We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around & Still Great!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around & Still Great!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Well, my wife and I recently returned home after another wonderful vacation in Williamsburg, and our new "2nd home", Patriots Place. We just love the place. When we first arrived, we were given a condo in the older section, and had some noise issues with a neighbor(believe me, if we complain and we did, then there was a hell of a lot of noise), we complained to the desk, and voila! they moved us down the road a piece, and into a newer condo. It was very unexpected, and they treated us marvelously. Thanks and kudos to girls at the desk.

Our vacation was wonderful. Here's a brief synopsis: we visited Historic Jamestown, Jamestown Settlement; Yorktown Riverfront, Old Towne and Battlefield site; Appomattox, Petersburg and Kill Devil Hill's in the Outer Banks. When we visited last year, it was our honeymoon, and we never imagined that we could have more fun. We were wrong!!!! Also, while in Yorktown, we took a sail on the S/V SERENITY, located in the harbor. Wow!!!! There is so much to do in this area, and the accomodations at Patriots Place made our trip much more enjoyable. There is a lot of renovation going on at Patriots Place, but we were not bothered by noise from the construction, at all.

Williamsburg and Patriots Place is going to be our annual vacation retreat. There is so much to do and see and we haven't even scratched the surface. We highly recommend Patriots Place to everyone. There is not a lot to do for families with small children, but Kingsgate and Governor's Green are just up the road. Thanks again to the wonderful folks at Patriots Place!!!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quality of service from staff.
  • Disliked — Noise in first condo. Problem rectified by staff, no problem.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    68
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed for a long weekend while going to Busch Gardens and Howl-O-Scream, we had a great stay here. Units were great for a family of 4, only one bathroom but it was huge with lots of storeage space. I do not think our unit had been remodeled yet but they were working on many of them in the area while we were there. It was a little dated, but clean. We even used the fireplace, kids loved sleeping on the sofa bed in front of the fire. SIx mile drive to Busch Gardens and lots of resturants very close by.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

The Wyndham is a average condo resort condo unit from what we've seen. Rooms a little small, but furnishings and kitchen served it's purpose. Clean and service friendly and helpful. Walls thin - we could hear a baby next door through the night. Location good - in the center of all major attractions - Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, and within 15 minutes for Jamestowna nd Yorktown. Right on main shopping and restuarent strip but yet set back and private. Pool was clean and well supervised. While the geease a nice to look at, they crap all over - so watch your step when walking on the lawns. We were using a friends condo, and never got pressured to purchase on of our own.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We booked a week stay at this resort & we had a great VA vacation. Only problem was, we had a room on the main level & you're able to hear everything next door & above you as well! Plus, it needs to be renovated!!! Other than those things, it was a nice relaxing vacation.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I stayed at Patriots Place the week of 7/26-8/2 2008. I had booked this using a friends time share account and was staying as a guest under their name. We arrived and had no problems at all getting checked in. The staff were very courteous and helpful during the process, giving us directions to our room, and a gift bag and coupon books. Also they gave us a coupon for Busch Gardens tickets which was definitley a plus saving $15 dollars a ticket. We were not solicited at anytime to buy a time share. Most likely because we're only 21, and most time shares require you to be 25 years old.

The room we stayed in was a studio size apartment. It had a Queen size bed, and a little kitchen that included an oven a two burner stove a mini fridge and microwave. All of which seemed clean and in really great shape. The kitchen had all necessary utensils and dish ware. The room over all seemed pretty cleaned and looked as if it had been renovated in the past year. The bathroom was really clean and had a very large sink and mirror. The outlet in the bathroom was broken, and you could not use their hair dryer or plug in a curling/flat iron if you needed to. Also our room was connected to another by a door. And everyone really knows how that can be if it's not well insulated. Our neighbors did have young children with them and were a noisy at times. This was really the only big problem we had. We generally had a great time and would return. This location is great if your looking for somewhere close to Williamsburg and Busch Gardens and want to be off the main highway and back in a nice wooded area.

  • Liked — Great place for a great price
  • Disliked — Noisy Neighbors
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

After a 10 hr drive we drove into Patriots Place and were nicely surprised on how beautiful the grounds were. At check in, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Off to the condo. After checking out the rooms, the staff called to see if you need anything! Very nice! The condo itself was decorated in colonial style and very clean. I would highly recommend staying here for families.There is so much to do around this area and they have activities for the kids in the complex itself . One night was a karaoke party at the pool that was so much fun! This place has everything you need to have a wonderful vacation. We sure did!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Our family stayed here for 1 week and it was wonderful. I was a little worried about staying here given the negative reviews of the past but I did not experience anything of the sort. Check in process was quick and smooth, no surprises. We got hit up for the time share sit down but we just said no and that was the end of that. The grounds are beautiful, something out of a movie, typical colonial Williamsburg. The room was clean and well stocked. The linens were clean and not damaged or worn. There was a little bit of poor ventilation in the condo while cooking but we just opened the windows. No big deal. We didn't have an issue with noise from other guests at all. The condo had a picture perfect balcony that looked out into the woods. Very nice. The pool was great, plenty of room, never had to fight for seating. The hotel was centrally located, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and very close to Busch Gardens. I would recommend this property in a heartbeat to anyone that wants a family friendly stay.

  • Liked — The grounds and location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#30 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.