We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Residence Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Moneta, Virginia
1 review
“Business travler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just loved the experience at the front desk with Sal. The rest of the staff was so friendly. Exceptional experience was Christina in the Breakfast area and also in the Manager receptions in the evening. She explained that if I was running late on a manager reception night she would fix a plate for us and have it ready when we arrived. That is service over and beyond. The room was set up with plenty of desk space and plugins.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We have passed on your compliments and reviews to Christina and the rest of the staff. I am so glad that you had a great experience and hope that you return soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    98
    42
    19
    23
See reviews for
196
53
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I checked into this Residence Inn for a 4 night stay the end of January. I was immediately impressed by the upbeat front desk personnel. Sal was very pleasant and welcoming. He told us what we needed to know about our stay and quickly got us checked into our room.
Our room was recently updated and was very clean and comfortable. The huge desk was a big plus as I was on business and needed a good work place to spread out.
The morning breakfast and evening social time was a huge plus. They have a great hostess in this area. Her name is Christina and she really goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need and are completely satisfied with everything. The food is actually pretty good and there is plenty of it. The area is kept clean and filled. You really start to feel like this is a home after from home instead of just a "hotel stay."
I have stayed in Williamsburg many times in the past and I am so glad I found this place! The value is truly amazing and it is the best for anyone visiting Williamsburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
WOW! I am so excited that you had such a wonderful stay with us at the Williamsburg, Residence Inn by Marriott. I have passed on the 'Kudos' to Sal and Christina...they are valued employees. It is always nice to read about how well your employees are doing, how well liked your newly renovated hotel is, and how happy our guests are. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've never felt the need to take time to review a hotel stay, but this hotel really does go out of there way to make you feel at home. several of my coworkers and I stayed here for twelve days for military training and it really was a wonderful experience. Apart from the fact that the hotel is in a great area, the rooms are clean, compfortable and have their own kitchen and there's also complimentary breakfast with a dinner tues-thurs. The staff was so welcoming, I came back from a long day and Christina, the woman who does breakfast and dinner brought out a just-baked batch of cookies and a glass of milk. It really made my day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am happy that you felt the need to leave a review on our hotel. We have enjoyed having your group with us and look forward to having you return. I hope that if you return to Williamsburg on business or for pleasure that you will choose to stay with us. I have passed on your positive comments to the staff and was so happy to share with them. Thank you again for taking your time to leave a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Service was excellent. We had a two bedroom suite with kitchen and family/living room area. Room was ready on arrival and was clean and well maintained. Our suite had a gas fireplace that did an excellent job of warming us after brisk, cold days in the Colonial area. Coffee, tea and other beverages were available in the dining area 24 hours a day--and the coffee was great. Room cost includes a good tasting well rounded breakfast in the dining area. Internet service was very fast. Ample outside parking. One drawback--there are no room safes (but there are safe deposit boxes available at the front desk).

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor will be quiet. There may be trash pickup and truck delivery noise ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Williamsburg Residence Inn. Yes, the 2 bedroom suites boast over 600 sqft of space, and is great for families. The gas fireplace is such an incredible addition. Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in the Colonial Williamsburg area. We are happy to have you as a return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This residence Inn is very well taken care of and is in a perfect location for visiting Williamsburg. The rooms have now been upgraded and they look very nice. I recommend this residence inn when visiting Williamsburg Virginia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It means a lot to us here to know our guests wish to share their experience. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our new renovations. We look forward to having you return to our hotel during your next visit to Williamsburg, Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at this residence inn probably 4 or 5 times. Through the heat, through the renovation and never, I mean never have we been dissappointed. And I am a picky person. Starting with check-in, how many places can you say you've stayed where they remember your name when you come back. That's Sal, that's the heart of this Residence Inn and that is the value of staying at this hotel right away. They remember you, and take care of you. And that is what a hotel should represent. From then on, you are in the caring hands of all the staff employees who in fact have been there each time we've stayed there which also is a testament to their manager - Mark. He appreciates them and it shows and he appreciates all those that stay there. If you are looking for a room, you can find that anywhere, if you are looking for a home away from home - stay here and have no regrets. And of course I would be remiss in saying that our Sheltie Shadow - loves staying here as well. She is blind but somehow remembers the layout of the room and is very comfortable. They treat her as one of the family.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, request a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
WOW! We appreciate your continued appreciation of our hotel and thank you for being a frequent guest. We take pride in our employees and ensuring that they provide the best service possible. Sal is a number one at customer service. You are correct he remembers EVERYONE! He truly welcomes every guest as his own dear friend.
Thank you so much for the raving review, hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia area
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a 3-room suite since we had 4 kids, my husband and I, and my mother for the weekend. Everything was clean and stocked. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows. The fireplace was just an added bonus...we didn't know about it when we booked.
We had a AAA discount and it was $179 a night. We're from the Northeast so this seemed like a steal, especially with breakfast for seven included.
The location is great...close to Colonial Williamsburg and plenty of food options around. It's on a bit of a strip so the views aren't great but if you have forgotton anything, all types of stores are right around the corner.
I only took off a star because breakfast was a little chaotic and both mornings we were there,they never refilled the cranberry juice. There were never any trays either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
When the whole family has room to spread out.....the stay is always more enjoyable! I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take pride in the accomodations, service provided, and happiness of our guests. You certainly stayed at a wonderful rate. With our close proximity to everything in Williamsburg, we are lucky to have a great location for our guests. I hope that you will come back to Williamsburg in the future and choose the Residence Inn as your Marriott Porperty of choice. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott is Williamsburg's' premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail thus allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. The Residence Inn is Williamsburg "newest" hotel due to our wonderful enhancements and remodeling that include: New lobby and breakfast area with built in buffets, granite countertops, dining tables and chairs; new community table seating for guest traveling alone or in pairs; new in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath: updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The New Residence Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.