We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, super friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a hard time finding a pet friendly facility and this one fit the bill perfectly. Very spacious 2 bedroom/2 bath suit with fireplace. Nothing fancy, but very clean and updated. Everyone we encountered was incredibly friendly. Sal (I think that was his name) at the front desk even remembered our names, so each time we walked by he would give a personal greeting. The breakfast was very good, as were the lite dinners during the evening. It helps a big family save money while traveling. I would stay here again, and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We try very hard to ensure your stay with us is a personable one. Staff like Sal are what sets us above the rest. Thank you again for staying with us and we welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    95
    36
    18
    22
See reviews for
184
50
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Residence Inn. We traveled with our toddler and two dogs. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was perfect for our group! We were able to put our daughter to bed in the evening and hang out in the living/kitchen area. We were also able to cook and store food, which is great with kids! The kitchen was huge. Full fridge and all the dishes, cups and utensils you could ask for.

The location is right on Richmond Road with easy access to everything. Close to the downtown/historic area. Close to food and shopping.

We really appreciate the pet friendly nature of the hotel. Dog boarding is crazy expensive. We have good dogs and being able to take them on vacation with us makes a real difference!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We love our pet/family members. Our location is definitely an added bonus for our guests. Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn and I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location on what appears to be hotel and restaurant row in Williamsburg. Lots of chain hotels on Richmond street. Approximately a mile from Colonial Williamsburg and College of William and Mary

We had a great stay in a 2 bedroom suite with gas fireplace, and essentially full kitchen.

Included breakfast downstairs.

Nothing to complain about. Nice staff.

Clean. Great bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words have been shared. We are lucky to eb able to provide lovely, spacious accommodations to our guests. We welcome you on your next visit to Williamsburg, Virginia/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our 1st time to Williamsburg and our 2nd time at a Residence Inn. It was a great hotel. The location was great. It was surrounded by restaurants and shopping that you could walk to. It was 10 minutes from Colonial Willaimsburg and 15 minutes to Busch Gardens.

We were with our 3 kids and had a 2 bedroom suite. This consisted of a bedroom with a kind size bed and bathroom and another bedroom with two queen size beds and another bathroom. It also had a living room area with fireplace and a full kitchen. It was clean, modern and the beds were very comfortable.

This only had an outdoor pool (which was closed because it was too cold out), but you were allowed to use the indoor pool at their sister hotel which was just a 2 minute walk across the parking lot. We used it several times and the kids loved the pool and hot tub.

One of the things I am most impressed with my Residence Inn stays is the genuine friendliness of the staff. They are helpful and happy and make you feel like you live there.

They have a beautiful lobby with coffee always available. The FREE breakfast was not of a great quality - but the staff kept everything well stocked and went out of their way to get you anything they could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Your kind words ahve been shared with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The spacious accommodations and great central locations are such an added bonus for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family enjoyed the hospitality of the Williamsburg Residence Inn. Christina and her team ensured we had a delightful breakfast and dinner several times a week. The room was always cleaned and Juanita took time to teach my son how to fold towel swans. Many staff members could be named for their consistently attentive service. What was most interesting to me was how my daughter (age 9) noted that this hotel had "no errors." In the past week we have stayed in two other Residence Inns as we traveled for Spring Break. Both had attributes we appreciated and some we did not. Yet my daughter deemed this hotel her favorite because there were "no errors" - pretty high praise from a straight A student.

Room Tip: higher floors have less street light coming through
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I am glad to hear we received a passing score from your daughter. Children can sometimes be the hardest graders. We aim to make all of our guests happy from the adults to the children to our pets-family memebers. I look forward to having you stay with us again should the need arise. You kind words have been passed on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Yep... I'm sitting here in my room trying to get the HVAC system to work fir the last three hours. Called the front desk twice. They were sympathetic but certainly not qualified to fix the problem. Called back yet again. This time I'm told no one can fix the HVAC. No offer for a new room, nothing. I managed to pry a window open to cool the room down.

I travel every week on business. I've never quite received an answer like that especially from a Marriott property. My suggestion, stay at the Hilton Suites across the parking lot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and review, we appreciate feedback so that we may better our service. I apologize for your experience with us and I assure you this is not our normal standard. We do have qualified HVAC maintainence on staff every day and also PM shift. I am investigating your concerns and I would very much like to speak with you personally if you would contact me via phone at your conveinence. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We checked in very late on Friday night and were warmly greeted by the front desk staff especially Sal. The room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was wonderful, the staff were constantly running around cleaning, stocking and smiling. Location is great for visiting Busch gardens, restaurants and shopping. Love the one bedroom I tend to stay up late, so it was great to close the bedroom door and hang out in the living room watching TV and not bother my family that were sleeping. There was nothing that I would have changed, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to see our guests thoroughly enjoy our hotel and their vacation. We welcome you back during your next trip to Williamsburg, Virginia and have passed your compliments on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott is Williamsburg's' premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail thus allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. The Residence Inn is Williamsburg "newest" hotel due to our wonderful enhancements and remodeling that include: New lobby and breakfast area with built in buffets, granite countertops, dining tables and chairs; new community table seating for guest traveling alone or in pairs; new in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath: updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The New Residence Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.