We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We received a wonderful welcome from the receptionist, Angela, who not only made us feel at home but sorted out a few problems we had during the course of the week without any fuss,.
The site was very clean, tidy but quiet. Certainly not for a family as there are almost no facilities for children. It was a good base for exploring Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    80
    41
    25
    17
See reviews for
99
72
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Currently spending our spring break here in Williamsburg. We have a nicely redone (except carpets and they could use it) unit for 8. There are two kitchens and the bigger of the two is quite well appointed. The hotel does leave starter packs for dishes only so bring more with you if you don't want to buy before you leave.

Our suites include washer/dryer as fireplace and large jacuzzi tub. There are also three tv/DVD player sets that my teens are enjoying. We knew about the DVD players and brought lots of movies from home. This is where the amenities end for older kids-pool is seasonal. It does look like there is a well kept playground if your kids are smaller.

The one really negative experience is the "non-sales" sales presentation we agreed to. Our own fault. We were told at check in that RCI (our vacation company) had been purchased by Wyndham and asked if we knew that and how to now get the most from our RCI membership. Only one hour. Hmm, didn't know that and since it was info and not sales then ok. Naive as RCI was purchased by Wyndham in 2006. This was most certainly a sales presentation and at the two and 1/2h hour mark the pressure to buy was put on. We've been to a number of sales presentations and this was by far the most insistent group of salesmen we've met up with. Enjoy your vacation, don't waste your time on this and just decline right at check in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This resort is very nice and a great place to stay while in Williamsburg. Our one bedroom unit comes completely remodeled and it is very neat. Colonial Old Williamsburg is less than five minutes away. The resort isn't far from the Movie Tavern, a great experience while watching a movie. The area is full of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited from January 30-Feb 2, 2014, during a cold snap. Staff asked us to leave the water dripping because they had experienced frozen pipes. The hot water pipes in our two bedroom lockout units froze two nights in a row, even with the water dripping. The repairmen arrived by 8:30 a.m., but delayed our morning routines. Don't visit in winter!!

Also, the entrance sign is not lighted at all and we missed the turn. Staff explained that the sign is owned by a closed hotel, so the electricity was cut off. It seems like they should arrange an alternate sign while the vacant hotel is being rebuilt. The former hotel is a huge pile of rubble in the middle of the two sides of the Wyndham resort. Interesting view, but did not affect our stay. It might not be so easy to ignore noise and dust once they actually begin the rebuilding.

Otherwise, the property was fine. We had minimal contact with the staff other than calling housekeeping to get the water pipes repaired and the repairmen were courteous. The unit was a little worn, but nicely furnished. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to prepare simple meals. The fireplace worked well, although the damper was permanently open. The fake logs are available at the local Food Lion grocery store, where we got other provisions. If you are most interested in seeing the sights and not doing anything at the resort property itself, then this is a good choice -- just not if the weather is below freezing.

Green Features: Wyndham followed standard practices such as not changing towels daily and asking us to separate recyclables.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visiting last part of January 2014. Checking in was easy and the people in the registration office were nice enough. The 2 bedroom lock out was nice enough and tried to be updated but the kitchen cupboards were old, bathroom floor tile not grouted well but not terrible. Larger side had nice soaker tub, good sized living room and kitchen and dining room. Fire place in living room is great but Wyndham requires you to use dura logs but leaves it to you to find and purchase them.

Couches which are hide a beds are not too comfortable to sit on but bedroom beds were good with nice bedding, extras, lots of pillows, etc. kitchen had everything we needed.

Now for winter. Williamsburg doesn't get a lot of winter and so they seem unprepared. Their infrastructure doesn't handle it too well. The second night we were there the heat in our unit quit. They offered us portable heaters until it could be fixed but then decided to move us. The move was good but we spent part of our vacation packing and moving rather than seeing the sights. The third morning in the new unit, the hot water line froze and we had no hot water. They did manage to thaw it but again we lost half a day of sightseeing since we chose not to shower and shave in ice cold water.

On day 4 we had to deal with 5 inches of snow. To their credit, they did plow the road and additionally, we were met with a nice surprise--the cleaned off our car.

While we did have maintenance issues noted above, the maintenance people were pleasant, professional and helpful in each instance and went above and beyond to deal with the snow fall.

This place is very close to colonial Williamsburg and in a better season would be just fine if your goal is to sightsee. There are no amenities to speak of so if you need to be entertained, I would suggest elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are some older buildings being torn down. Request a room away for the destruction. Also, some...
See more room tips
Green Features: Tankless hot water though it takes time to reach the faucet is a real electricity saver. Very enviro friendly. They also encourage recycling but dint make it easy by having a separate recycle bin in the unit.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited the first week of December and went to Williamsburg to see the Christmas decorations. This resort is 1 mile from the visitor’s center so it is relatively close, but you could not walk because of the main highways. We did not have any children and this is the off season so it was easy to park in the restored area by the Tavern parking and just walk. The one bedroom was newly remolded and in good condition. We had a kitchen, dining room, living room with fireplace which we used, and a bedroom and large bathroom with a shower, separate tub and a washing machine and dryer. The internet service worked fine after I called the toll free number for some help getting on to it. Otherwise everything was very nice. I would probably not stay here with small children there would be little for them to do. They do have an outdoor pool but that is it. Check in check out was quick and easy. We did drive over to Kingsgate to use the excerise facilities one day but they were small and we did not bother the other days.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If nothing else, Wyndham has the worst customer service we have ever experienced, not just at Patriots Place but their corporate office is even worse. Their own personnel have absolutely no clue about their resorts or their rooms and not only misinformed us but also completely screwed up our reservations and then blamed us over the course of an hour. If you are considering a timeshare - DON'T. It will be the biggest mistake and worst regret you will ever have!!
As far as the stay at Patriots Place itself...The buildings on the outside look charming and fit the 'colonial look' of the area. Amenities? They have an outdoor pool for summer guests.The 'B' rooms are smaller than my old college dorm so if you are planning an extended stay, not going to work. The 'A' rooms are spacious and well laid out. The biggest problem with Patriots Place is the cheap construction. Every step you take, even on the tile floors creaks and squeaks. The rugs are dirty and the couches smell of numerous and borderline unclean previous tenants. The kitchen is appropriately appointed but I suggest you wash everything before you use it as we had food and who knows what else dried on various items. We had to pick up dead bugs in the kitchen upon arrival. The worst part of all is the Noise. Lots and lots of noise. There are no sound barriers in these cheaply made units so you hear every word, step and bathroom moment of your neighbors on every side as they surely hear yours. Not a pleasant stay if anyone in any unit would like to move, speak, watch tv, or might (perish the thought) have to use the bathroom. Hmmm...that motel up the street is sounding better all the time!

Room Tip: For a short stay or those only dining out, 'B' rooms will do, but for prolonged visits, thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff and corporate office did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with unit cleanliness issues. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties. Please rest assured we will address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. We also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with noise from neighbors. We know it is important to feel completely relaxed when on vacation. Please feel free to reach out to the manager during your stay if this occurs in the future so that we are able to assist accordingly. Your feedback will allow us to continue improving upon our property accommodations. Thanks again for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.