We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been to a few Marriott hotels and I have to say this location is at the very top of my list. The hotel staff was courteous and professional. The hotel is located within 10 minutes of all the major attractions in Williamsburgh. I spent a whole week here and I do not anything to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
SOOOO excited that your expectations were exceeded! We are so lucky to have such a great location and a newly remodeled hotel!
Thank you for the taking the time to leave feedback on TripAdvisor. Hope that you get the chance to stay with us again on your next trip to Williamsburg, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    95
    40
    18
    23
See reviews for
192
50
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for 4 days in Williamsburg.

To start with the positives of this hotel, it is centrally located to everything a family would need on vacation. There are ample restaurants - from fast food to fine dining - in close proximity. The hotel is also very close to the outlet mall and to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. We were allowed to check in early and we requested a room on the same floor as other family members, which the staff accommodated. Every time we walked through the lobby, there was a staff member at the front desk who greeted us and was available if we needed anything - even in the middle of the night. Also, there is ample parking available, even when we returned late. The room sizes are adequate for families. We had a one bedroom suite with a sleeper sofa which our daughter always enjoys. The room featured a full-size fridge, 2-burner stove and dish washer. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the hot breakfast available each morning and the nice evening snacks & dinners that the hotel provided. And one very important note - even though the hotel was filled with families and kids, noise was not an issue once inside the suite, which made for a comfortable night's rest.

What was not so great about the room was having to endure the leaky AC unit and the leaky toilet. When we walked into the room, there was a smell of mildew that wouldn't go away even though we sprayed Oust throughout. We realized the AC unit was leaky when the carpet in the bedroom was soaked. We realized the toilet was leaking when the area behind it had pooled with water. After notifying the staff of the issues, they sent someone in with a fan to dry the carpet, but the source of the leak was not fixed as the carpet was soaked again the next day.

Hopefully, the hotel will fix the leak issues before giving the room to anyone else. I just couldn't honestly give a rating of more than average with these kinds of issues. However, we did enjoy our stay in spite of these issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no recently-reported maintenance issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us about your stay. While I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay, I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. Rest assured that the A/C and Restroom issues have been addressed and corrected. I hope that during your next trip to the WIlliamsburg, VA area you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room was in fact a suite with separate lounge and kitchen/diner. The hotel is ideally located for the historic areas of Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and also for the numerous restaurants and shopping outlets in the area. There is an outdoor pool and the hotel has an arrangement with the hotel opposite for a covered pool in the event of inclement weather. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was a communal buffet and table space was a little tight, but I'm not complaining..meeting people is more than half the fun of travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to post here on TripAdvisor. We love to hear what our guests have to say. I hope that you will come back to stay with us on your next trip to Williamsburg, VA. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Residence Inn in Williamsburg. We had a one bedroom suite for our family of 6 (4 adults and two small kids). The hotel was outstanding. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and many amenities. Close to numerous restaurants (we tried Food for Thought), and only a short convenient drive to the Williamsburg Visitors' Center. Also conveniently located for a short drive to Yorktown and Jamestown. The staff was excellent ... friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend a stay here ... and will definitely stay again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Leah, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your great compliments have been passed on to our staff. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again on your next trip to Williamsburg, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just spent the weekend enjoying Water Country USA, and the Residence Inn was fantastic. The bedroom and living room were separated, and the room had a full size fridge freezer and basic stove-top--not that we needed it; breakfast was awesome and Food for Thought is within walking distance and very good.
I'm not sure if all the rooms are suites like ours was, but when I return to Williamsburg, I will be calling the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Did not have room service--we opted not too, so I cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Daryl, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so lucky to have such wonderful, newly renovated rooms. Our central locations just adds to the wonder. I look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Williamsburg, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphos, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in a one bedroom suite with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa for our family of 5. The room was fantastic. Breakfast each morning had good selection. Front desk clerk was very friendly. The price I got when I booked was fantastic for the size of the room with breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Cheryl for the kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with your family. We do love our spacious and newly renovated rooms and wonderful location. I hope that you will choose the Residence Inn of Williamsburg, VA again on your next visit to the area.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked in at about 5 pm on July 6. Check in was a breeze and the desk clerk was pleasant. Asked if an update was possible and were immediately accommodated with a one bedroom suite with 2 queen beds. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is what you'd expect for this type of hotel, it was free. The eggs were tasteless and only one choice of meat (turkey Canadian bacon) but, did I mention, it was free. Make your own waffles and tasty muffins were good. Cereal for the kids, breads and bagels, some unappetizing looking potatoes, but did I mention it was free? There are trays you can use to bring your food back to your room, which was nice. No big lines to deal with to get your food. No waiting for elevators (which was a big issue at our last hotel) An outside pool that my granddaughter really enjoyed, although it looks like the upper part of the pool could use some cleaning (mold/mildew in grout area). The room was quiet, clean and we had two restful nights. The towels were fluffy and absorbent. The tub does have some small area in the corner with mildew looking black but not anything you have to touch. I am a clean freak and this did not bother me. But I do think they need to figure out a way to get rid of this sort of thing. We saw several dogs while we were checking in and throughout our stay but they must have been in rooms away for ours because we were never bothered by barking. The hallways have a slight smell to them. It is a large property and I was very surprised that the breakfast was not over crowded. Overall, for this caliber of property (middle of the road) it was what I expected. It was not the best hotel I've ever stayed in but certainly not the worst. I would probably not stay here if we ever visit again unless the price is right. If you are on a budget and conserving $ is your thing, want a comfortable place to stay, this is a good choice. One note, the pull out sofa is not comfortable for anyone but kids. And only kids that can sleep on anything. This is true of both of the Residence Inns where we recently stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If you need two beds don't count on the pull out sofa for a comfortable sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and want to let you know we are looking into the issues you brought to our attention. I hope that you would choose to stay with us again on your next visit to WIlliamsburg, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott is Williamsburg's' premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail thus allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. The Residence Inn is Williamsburg "newest" hotel due to our wonderful enhancements and remodeling that include: New lobby and breakfast area with built in buffets, granite countertops, dining tables and chairs; new community table seating for guest traveling alone or in pairs; new in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath: updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The New Residence Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.