We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YIKES. Loudest, loudest, loudest place, did I say loud?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“YIKES. Loudest, loudest, loudest place, did I say loud?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here in August of 2009. This place is part of a timeshare group owned by Wyndam. The buildings and grounds are very well maintained with a lot of land surrounding everything. The buildings and parking areas are nice and the crews keep the outdoors areas very clean.

Inside, well, that is not so great. The rooms are dark and dreary and after about 2 hours in this place and the white socks we were wearing were dirty - this was from the carpeted areas. Deters you from ever going barefoot.

The noise levels in this place in the evenings is off the charts. Unlike a hotel where you can call the front desk if you encounter loud unruly guests - at Patriots Place you are stuck if you get other families in your building who have no consideration for others. We hit the jackpot. We were below what sounded to be 500 pound gorillas with bowling balls that they dropped every 5 to 10 minutes. The folks next door weren't that much better. There were 3 units in our building. 2 of them appeared to be occupied by people who knew each other because they spent from 7 pm to 11 pm each evening running back and forth between the rooms and slamming the door each time they exited and entered. They seemed to have no clue that someone else was in the building because they often had loud conversations with kids, etc in their party while standing in front of our door.

We also had the pleasure of having an adjoining door to the room next door in our bedroom so you could basically hear their tv, talking etc and again, it was loud. The a/c units - all 4 of them - sat outside our window so we were subjected to them going on and off - though sometimes they would drown out a tiny bit of noise. To show you how bad the noise really was - when my toddler sons went to bed, to drown out some noise, we had a sound machine at the highest level, the fan on in the bedroom and towels stuffed under the adjoining room door just to get it to a level so they could at least sleep for a little bit before the door slamming started again. Also the 1/2 inch or bigger space under the front door caused the bedroom door to stick - a nice added vacuum effect.

The swimming pool is a bit on the small side - sigh, no lifeguard, no one to monitor the kids who are throwing balls and running all over the place - because their parents sent them over for the most part unattended. There were no towels when we got there and we didn't stay long because we had to worry about being hit in the head by one of the many ill mannered children.

You get what you pay for. We were there as part of a family owned timeshare. I will never do that again and learned the hard way. Next time we will stay at Kingsmill or somewhere nicer and where sure, you pay for a nice place, but at least you can sleep at night. and your feet stay clean. I could go on and on.....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    85
    44
    26
    18
See reviews for
103
80
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockland,Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We ( A family of 3) purchased a 3 night stay on Ebay ($279) 6/22-6/25 and it was worth every penny. Check in good (sales pitch was offered but we politely refused) and that was the end of the pitch. Location not a problem finding the resort,yes sign was a little small, but we were on the look-out for it. Rooms were good they consisted of the entire 1st floor
bldg# 41-102,103 slept a total of 8 ppl. Very clean. No noise at all as some reviews complained about. only minor problems Toilet in 1 unit was not properly secured.
I would recommened this to others Busch Gardens 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Turn into the road that shows a sign for Ramada 1776. Small sign for Patriots place!!

We, family of 4, stayed at the Wyndham Patriots Place in the week of June 14th 2009. It looked to me as all renovations have been completed, the pool is open and all seems well. Check-in on Sunday at 3pm took about 5 minutes, good customer service upon (Randy) check -in. No push for additional tours and packages. They said that the place is full and I believe it. It is still quite all around. We had a 1 bedroom appartment with the sofa sleeper for the kids. The appartment is what you expect to get. It has all the essentials and you are given a refresh kit upon check-in.
Is it noisy? Yes, if you let your kids run around and do not control them, otherwise it is like any other appartment you have ever been in. So again, it is what you make of it. This is a family resort, expect some noise and you will be okay.
The grounds are well kept, everything is clean all around. There are not many amenities at the resort itself. For a gym and bigger pool, you have to go the the sister resorts down the street (5 min drive) There is not really a work out/walk trail or anything, again, the gyms are at the sister resorts. The unit could use some more plates, glasses, knives, forks etc., we had 4 of everything which means we have to run the (very loud) dishwasher frequently.
There were plenty of towels for a family of 4, if you are going to use the sleeper sofa, get some pillows, you will need them. No recycling opportunity, anywhere on-site. Unless you have a 2 bedroom unit, there are free laundry services at the pool.
Best grocery stores around are Ukropps (no alcohol sold) and Farmers Fresh(huge wine & beer selection) Really nice quality food/fresh fish selection. Walmart is a 15 min drive. Wifi is available via Wayport, you will need a code or be a member. Speed and coverage will be sufficient for most ( $30 for 1 week if you need to buy here, sign up online when here)
So, in short, if you need a good clean place to stay that is kid friendly while you are off during the day and come back tired and just want to hang out. It is what you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We just got back from our vacation at Wyndham Patriots Place and we already want to go back. As far as the previous review goes, I don't know what happened with the noise. It was so quiet, you could hear a pin drop the whole time we were there. You could be sitting on the balcony and shut the door, nobody could hear you inside. The grounds were exquisite and well taken care of. The pool was a little bit chilly, but very clean. The resort was close to everything. From shopping to theme parks to grocery stores, they were all a very short drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

First, people with disabilities beware! We asked for a ground floor and got the second floor......they did move us to another building on first floor. Laundry facilities are sparse. The building our studio was in had no immediate laundry area, you needed to go outside and around to the main portion of the building use these facilities (1 appartment size stack unit). When they said studio with a partial kitchen I had no idea that when you opened the oven you could also grab a cold drink out of the refirgerator, the oven door would not open without the refrigerator door opening as well. Dont plan on bringing to many items you intend to cook , there is no space to even put a box of crackers. You can hear every footstep from the next floor up. I have purchased into three Wyndham resorts and stay in several that I did not have ownership in, never have I been as displeased as with this resort. I suppose if you were not an owner and had'nt spent any time in other resorts you wouldn't understand why this adventure was such a let down.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed for a partial week at the end of May and could not have been more pleased with the Patriots' Place. The grounds were landscaped nicely, and we liked all of the trees in the area. We also liked the design of the units - a very nice little community. And it was all about 5 minutes from the Williamsburg sites.

We had a four person unit, but it was just my husband and I, so we had plenty of room. It would have been comfortable for 4 too. Everything was clean and seemed rather new. We liked the layout of the rooms and the little porch on the back. It faced the woods and was very private. We also liked the double bathroom with 2 showers and the huge tub.

We didn't take advantage of the things to do at Patriots Place, but there was a tennis court, pool, playground, and just some nice scenery to take a walk. They also said we could use the amenities at the other Wyndhams down the road if we wanted. So there would be plenty to do on site too, but we mostly did site-seeing in the area.

Our only complaint about the rooms would be the noise from other units. At night we could hear all of the footsteps from the people above us, and the locked adjoining door to the next unit let in a lot of noise from their TV and conversations. But our bedroom was on the opposite side of the unit, so that wasn't a problem at night.

We would definitely stay here again. It is a beautiful area, and Patriots Place is a great place to stay to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malden ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Location is great - minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. Had a one bedroom, very clean. My only complaint is kitchen is very small - husband felt TV was small - but we were out alot - plently to do in Williamsburg. The staff was friendly and helpful - we asked for a folding table for the computer and they brought one within the hour. Did make the mistake of sales pitch from Wyndham - very high pressure-lousy breakfast-but I did get 2 tickets to Bush Gardens for 45 instead of 120. But I would not do that again - even though we are RCI members.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.