We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good location, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Turn into the road that shows a sign for Ramada 1776. Small sign for Patriots place!!

We, family of 4, stayed at the Wyndham Patriots Place in the week of June 14th 2009. It looked to me as all renovations have been completed, the pool is open and all seems well. Check-in on Sunday at 3pm took about 5 minutes, good customer service upon (Randy) check -in. No push for additional tours and packages. They said that the place is full and I believe it. It is still quite all around. We had a 1 bedroom appartment with the sofa sleeper for the kids. The appartment is what you expect to get. It has all the essentials and you are given a refresh kit upon check-in.
Is it noisy? Yes, if you let your kids run around and do not control them, otherwise it is like any other appartment you have ever been in. So again, it is what you make of it. This is a family resort, expect some noise and you will be okay.
The grounds are well kept, everything is clean all around. There are not many amenities at the resort itself. For a gym and bigger pool, you have to go the the sister resorts down the street (5 min drive) There is not really a work out/walk trail or anything, again, the gyms are at the sister resorts. The unit could use some more plates, glasses, knives, forks etc., we had 4 of everything which means we have to run the (very loud) dishwasher frequently.
There were plenty of towels for a family of 4, if you are going to use the sleeper sofa, get some pillows, you will need them. No recycling opportunity, anywhere on-site. Unless you have a 2 bedroom unit, there are free laundry services at the pool.
Best grocery stores around are Ukropps (no alcohol sold) and Farmers Fresh(huge wine & beer selection) Really nice quality food/fresh fish selection. Walmart is a 15 min drive. Wifi is available via Wayport, you will need a code or be a member. Speed and coverage will be sufficient for most ( $30 for 1 week if you need to buy here, sign up online when here)
So, in short, if you need a good clean place to stay that is kid friendly while you are off during the day and come back tired and just want to hang out. It is what you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
100
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We just got back from our vacation at Wyndham Patriots Place and we already want to go back. As far as the previous review goes, I don't know what happened with the noise. It was so quiet, you could hear a pin drop the whole time we were there. You could be sitting on the balcony and shut the door, nobody could hear you inside. The grounds were exquisite and well taken care of. The pool was a little bit chilly, but very clean. The resort was close to everything. From shopping to theme parks to grocery stores, they were all a very short drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

First, people with disabilities beware! We asked for a ground floor and got the second floor......they did move us to another building on first floor. Laundry facilities are sparse. The building our studio was in had no immediate laundry area, you needed to go outside and around to the main portion of the building use these facilities (1 appartment size stack unit). When they said studio with a partial kitchen I had no idea that when you opened the oven you could also grab a cold drink out of the refirgerator, the oven door would not open without the refrigerator door opening as well. Dont plan on bringing to many items you intend to cook , there is no space to even put a box of crackers. You can hear every footstep from the next floor up. I have purchased into three Wyndham resorts and stay in several that I did not have ownership in, never have I been as displeased as with this resort. I suppose if you were not an owner and had'nt spent any time in other resorts you wouldn't understand why this adventure was such a let down.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed for a partial week at the end of May and could not have been more pleased with the Patriots' Place. The grounds were landscaped nicely, and we liked all of the trees in the area. We also liked the design of the units - a very nice little community. And it was all about 5 minutes from the Williamsburg sites.

We had a four person unit, but it was just my husband and I, so we had plenty of room. It would have been comfortable for 4 too. Everything was clean and seemed rather new. We liked the layout of the rooms and the little porch on the back. It faced the woods and was very private. We also liked the double bathroom with 2 showers and the huge tub.

We didn't take advantage of the things to do at Patriots Place, but there was a tennis court, pool, playground, and just some nice scenery to take a walk. They also said we could use the amenities at the other Wyndhams down the road if we wanted. So there would be plenty to do on site too, but we mostly did site-seeing in the area.

Our only complaint about the rooms would be the noise from other units. At night we could hear all of the footsteps from the people above us, and the locked adjoining door to the next unit let in a lot of noise from their TV and conversations. But our bedroom was on the opposite side of the unit, so that wasn't a problem at night.

