We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a timeshare "resort" by Wyndham. You will be asked if you want to do a tour. We did for an $80 gift card. Was not impressed with Wyndham. Especially their affiliated hotels which included the abandoned Knights Inn on the Patriot Place property. Eyesore. The unit itself was ok. Plenty of room. Pretty clean except for the few roaches we saw. (one inside the unit and 2 on the outside. This unit was up against a wooded area so you never know what critters you may see. We had an upper unit. Close to Historic area. Could walk if you don't mind the mile to and from. You have access to Wyndam Kingsgate. There is more to do on that property. The only thing Patriot Place had was a pool. This was a gifted week to us so I do not know how much this property would have cost to give a "value" opinion.

Room Tip: As everyone states, be sure to ask for an upper unit. The blender was not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    41
    26
    17
See reviews for
99
74
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at plenty of places when visiting Williamsburg..hotels and timeshare, but I have to say this was the worst ever. Wyndham has 3 properties in the area and they should probably consider tearing down this one! From the outside the place is quaint - resembling a small residential community. But as soon as I opened the door to our building I wanted to scream. I don't know who was cooking or what was on the menu, but it stunk! Once inside our unit, I was greeted by the neighbors television, which came through the walls loud and clear. I mean it was so loud, it was as if we were sharing a room with the people next door. Whatever they were cooking set off their smoke alarm, which made the stinky situation smell even worse. Then our upstairs neighbor came home...I call him King Kong, because that's what it sounded like...a gorilla stomping on the floor above us. I honestly thought he was going to come thru the ceiling. We were only in town two nights, and spent as much time away as possible to avoid the smells and noise that surrounded us. When it was finally time to sleep, the annoying sound from the fridge made falling asleep very difficult. But enough about me...the units are old and in great need of repairs and updates. Timeshares are supposed to be a step up from a hotel, but I would have much rather been at a hotel. Oh and one more thing, whatever you do, avoid the free breakfast! Those of you familiar with timeshares will know what I am talking about. We got $80 for going, but I would gladly give it back to avoid the entire scenario.

Room Tip: Request an upper level unit, at least you don' have to hear anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting an up-to-date resort. I know that Wyndham wants to keep the colonial look. However, I am sure that they could keep that look by up dating appliances (appliances were mix matched and old), exterminating (ants and other bugs everywhere), deodorizing the rooms (smelled like dirty carpet, smoke, and feet), up dating tvs/furniture (old televisions/furniture), and offerring more amenities to guest (There is only one outside pool and small basketball area. Guest have to go to other Wyndham properties in the area to use amenities). So Disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is an OK place, but nothing too great. We arrived very early in the day (10 a.m.) & let the staff know we were there and asked if at all possible we would like to check in early. Check-in is normally at 4 p.m.I realize they are under NO obligation to allow us early check-in, but letting them know that early in the morning, we were kind of expecting we could get in at maybe 1 p.m. We had 4 kids with us, so we entertained them at pool while we waited. We ended up checking in at 3:30. Gee, thanks for the great service & helping us out... knowing there were tons of units available for people who weren't even there yet. We just felt they could have cleaned our unit a *little* earlier. They obviously saved it for close to last. OK, over it. The unit itself was a good size, nice little kitchen with everything we needed. Decor was appropriate for Williamsburg. We were near the pool & a grill, so it worked well for us. We were on the go & spent little time in the unit. The pool is very nice and there are towels there so you don't have to bring them down from your room. There is also an enclosed playground for the kids... As far as location, these condos are literally 2 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg! Also a very short drive to Water Country USA & Busch Gardens!

Room Tip: We wanted to be close to the pool, but also near a grill. There is a map on the condo website &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Having contacted the resort ahead of time to coordinate some plans, I was surprised the resort manager Glenn was taking calls. He not only assisted our party with appropriate arrangements, he even checked on us during our stay despite it coinciding with his scheduled time off.

Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who made us feel they honestly cared that we enjoyed ourselves. The room was magnificent, held some wonderfully sweet surprises, and our stay was simply perfect.

We were not pestered by sales pitches, which makes me feel inclined to consider buying, and we weren't chasing a parking pass that many properties hold ransom until you sit for the pre-sales pitch.

I can't say enough wonderful things about this place. It's furnished beautifully, updated for the most part, well maintained, and staffed with people who really enjoy working there. Book it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for the week in a 1 bedroom unit on the top floor of these brick condos. The picture on trip advisor for this place shows the now vacant & run-down Kings Inn which rests at the top of the hill of Patriots Place property. The place itself is quiet and nestled among trees and hills. As far as amenities, they offer an outdoor pool, small basketball court, & a volleyball court for which you can check out the equipment. For those families looking for amenities, this is not for you. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, convenient place to stay after your long days in the Historic Triangle, Busch Gardens, & Water Country USA, then this place offers you just that. After a freak wind-damaging thunderstorm, we were without power for about 12 hours all night on Thursday the 13th and slept with the condo windows open. Luckily, there was an occasional breeze. The down side was that they use tankless water heaters; hence, there was no hot water for showers in that time! Only B condo visitors get a mid-week towel exchange but we did have a washer a dryer. I could go either way on returning here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom A side unit in the first week of June.We chose Patriots Place because we are Wyndham owners and wanted a quiet place to stay for a few days in Williamsburg.
We were greeted by very friendly welcoming staff. They really wanted to be helpful. They invited us to come back to check-in whenever we wanted tea or coffee and promised us we could get some any time between 9:00 am and 8 pm. Maintenance staff were also very friendly and would take the time to chat.
Our room was up to our Wyndham expectations and included everything we needed. We did experience a problem with the tankless hot water our second day. The breaker needed to be reset and it was no problem getting it fixed. We also had some trouble with our internet cutting out frequently. If my husband had not been a computer expert, we may have had trouble reconnecting.
Patriots Place is a beautiful resort if you appreciate the historical appearance. The outsides are made to look like an old village and the insides are furnished to look like the 1700's.
There is a nice swimming pool onsite but if you want to use other amenities, you have to go to their sister resort Kingsgate.
We enjoyed our time at Patriots place. We also have been to Wyndham Governor's Green down the road.because it has larger units which we wanted when we travelled with our children and grandchildren. A lot of people enjoy Wyndham Kingsgate because of the activities but with the activities, you also get more noise and congestion.

Room Tip: The upstairs is always quieter but there are no elevators. We enjoy the top floor but if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.