We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Patriot Place is a wee bit far to walk from Colonial Williamsburg, though I wish I had done so during December's Grand Illumination, which is a traffic hassle. The resort is very pretty, and the rooms are large, though the decor is a bit tired. Easy access to Richmond Hwy and outlet malls. Resort amenities are mostly at the nearby Kingsgate resort. Go to Patriot's Place if you plan to be elsewhere all day and need a solid place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    68
    30
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in a renovated two bedroom unit. It had a nice balcony overlooking a small wooded area - great for enjoying morning coffee and evening drinks. The unit was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that backs up to the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Now this was my first time staying at Patriots Place been to Kingsgate many times so PP was just ok. Wish they had an indoor pool driving over to Kingsgate wasn't bad but staying on property to swim is so much better. Not a fan of the no hot water tank it took to long for water to get hot but other then that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for top floor we was on ground level and we heard every step from the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend to visit Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Garden. The units were really comfortable and spacious. Beds were clean and really fluffy... The problem we encountered is that our bedroom had an adjoining door to the next unit and their kitchen was right next to our bedroom. You can hear every single detail of conversations from the kitchen next door. Including pots and pans and the faucet. We can also hear the kids running around on the unit above us. It was just very difficult to get back to sleep early in the morning.

But over all when it came to location, it was excellent. About 10 minute drive to Colonial and 15 to Busch Garden. The restaurants are also less than 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just finished our 2nd stay at Patriot’s Place in the last 6 months and found it to be an excellent place to stay if visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Our first stay was in a 1 bedroom “A” unit which was about 750 sq ft. The unit was clean, had a wood burning fireplace, and was well furnished with colonial themed furniture which was fairly new and in very good condition. The full kitchen was somewhat small and well stocked with new small appliances and older large appliances which worked well. There was no pantry but existing dishes could be concentrated to allow for additional storage. Counter space was limited.

Everything was comfortable except the couch which was extremely firm. Only negative was some noise from the connecting “B” unit when occupants were near common door due to no threshold and poor weather stripping.

The second stay was in a 2 bedroom which consisted of the “A” unit and a smaller “B” unit (500 sq ft) with its own full but miniature size kitchen and no counter space. The unit was just as clean and comfortable as before but with comfortable couches on both sides.

The layout of the 2 bedroom unit was somewhat awkward with 2 kitchens and 2 living areas. As a result, there was not a large enough eating or living area for all to gather comfortably if fully occupied.

The resort was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located just over a mile from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center and not much further from Merchant’s Square at Duke of Gloucester St and Colonial Williamsburg. It is just off Bypass Road and Richmond Road so there are many shops and restaurants within a short distance.

The resort has limited activities but you can go to its sister resort about a mile away for indoor pool, workout facilities, etc. If you have kids that require those activities, you might want to stay at another resort. The resort had tankless water heaters which required about 30+ seconds to get hot water after turning the water on. While an irritation, we adjusted to it quickly. The TVs were tube and some of the picture was cut off by cable formats…..the 2 bedroom unit had 4.

Patriot’s Place seemed more like an apartment complex than a full resort, but we liked this as we usually do not do a lot of resort activities. With our focus on visiting Colonial Williamsburg, we found its location, quietness and comfort hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Note: I'm rating this as an RCI week trade, so I can't comment on value vs. a paid stay.

Overall the Patriot Place hit all the right spots for an excellent trade. The people were friendly and helpful, the unit was very large and clean, beds were really comfy and everything worked (a/c, showers, lights, tv's, all kitchen appliances, wi-fi, etc). Our unit had a full kitchen with plenty of appliances and good pots/pans, although we usually only had breakfasts in.

It also is in a perfect location for exploring the Williamsburg area. Lots of very good restaurants and Colonial Williamsburg are within minutes.

You are also only about 50 minutes from Richmond where we visited their excellent art museum on a rainy day.

They did ask us about sitting in on a sales pitch (they use different terms) which we didn't go to, but they were always courteous and not too pushy. Some place are just over the top with this. This wasn't.

There are tons of good restaurants in the area, and more than enough to do to stay occupied for the week.

If visiting the area, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This property is charming and is great for families. Our unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 living rooms, a dining room, a full kitchen and a kitchenette in addition to 2 bathrooms. The kids had their own little unit that was connected to ours! The property was probably not well built, as it is starting to show its age a bit. Wyndam is doing a decent job keeping it up. The grounds were lovely, and the location is excellent. My only real complaint is that we got in very late because of a freak spring snow storm (nearly 11:00 pm). Yet the front desk staff was trying to sell us on the time share at that hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#30 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.