We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pam K” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Williamsburg

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Williamsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“Pam K”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here on a girls shopping trip with my mom and daughter. What a fabulous place!! The suite we had was roomy and amazing with all the comforts of home. The breakfast was outstanding and everyone that worked there treated us like queens. We would surely want to stay there again. Especially liked the general manager . He was very accomodating and helped us find exactly what we needed to make our stay the best it could be. Loved every minute of it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you Pam for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your shopping vacation. I hope that you will return soon and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    95
    40
    18
    23
See reviews for
190
50
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for four nights and had a great experience. Exactly what you see on the pictures on the website is what you get. The king size bed was great and comfortable. The room was clean. For breakfast their is a variety of items to choose from and the employee attending the area was very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to everyone and will stay here again. Plus very close to Colonial Williamsburg Visitor center.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your great review. Our suites are a great solution to extended stay guests. You are able to cook in a full kitchen instead of having to go out to eat every night. The spacious living area allows you to relax and move around comfortably during your stay. We look forward to having you return as a guest to our hotel in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have just spent two nights here during the Thanksgiving holiday and very very happy with everything about this hotel. The front desk staff "Sal" was very friendly and warm, which made the check in time feel like welcoming his own home!
Two bedroom suite was wonderful - spacious and nice kitchen- everything was clean and well organized. My family of 5(three teenagers and my husband) had no problem relaxing in the living room area and sharing bathroom.
I liked the location, because it is the heart of Williamsburg. Williams and Mary, Prime outlet, Jamestown Settlement is within 10 min. Morning breakfast was great, too! I sometimes heard dogs barking but it was not that big deal.
I will stay here again whenever I visit Williamsbug!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn in Colonial WIlliamsburg, VIrginia. We want to let you know how much we appreciate the great review you took time to write. We are proud of our newly renovated and spacious rooms that are fit for families. We look forward to having you return to our hotel the next time you are in Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pet friendly is at the expense of the Human Guests. The hotel places guests next to rooms with barking dogs and doesn't seem to care. Owners lock dogs in rooms and go off for the day leaving the dogs to bark, urinate and deficate inside the room. The staff does nothing about it.
If you like staying along side a Kennel this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere unless you like barking dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I want to apologize for any inconvenience other pets/owners may have cause you. We are a pet friendly, however, we do have a strict pet policy. We keep all pet occupied rooms to the lower floors and have a Marriott specified standard of deep cleaning each room after a pet has stayed. This is the reason associated with our pet fees for guests traveling with their pets. Please also keep in mind Thanksgiving is a time for family travel, and pets are more apt to be present, as they are an important part of many families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always enjoy Residence Inn in Williamsburg,Va. It is clean and has a wonderful staff. It is pet friendly and all pets I have seen there are well trained and have responsible owners. Mr. Hall the night person is the best. He makes you feel welcomed and sets the tone for the visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and all seem to be quiet. They serve breakfast each morning and it is well r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and always choosing the Residence Inn for your accomodations. We are so happy that you were able to enjoying another stay with us. Your repeat business is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Sorry to disagree with Steve01519 or Zac1mac1 and the others, but I found this hotel to be very mediocre, in almost every way. While the building is clean and modern, in the precise manner all Residence Inns should be, the people on the team really let Marriott down. A few examples: the morning front desk staff was neither warm nor cordial. My room was not vacuumed every day -- a small thing, because I'm pretty tidy, but hey, it should be clean. Drinking glasses were not washed and returned to the shelves in the kitchen. Towels were not replaced; I had to call the front desk to get towels delivered. The breakfast area was cramped and stuffy; the kitchen lady wore a brown Marriott smock that looked (to my eyes) soiled and in dire need of cleaning. All in all, none of it was horrible, but to my eyes Management at this hotel needs a shake-up. One bright spot - the evening front desk clerk (Sal? Stu? Something like that) was VERY good, very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our property. It is always a pleasure to hear a guest's insight to assist us in our continued efforts to provide the best accomodations in Williamsburg, Virginia. We always strive to keep our guests' expectation and the standards of our hotel exceeding all that is expected. We have read your comments, and always address issues when brought to our attention; we review expectations with any department or employee when there is a potential issue or concern. To continue professional appearances, uniforms are ordered on a regular basis.
Thank you again for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to the Williamsburg, Virginia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have stayed at this property before and always had great experience. Redo looks very good.
I want to thank Christine, the breakfast attendant. She was very gracious and made sure everyone was getting the food they wanted. She stopped by and talked at each table during the breakfast hours, and gave information when asked about the areas attractions.
Sal, the night manager at the from desk was also helpful. I began making reservations in mid September for the October 12-18 stay, and Sal had the rooms requested for my brother and myself that we required. It was the first time in a long time that my brother and his family and me and my family were in town at the same time.
Thanks again to all the staff that made this a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice since the redo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark T, General Manager at Residence Inn Williamsburg, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I am so happy that you were able to finally get a vacation with your family and were able to enjoy your stay while at the Residence Inn in Colonial Williamsburg, VA. We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Williamsburg

Address: 1648 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott is Williamsburg's' premier long-term, pet-friendly hotel. Located in the heart of Williamsburg on acres of green space, we are adjacent to a local recreation center, park and community walking trail thus allowing our guest to enjoy the normal pace of life while on business or pleasure. Also within walking distance are numerous restaurants, shopping and local attractions. Our breakfast buffet is offered 7 days a week and includes all the favorites from home made waffles to eggs and bacon. We also have a wonderful social hour Tuesday through Thursday that offers the guest a light dinner or dessert to finish off their day. The Residence Inn is Williamsburg "newest" hotel due to our wonderful enhancements and remodeling that include: New lobby and breakfast area with built in buffets, granite countertops, dining tables and chairs; new community table seating for guest traveling alone or in pairs; new in-room stainless steel appliances (refrigerators, microwaves, cook tops, ovens and dishwashers), granite countertops in kitchen and bath: updated living room furniture, large work station and new bedding. The New Residence Williamsburg provides all the comforts of home with the luxury of up-scale accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;