We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read all prior reviews and we (4 of us...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southeastern Massachusetts
1 review
“Read all prior reviews and we (4 of us...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Read all prior reviews and we (4 of us) were very pleasantly surprised with this resort! We went in early May and it was very quiet and facilities not crowded probably because kids still in school. Our resort two bedroom unit was on the first floor. You could hear walking above from second floor occupants but nothing too distracting. The location is perfect - very central to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown and lots of reasonable restaurants close by. We were NOT nagged to buy a time share. We simply said "no thanks" to the welcome breakfast. Don't hesitate to check in to this jewel of a resort. And use their sister resorts amenities. We used their pool and fitness center a short drive away then drove back to our more peaceful accommodations!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    79
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
98
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I booked a 3 day getaway at Patriot's Place from 12/28. We came home after 2 nights. We had a 1 bedroom unit. We last stayed at Patriot's Place about 10 years ago. They've updated the furnishings and have re-done the bathrooms but needed to address some other issues too. First, it's awful to be on the first floor, the construction is so poor that when your neighbor walks across the floor above you it's LOUD! The first night they were up to 12:30 and the 2nd night I called at 2:30AM to ask they to try to be quiet. We were planning to spend the next day in Colonial Williamsburg and had lights out at 11pm. The gentleman who answered apologized and said that they were going to be shortly but 7am came very early! We were so tired we just came home!

The kitchen cabinets are way too high. They do supply a stepstool and you need it if you want anything on any of the shelves but the first one. They've re-done the bathrooms removing the jetted tub and replacing it with a shallow soaking tub. The bathroom sinks are nice but very tall and it's awkward if not impossible to get near the mirror to apply makeup.

Check-in was quick and as owners we were offered 2 colonial Williamsburg passes for 45 minutes of our time. We ended up wasting the day there, 6 hours. It was our fault for just not leaving. DO NOT attend a sales presentation or update unless you can be very firm.

Check-out was also very quick. The location is great, just a couple miles to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor's center. Hint: If you are going just to walk around park behind the Sheild's Tavern. We usually do that and then have lunch.

We enjoy Williamsburg but I will stay at Patriot's Place again only if I know I have an upstairs unit.

By the way this property has a fireplace in the 1 bedroom units. Take firelogs if you want to use it. There is a starter amount of basic supplies, plenty for a few days. The Ramada Inn 1776 is closed. Check-in is in one of the units. Look for signs directing you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

my wife and i stayed in a studio style unit where the bedroom, kitchen, living area was all in one area, no separate room except the bath.

Pros:

1. nice grounds
2. friendly staff
3. easy check in
4. nice furnishings
5. kitchen utensils are quality items

Cons
1. Studio design is way too small
2. no dishwasher
3. no exhaust fan in kitchen
4. oven is inadequate
5. raised stains on blankets
6. no countertop space
7. refrigerator is too small
8. heating /AC causes studio to tremble.
9. no accessible washer/dryer unit
10. had to pay for wi-fi internet

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We were apprehensive about our condo after reading some of the reviews about Patriot's Place regarding the noise level and cleanliness, but found it to be the opposite. We were checked in within five minutes and never called to attend a TimeShare offering. Our one bedroom condo was recently renovated with granite countertops, washer/dryer, 2 showers, and new carpet. We found the location to be convenient to all the attractions and felt the condo was the best part of our vacation. We purchased our condo on Skyauction.com for a very reasonable price. Our recommendation would be to purchase a city map of Williamsburg and locate the grocery stores, restaurants, etc. before you start exploring. We went on the tour bus to Washington, DC for a day through Tidewater Tours (Wyndam bus tour was sold out) and had a wonderful day and it is well worth the price of ticket, which included 2 meals and all fees at Arlington Cemetery. Internet service was easily purchased through WAYPORT and provided excellent service for $30 for a week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TriCities, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

The next door neighbors were very noisy even after midnight from children knocking to be let inside, and what sounded like vaccum cleaners going on. The doors did not allow privacy, as you could hear the noise that went on from the neighbor's. If you want any sleep at night, do not stay at this place... as you will not get any rest. The studio room had a sofa, but was not a sleeper sofa like most had. The kitchen was quite small and had no pans for cooking in, except for a pot to cook with. The refrigerator was quite small with just enough room for some soft drinks, or maybe yogurt, but not for frozen.
The bathroom was nice with no complaints. The only problems were the neighbors who were extremally noisy, and loud. The other problem was the door was not sound proof enough, and left around 2" (My estimation)on the bottom of the door where a large amount of the noise came through, including bad smells such as burned food. These problems which were not addressed by the staff very well, as they said it was the last week of vacationing, and they were completely booked with no extra rooms available anywhere. They also did not address the complaint of the noise level either. The problem of noise interfered with our vacation to the extent that we did not get very much rest, and because of this slept in. We had a time schedule to be able to see everything such as Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Busch Gardens, and the lack of sleep interfered with us having a good vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here in August of 2009. This place is part of a timeshare group owned by Wyndam. The buildings and grounds are very well maintained with a lot of land surrounding everything. The buildings and parking areas are nice and the crews keep the outdoors areas very clean.

Inside, well, that is not so great. The rooms are dark and dreary and after about 2 hours in this place and the white socks we were wearing were dirty - this was from the carpeted areas. Deters you from ever going barefoot.

The noise levels in this place in the evenings is off the charts. Unlike a hotel where you can call the front desk if you encounter loud unruly guests - at Patriots Place you are stuck if you get other families in your building who have no consideration for others. We hit the jackpot. We were below what sounded to be 500 pound gorillas with bowling balls that they dropped every 5 to 10 minutes. The folks next door weren't that much better. There were 3 units in our building. 2 of them appeared to be occupied by people who knew each other because they spent from 7 pm to 11 pm each evening running back and forth between the rooms and slamming the door each time they exited and entered. They seemed to have no clue that someone else was in the building because they often had loud conversations with kids, etc in their party while standing in front of our door.

We also had the pleasure of having an adjoining door to the room next door in our bedroom so you could basically hear their tv, talking etc and again, it was loud. The a/c units - all 4 of them - sat outside our window so we were subjected to them going on and off - though sometimes they would drown out a tiny bit of noise. To show you how bad the noise really was - when my toddler sons went to bed, to drown out some noise, we had a sound machine at the highest level, the fan on in the bedroom and towels stuffed under the adjoining room door just to get it to a level so they could at least sleep for a little bit before the door slamming started again. Also the 1/2 inch or bigger space under the front door caused the bedroom door to stick - a nice added vacuum effect.

The swimming pool is a bit on the small side - sigh, no lifeguard, no one to monitor the kids who are throwing balls and running all over the place - because their parents sent them over for the most part unattended. There were no towels when we got there and we didn't stay long because we had to worry about being hit in the head by one of the many ill mannered children.

You get what you pay for. We were there as part of a family owned timeshare. I will never do that again and learned the hard way. Next time we will stay at Kingsmill or somewhere nicer and where sure, you pay for a nice place, but at least you can sleep at night. and your feet stay clean. I could go on and on.....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland,Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We ( A family of 3) purchased a 3 night stay on Ebay ($279) 6/22-6/25 and it was worth every penny. Check in good (sales pitch was offered but we politely refused) and that was the end of the pitch. Location not a problem finding the resort,yes sign was a little small, but we were on the look-out for it. Rooms were good they consisted of the entire 1st floor
bldg# 41-102,103 slept a total of 8 ppl. Very clean. No noise at all as some reviews complained about. only minor problems Toilet in 1 unit was not properly secured.
I would recommened this to others Busch Gardens 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;