We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take in all the sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to take in all the sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here in late July 2013 with my wife and 8 year old son. The grounds driving in our very well maintained. At night it is difficult to see the Wyndham sign as it is not illuminated. Check-in procedure was very smooth and very helpful after driving 12 hours to get there. We checked into a 1BR deluxe unit in a secluded area abutting the woods. The unit was very dated to the timeframe which made it wonderful. Only issue we had was with a dryer hose coming disconnected. The hot water takes a while to heat up but that is due to the tankless water heaters.

The location is ideal. We made trips to Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg just to say a few. Plenty of shopping and restaurants within a few miles. There are not many amenities at patriots place, but you have full access to amenities at Governors green and kings gate, which these two have great amenities at no charge.

Am already looking at booking another trip for next summer. Everyone had such a great time. We are wyndham owners and were treated great and sat in on an owners update which was very different as it was a group setting and not individual sales techniques.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
99
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days in April 2013 on an RCI exchange. It's located very close to Colonial Williamsburg (about 2 minutes drive) and close to many restaurants, so the location was perfect. Check-in and check-out was quick, courteous, and professional. We stayed in an upstairs 2 bedroom/2 bath unit that had plenty of room for the four of us (husband, wife, and 2 teenage sons). The bathrooms were large and clean. There was even a small (stackable) washer/dryer in the unit that we did not use, but would have if we stayed longer. The grounds are impeccably maintained; in fact they were mulching and planting beautiful seasonal flowers when we were there. The resort has a nice pool that they had just opened for the season when we were there, but it was far too cold to use it.

Our only (minor) complaint was the kitchen cabinets. They were old and tired, and the silverware drawer was falling apart. But the rest of the kitchen was fine -- the refrig, stove/oven, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker all looked new and clean.

So in summary I thought this was a great place to stay when visiting Williamsburg. I would have rated it as "Excellent" except for the kitchen cabinets, but maybe that was specific to our unit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halstead
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would definitely book to come here again, it's quiet, peaceful, condo is spotless, friendly staff. Williamsburg has great restaurants and really friendly people - I love it. I drove down to Yorktown and sat by the beach watching the boats sailing on the waters, I ate at this little quaint place and just soaked in the sun and people watched, it was very peaceful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked Patriots Place for seven nights planning to explore the area through RCI (our timeshare). Although the living room furnishings (including drapes) were a bit outdated, the kitchen and baths had been updated with granite counters. We found the two bedroom unit to be adequate for our needs. The unit was clean (although the living area was rather dark due to lack of windows). Everyone said the beds were comfortable and we all slept well. They do not replenish towels mid-week because there is a washing machine/dryer in the 2-bedroom units which we found to be fine. We just washed when we needed fresh towels. If that bothers you, this is not the place for you. We only cooked breakfasts in the unit. We did eat a couple lunches and leftovers for dinner and found the kitchen to be stocked well enough for our us.

We visited Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach from this location. One couple used the pool one day and it was refreshing. The grounds were well maintained and we did not have any issues with our unit while we were there. The staff was friendly. Please note that this is not a hotel. It is a condo and therefore doesn't provide hotel amenities.

Since it is a timeshare, when we checked in (which was late and we were tired) the staff gives you your keys but sends you to another booth for the parking pass. At the booth, they try to get you to sign up for a timeshare presentation. I told the man no, but the next morning we received a phone call way too early for our late arrival. No one ever called again or asked us to attend a presentation. Again, I know this is going to happen since I own a timeshare. I did not feel Patriots Place staff was obnoxious or pestering about the presentations so I have to say that I appreciated the staff accepting my answer. Overall, we liked Patriots Place and would return again if we were ever to visit the Williamsburg area again. I'd also recommend it to friends who want to travel to the east coast. It is not luxurious, but it was more of a resting spot for a trip (rather than a vacation) since we were sightseeing almost every day.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room. I wondered if downstairs rooms heard noises from upstairs walking. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped in Williamsburg on an unexpected trip to PA. As Wyndham owners, we tried to get a reservation at King's Gate or Governer's Green. They were booked. So we reluctantly looked at Patriot's Place. We were able to get a reservation and thought oh well it is only for a couple nights. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. For some reason we thought it was on the main highway. It is not. It is off the highway in a beautiful secluded area. The grounds are beautiful and the accommodations are in small condo units made to look like replicas of colonial houses.
The staff was very accommodating and upgraded us to a 1 bedroom deluxe unit. The unit was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were wonderful. The unit was fully equipped and had a living room, dining room area and full kitchen. It was very nice. The pool area was in the center of a green area and was small but pretty. Staying here you may use all of the facilities at King's Gate which is a short drive (about 3 minutes) away. We liked this place and we definitely will stay here again. The location is close to all the Williamsburg attractions and is a short drive to dwontown colonial Williamsburg.

Room Tip: We like the top floor anywhere we go because it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Wyndham at Patriots Place is close to all of the main attractions in Williamsburg and to great dining. The units are far enough away from the road to shut out the road noise. We truly enjoyed staying in the colonial style house. Our unit had all the comforts of home with a full kitchen, washer, dryer, and even a fireplace. The grounds have several outdoor swings, which are a great place to sit with your significant other and relax. Also there are outdoor grills close to each unit so you can grill your own steak if you would like. In addition the staff was very friendly.

Before we left we were already planning when we could come back for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This property is set up like a colonial-style housing development and is nice and quiet but still off one of the main roads in Williamsburg. It's very close to the visitor center, just a short drive. It's also close to shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room or you will hear the guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.