We would definitely stay here again. It is a beautiful area, and Patriots Place is a great place to stay to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malden ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Location is great - minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. Had a one bedroom, very clean. My only complaint is kitchen is very small - husband felt TV was small - but we were out alot - plently to do in Williamsburg. The staff was friendly and helpful - we asked for a folding table for the computer and they brought one within the hour. Did make the mistake of sales pitch from Wyndham - very high pressure-lousy breakfast-but I did get 2 tickets to Bush Gardens for 45 instead of 120. But I would not do that again - even though we are RCI members.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnemede, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Let me start by saying, we have stayed a several Wyndham properties and this was by no means the worst.
Check-in was quick and easy. They tried to give us a "welcome package"...I just told them we would be back later and they never bothered us again.
The grounds are lovely. They have a small park near a pond, a volleyball court, and an outdoor pool. It is very peaceful and would be a great place to take a walk...if you have time for that...lol!
The units look like townehouses. There is a shared entrance for 4 units...we had the 2 units on the bottom floor. Our unit was a 1 bedroom master suite, and our guests had a 1 bedroom efficiency studio. Together they made up a 2 bedroom suite. They were nice and bright and clean.
Our 1 bedroom had:
A bedroom with sliding doors to a deck.
A bathroom with a small, seperate bathtub and sink area. The shower area had a washer & dryer, which took forever to dry clothes.
A living room with a fireplace, an entertainment center, 2 chairs, and a sleeper sofa, which had 2 large stains on the mattress!!! This was a huge problem, because we planned on using it for our kids. There was a door that led to the deck.
The deck was average in size, but the chairs were the cheap plastic kind.
A dining room that was small, but functional.
A kitchen that was full size and fully stocked with all our cooking needs. The appliances were not updated, just painted over...the painted drips were visible...but, they were in working order.
The studio had:
A bedroom
A bathroom
A seperate living area with an entertainment center, a sleeper sofa(again with stains!!!) and a small kitchen area, with a small table and 2 chairs.
The kitchen had everything you would need to cook, just on a smaller scale.
There was a total of 4 old televisions, which had universal remotes that didn't work.
So, all in all, the rooms were acceptable, nothing so big that I would not go back.

So, why never again?.....The noise is out of this world! It was as if the people upstairs were in the room with us...and they were an older couple. I can't even imagine how horrible it would have been to have a family like ours up there! I could here the TV in our living room, with the bedroom and bathroom doors shut. The TV wasn't even loud, when sitting in the living room. The walls actually made it worse. We had the kids play in the studio, while we sat in the dining room of the larger room. Well, the noise was just too much...and that was with both adjoining doors closed! The walls are made of tissue paper and spit! Which is why the room only gets 1 star. So, never again! It's a shame, since the area really is lovely. But, it doesn't matter how it looks, if you can't sleep due to noise.

Another problem...bees!!! They were several large holly bushes by the doors, and they attracted large amounts of bees!!! The kids were terrified, and would run past as fast as they could.

We did go to Kingsgate to use the arcade. It was a madhouse! The pool, arcade and tennis courts were all packed. It was nice to only pay $5 for 7 people to play video games, but quite a few were broken. I'm guessing some of the people in there were not even from the resorts, since I never had to show indentification to get an access card. It's so busy, they couldn't even see who was going in or out. I could've held the door open for anyone and they wouldn't have noticed. Too bad, because it's a great idea.

I think we'll stick to Bonnet Creek and Glacier Canyon Lodge...or a resort with similar qualities:)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at Patriot's place back in September and loved it. We had a one bedroom suite that was very spacious and clean. We learned a lot from reading the reviews here on tripadvisor. Be sure to ask for a renovated room. The bathroom was awesome. It was like two bathrooms in one. It had a stand up shower and also another shower which was in a huge round jetted tub. The few complaints I have is that there is no wireless internet. I love to surf the internet on my laptop. Also the sign that says Patriot's Place is to small and the walls were thin. You could hear everything next door. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.