We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting Colonial Williamsburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Patriots Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Colonial Williamsburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just finished our 2nd stay at Patriot’s Place in the last 6 months and found it to be an excellent place to stay if visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

Our first stay was in a 1 bedroom “A” unit which was about 750 sq ft. The unit was clean, had a wood burning fireplace, and was well furnished with colonial themed furniture which was fairly new and in very good condition. The full kitchen was somewhat small and well stocked with new small appliances and older large appliances which worked well. There was no pantry but existing dishes could be concentrated to allow for additional storage. Counter space was limited.

Everything was comfortable except the couch which was extremely firm. Only negative was some noise from the connecting “B” unit when occupants were near common door due to no threshold and poor weather stripping.

The second stay was in a 2 bedroom which consisted of the “A” unit and a smaller “B” unit (500 sq ft) with its own full but miniature size kitchen and no counter space. The unit was just as clean and comfortable as before but with comfortable couches on both sides.

The layout of the 2 bedroom unit was somewhat awkward with 2 kitchens and 2 living areas. As a result, there was not a large enough eating or living area for all to gather comfortably if fully occupied.

The resort was well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located just over a mile from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center and not much further from Merchant’s Square at Duke of Gloucester St and Colonial Williamsburg. It is just off Bypass Road and Richmond Road so there are many shops and restaurants within a short distance.

The resort has limited activities but you can go to its sister resort about a mile away for indoor pool, workout facilities, etc. If you have kids that require those activities, you might want to stay at another resort. The resort had tankless water heaters which required about 30+ seconds to get hot water after turning the water on. While an irritation, we adjusted to it quickly. The TVs were tube and some of the picture was cut off by cable formats…..the 2 bedroom unit had 4.

Patriot’s Place seemed more like an apartment complex than a full resort, but we liked this as we usually do not do a lot of resort activities. With our focus on visiting Colonial Williamsburg, we found its location, quietness and comfort hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    34
    24
    14
See reviews for
88
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Note: I'm rating this as an RCI week trade, so I can't comment on value vs. a paid stay.

Overall the Patriot Place hit all the right spots for an excellent trade. The people were friendly and helpful, the unit was very large and clean, beds were really comfy and everything worked (a/c, showers, lights, tv's, all kitchen appliances, wi-fi, etc). Our unit had a full kitchen with plenty of appliances and good pots/pans, although we usually only had breakfasts in.

It also is in a perfect location for exploring the Williamsburg area. Lots of very good restaurants and Colonial Williamsburg are within minutes.

You are also only about 50 minutes from Richmond where we visited their excellent art museum on a rainy day.

They did ask us about sitting in on a sales pitch (they use different terms) which we didn't go to, but they were always courteous and not too pushy. Some place are just over the top with this. This wasn't.

There are tons of good restaurants in the area, and more than enough to do to stay occupied for the week.

If visiting the area, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This property is charming and is great for families. Our unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 living rooms, a dining room, a full kitchen and a kitchenette in addition to 2 bathrooms. The kids had their own little unit that was connected to ours! The property was probably not well built, as it is starting to show its age a bit. Wyndam is doing a decent job keeping it up. The grounds were lovely, and the location is excellent. My only real complaint is that we got in very late because of a freak spring snow storm (nearly 11:00 pm). Yet the front desk staff was trying to sell us on the time share at that hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed in many Wyndham owned resorts, and all are very nice. But this one is special. The outside depicts the charm of colonial Williamsburg. The units are named after colonial characters, and it's about a mile away from Colonial Williamsburg. The staff is amazing! We especially liked the layout of our unit. Instead of a large open area as one finds in many resorts, this has small rooms sectioned off from each other. The fireplace was much needed during this first week in March. Bring your own artificial logs. The unit was very clean, everything worked, and the beds were so comfortable. It's just so cozy!! P.S. Be sure to ask the concierge about weekly bus day trip to Washington, DC. There is also a 2 hour cruise of the Norfolk Naval Base only an hour away. For activities and amenities you need to go to a nearby resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidsville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been to this resort for the pass 2 years and have had a wonderful time. It's clean and
very well groomed and the condo is beautifully decorated. Close to all attractions and eateries. We are going back there this year again. My granddaughters had such a good time that she insisted we go back this year. CAN'T WAIT FOR OIUR VACATIONS. The staff at this resort are so nice and very helpful anytime of day. See you all soon!!!!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in one bedroom and two bedroom they were both roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

OK.. For anyone that read my reviews, you will know I call it like I see it. This may be my longest review ever.. But, it is for a reason. A few months ago when I was deployed in a combat environment, I was choosing where I would stay at in Williamsburg on my midtour leave. I called a few resorts and received the average runaround. But, there was one resort where the Guest Service Manager (Wendy) not only took the time out of her schedule to talk to me on the phone, she sent me a comprehensive email about the resort and the Williamsburg area. I was impressed and booked the resort for two consecutive weeks. When my reservation was confirmed, Wendy also took the time to send me an email saying she was looking forward to meeting my family and me.

