/a curtain that tends to get the floor wet, so using a towel or two on the floor is a good idea. There was a large jacuzzi tub in a separate area attached to the bathroom. The living room was large enough to accomodate our two twin size airmattresses which we usually bring when there are not twin beds for our kids to sleep in. There was not a dvd player in the unit, only a vcr. The dining area is small but fine for a family of four. We found the kitchen to have everything you might need. They did supply us with dish detergent, a towel, and some coffee/filter packages. The pool was a short walk away. It seemed a bit old, but seemed clean enough and was not too crowded. All in all, the unit was fine. Not the fanciest place we've ever been, but certainly for week in historic Williamsburg, this was a family friendly location. We did not have any problems with noise. It was very quiet. You could not ask for a better location -- five minutes or less to everyplace you want to go!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, mi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We were supposed to stay at the Homewood Suites but as they were having serious a/c problems and it was 103 degrees outside, they had us moved to this property. It was marginal.

PROS
Loads of space. We were given both an A and a B unit so we had room to move. Our unit was 19-101A and B.
Washing machine/dryer in unit. Soap provided for 4 loads was a nice touch.
a/c worked great!
outdoor pool was nice
good location - close to Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country and many restaurants
pretty grounds

CONS
BUGS - my husband killed at least 6, including spiders and beetles
BEDS were horribly uncomfortable
bedspreads, linens and blankets were in AWFUL condition - stained, ripped - I washed the linens myself to make sure they were clean before I let my kids sleep on them.
AWFUL smell when you entered building from outside
floor in one bathroom was disgusting - dirty, discolored and worn. I only used the other bathroom.
Paint on doors was peeling

Quite simply, this property is older and showing serious signs of wear and neglect. I will never even consider purchasing a Wyndham timeshare based on our experience here. There are many other choices in Williamsburg - go there.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.