Normally, that "looking forward to meeting you" and "please let us know if there is anything we can do for you" sounds like standard niceties that are afforded to any customer. Most of the time, it is standard lip service and not meant from the heart. This is NOT the case with the Staff at Patriots Place. They absolutely took excellent care of my family and me. I have never been anywhere where my 8 year old son looked forward to going to the front desk daily to just "talk" to the staff.

Let me elaborate.... First the front desk staff Angela and Kris. Angela was the first person we met when we arrived. Angela checked us in and was extremely helpful with getting us situated with the local area eateries and attractions. She has "fun facts" that she tells my son daily. This is not just something she does just to be doing it. Angela actually enjoys working with my son and teaching him new things. Angela is truly a remarkable person. Kris is the person I see in the morning when I come in to get my daily coffee and morning paper. She always has a smile on her face and is ready to help in any way she can.

Next we have the Concierge Team. This is NOT your normal pushy team. Wyndham Patriots Place is a time share resort. They have properties they want to show off. If you want to see a presentation and receive a gift, that is your option. If you don’t want to see a presentation, just tell them “not interested” and they will leave you alone. Jay was the person that I primarily dealt with during my stay. Jay established an intellectual bond with my son. She is another true professional. Her fellow concierges are also outstanding and very friendly.
I just realized that I have not mentioned the rooms. They are very comfortable and quiet. We came during the low peak part of the season. The property is clean and you feel at home when you enter your room. The internet is OUTSTANDING! It’s just as good as I have at home and it is Free! They have satellite television with HBO! The beds are very comfortable. We had both the A and B units. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us. We had an issue with our Ice machine and maintenance arrive within minutes to change it out! Also, when you stay at Patriots Place, you can use the game room and amenities on the other property at King Gate. If you were staying on the Kings Gate property, you would pay 35 Dollars a week for the amenities. What more could you ask for?

Last, I am going to come full circle and end this with Ms Wendy Melendez. She truly did everything she could to make the last two weeks a memorable vacation for me and my family. Wendy should have a resort of her own to manage in the future. She is exceptional! I will be returning to Williamsburg when I redeploy later in the year. I can go to any resort. Please understand that Patriots Place is the only place for me when we return. You cannot buy this kind of service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this stay through an RCI/timeshare exchange promo and it was one of the better timeshare exchanges we have made. "Off season" was perfect...quiet, picturesque dustin of snow in a very comfortable, " period " decorated and spacious unit. We had an A and B configuration, two units thst you opened the adjoining doors in between. The smaller unit with a separate queen bedroom, pull out couch in the living room , kitchenette and spacious bath, and the larger unit with living and dining room ( with lovely draperies on full windows that opened to a tree view and morning sun) and wood burning fireplace. we toured the adjacent sister property where they are pushing timeshares, but frankly liked this 28 year old updated property much better than the could-be-a-condo in any city, much more expensive property. Parking was right outside the unit, and the spacious ( and heated) entryway to the units was a welcome surprise. Front desk personnel were helpful ( Hint: While we called to see if we could check in early and were categorically denied, when we showed up early, Maria checked for units which were ready to go and got us right in, which was pretty obvious considering the low occupancy in the off season. That was most welcome, as we had a full day of sightseeing in nearby Colonial Williamsburg planned.) After check-in, you are directed to the "concierge" to receive the parking pass, but it is really the timeshare pitch which is courteously given. also given are tips on what to see and some coupons which can be also picked up via nearby displayed brochures. We did participate in the timeshare presentation, which did run about 1 1/2 hours, but with breakfast and a tour of the uber 2000-plus sf grand Southern style four bedroom unit. Our sales rep was very pleasant...only objection was that when we were handed off to the next level up-pitch, it was a repeat of the same information, which we still declined. As an FYI, the two bedroom units are much more understated than the decorated-to-the-nines over the top grand unit shown. Obtained the AmEx $80 gift card ( deposited into the local economy at nearby Williamsburg shopping) and a $30 dinner voucher for local restaurants ( small but varied selection of conveniently located eateries...were very pleased). We thoroughly enjoyed Patriot's Place for its serene Colonial retro vibe. BTW, the hot water worked fine, quick and plentiful (thank you tankless), even with the multiple shower locations ( three in this two bedroom combo unit) going at once.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgesses Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#24 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Patriots Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.